We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Mulini to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Mulini
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New in 2014 Beach Concept
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
cleveland, oh
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Plush, discreet with opulent accommodations, superb bathrooms, out of the world food (thanks to the master himself- Tom Gretic) - worth staying for as long your budget holds up. From the time you check-in, to the afternoon cookies and water and evening Bajadera on your pillow, to opulent bathrooms and the poolside luxuriating the hotel is a rarity in all aspect of the word. I would recommend it for a romantic getaway (as long as you let Tom Gretic cook for you at the chef's table) to anyone needing to infuse a muse of love in their lives.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    35
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
196
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Night 3. Amazing. Can we move in please? Polite and friendly staff. The best architecturally designed hotel for views. Location amazing. Attention to detail superb. We have a 23 month old and the staff are all out to ensure we are all happy. We are planning our return already!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly honored by your comments and by your recognition. We are delighted to hear that you found true comfort and peace in our boutique hotel. We are also grateful that you highlighted the size of the bathroom and walk in shower, a massive bath tub and 2 sinks which we provide in all our accommodations as a little inner secret.

Thank you for your appreciation our the breakfast choice, but for the service as well.
We hope your future travel plans to the Istrian peninsula will include a return stay at Monte Mulini hotel.

Kind Regards,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

June 2013 we have just returned from this hotel having stayed 10 nights. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel is shear luxury and so clean. The pool area was marvellous and round the edges they have jacuzzi areas. The breakfast had every food you could wish for although we didn't like the sausages! There was plenty of other food and the croissants are delicious! We would thoroughly recommend a visit. Our room was better than in the pictures and the bathroom had a large walk in shower, a massive bath tub and 2 sinks. We would definitely go back. If you are going to Croatia - go to this hotel! There were 2 single beds together to make a massive king sized bed which was so comfortable and lovely pillows too.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view but they are more expensive. Ours was on a lower floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly honored by your comments and by your recognition. We are delighted to hear that you found true comfort and peace in our boutique hotel. We are also grateful that you highlighted the size of the bathroom and walk in shower, a massive bath tub and 2 sinks which we provide in all our accommodations as a little inner secret.

Thank you for your appreciation our the breakfast choice, but for the service as well.
We hope your future travel plans to the Istrian peninsula will include a return stay at Monte Mulini hotel.

Kind Regards,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripponden, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What an amazing hotel in a beautiful setting! The staff are so attentive and professional but friendly too. We had a great room overlooking the grounds and out to the pretty bay which was fantastic, bikes available from the hotel to explore the coastal national park and well worth the effort. Sundowners at the pool bar a must! I think a degree of caution is required regarding children as too much noise in the pool area can be very irritating to others who are wanting and expecting a chilled out holiday in a five star hotel. Rivinj is a lovely old town with plenty of restaurants but quite a walk especially in the heat, taxi option available and easily arranged. The Wine Vaults restaurant was a little disappointing food wise but the wines and service were excellent. Breakfasts fantastic with lots of choice and a sparkling wine! Even if the sun is shining its worth going to the spa at the beginning or the end of the day - a treat not to be missed.
Regarding previous comment on the Monte restaurant in Rovinj - don't be put off - it's fantastic the experience was amazing and food exceptional but its simply not geared for children.
Great holiday and highly recommend the Monte Mulini.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you very detailed comment regarding your stay in Hotel Monte Mulini. It give me a great pleasure that you have found our hotel to be up to your standards and that you had very nice time staying with us. We're especially please with nice comments regarding our Art Wellness and breakfast.

I will pass all your comments to our staff because they are the one whom made your stay so pleasant.

I can see that you didn’t fully enjoy our restaurant. I hope you will give us a chance to prof our self better next time.

Looking forward seeing you in the future

Once again, thank you,

Assistant GM

Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel in a great location. We booked for the first time and the hotel exceeded our expectations, beautifully designed, large room with a great view. The staff are very attentive and the food is great. The old town is lovely with lots of tasty traditional reasonably priced menus. Would recommend avoiding a restaurant called monte....it's over priced and a bit too Heston style menu for me also the staff looked slightly annoyed to see us turn up with our 15 month old daughter and couldn't wait to rush us out the door! Other than that I would thoroughly recommend visiting rovinj and staying at the monte mulini

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

It has been a privilege to welcome you and your family to the Monte Mulini during your visit and we are so grateful for your eloquent recognition. If you looking for gourmet special we can proudly present Chef's table dinner in restaurant Wine Vault. The Chef’s Table at the Wine Vault restaurant is located right in the middle of the kitchen, so guests will be able to enjoy true kitchen interaction and atmosphere and gain an excellent insight into the details and precision involved in a full-blast operation of a kitchen.

We hope your future travel plans to the Istrian peninsula will include a return stay at Monte Mulini hotel. Thank you so much for your recommendation.

Kind regards,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Reading the other reviews, can only say, ditto! Living in the western US, Rovinj is not nearby. Can almost say the trip would be worthwhile just to,visit Rovinj and surrounding area. The staff are incredible, the view of the sea from our patio-----spectacular. Spacious room. Loved the bathroom, a bench? How great is that? Hotel is clean, beautiful, rooms are perfect, restaurant very good. But the breakfast is seriously awesome! I can still taste the sour cherries and the braided chocolate croissants!

A big THANK YOU Monte Mulini, you were a wonderful part of,our trip


And, you must have one of the world's best dinners at Monte!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Reading this review we can realy feel your excitement about your holiday spent with us and that make us so happy and proud. We are very much involved in providing special experience to our guests during breakfast and we thank you for recognizing that. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention and friendliness of our Staff.

Hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new precious memories although even as you said we’re not just nerby. Thank you for your time and support.

Sincerely,

Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As I am croatian and I am very familiary with bad situation in croatian hospitality I came there prepered for everything. But from a moment when we entered they proved me that they are not anything like that.
From staff, to rooms, to interior design, food - there is nothing to complain about. There was nothing what was impossible. I evan asked them if they could make me some of their delicous cookies for home but not only they made me those cookies; they gave me recipe. Who could be so kind?
Spa is amazing. Only treatment that I checked was hot chocolate massage and I was relaxed and in nirvana for another few hours. Only complain that I have, is to much kids at pool. In 5* hotel I do not find acceptable kids jumping in pool and screaming at pool area. It was indoor pool connected with spa area and silence is a must!
To sum up, it is deffinetly the best hotel in Croatia that I stayed in and I'm hoping to come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It so nice to hear such a rewarding comments since our mission is to be a first-class distinctive hospitality brand in Croatia and but relying on destination brands, provision of an authentic Istrian, Croatian and Mediterranean experience with of course a highly personalized service. So thank you so much for your eloquent recognition.

I will pass your comments to our Pastry chef, I am sure she would probably like to give you more original recepies next time you visit us. I see that you didn’t fully enjoy our pool area. I hope you will give us a chance to prof our self better next time.
Hope to see you again.

Sincerely yours,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Mulini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.