We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with a few minor blips (music!)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Mulini to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Mulini
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New in 2014 Beach Concept
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with a few minor blips (music!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We just came back from a 4 day stay at the monte mulini. We stayed there with our 3 sons (age 4-11). Rooms are impeccable, huge luxurious bathrooms, fully equipped w anything you could want. The connecting family rooms are perfect. The requested baby cot for the youngest was missing when we arrived, but was delivered immediately after calling. Beds were v comfortable, and the rooms on the large side, w beautiful views of the sea. We tried the spa and it's great! We also went over to lone and tried the huge indoor swimming pool there when it was raining one morning, again a great experience.
blips: service at the pool bar takes quite long - but maybe this was because it's just the start of the season. Staff v friendly but not super proficient in english or german - i ordered a small side salad and got charged for the full dish bcs they booked it wrong, then there was the whole hassle of "but you did order this, i cannot change the bill, i have to wait for the manager, he will come later etc etc" a bit annoying. So we stayed clear of the restaurants in the hotel. The fine dining one did look quite tacky, too, decorwise.
I also have to agree with another review about the decor - it's v impersonal and bland. Nothing special at all. And the worst is the constant really horrible music they are playing - some sort of cheap mall / escalator music that is constantly on. Even when sitting on the lovely breakfast terrace with our 3 boisterous boys, we still heard it. The beakfast is fantastic, but the restaurant inside feels v impersonal again, and the music is unbearable. The management should really think about this - or put some real classical music on, not these fake clayderman / pseudo evergreen/ relaxing stuff. Or no music at all!! Who says that there should be music all the time? It's not relaxing but made me and my husband go slightly depressed - if we hadn't laughed it off. Makes you feel like you're trapped in a mental hospital. so this was yet Another reason for skipping the meals there!
Which is not a problem at all as rovinj has plenty of great restaurants, the concierge was v helpful in suggesting some and we got the bikes from the hotel and just cycled for 10 minutes.
All in all it was a great experience for us, we had a fantastic time but especially w kids we might try the lone next time - i think it delivers more or less the same for a slightly cheaper rate, and the decor there semed a bit james bond, but at least more imaginative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    35
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
196
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Its a very nice hotel. The service is excellent. The food. It's location. The spa omg! It's a must to stay if you are at rovinj. They have bycicles for free to go around the small town. It's partner with the hotel that is next to it, a very modern hotel. Also superb, you can also use the facilities like the spa, indoor pool gym. Etc. Very clean, impeccable rooms and beautiful views. Just love it

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciation not only of the unique location of the hotel in front of the century forest park, but for the recognition of the service excellence and our wellness facilities. We are especially pleased that you had a chance to explore smooth stone streets (descend towards the sea) of our town of Rovinj with the bike. From the very first glance, Rovinj’s charm is apparent. Come once, you will always return!

We hope your future travel plans to the Istrian peninsula with your friends will include a return stay at Monte Mulini hotel.

Kind regards,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is without question a hotel that lives up to its 5 star status. Large comfortable rooms, excellent buffet breakfast on a superb terrace, professional staff, impeccable service.
But there is something missing.
When selecting a hotel within this price range one expects something special, a bold contemporary design (such as neighbouring Lone hotel) or perhaps a beautifully restored building with a history, anyway a place that one might remember. Of course this is personal, but we rate the Monte Mulini as an instantly forgettable compromise between modern and classical design. In summary, five stars for the hotel, two stars for the (interior) design.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind and effective feedback and for highlighting the comfort of our rooms and delicious experience at the breakfast. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention and professionalism of our Stuff.

Unfortunately the style and the décor of our hotel Monte Mulini didn't excite you much but thank you for sharing your impressions about it and mentioning our sister hotel Lone part of Design hotels. As a Luxury Boutique Hotel our Monte Mulini hotel succeeds in combining natural materials and comfort with elegant design, to offer the modern traveler a sanctuary for relief and relaxation.

We hope you keep all your positive memories alive until your next visit and stay.

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A perfect example of how a hotel should be! After traveling from Zagreb to Rovinj, we were dealt at the check in by a warm friendly staff and was guided to our room, immediately. The hotel is beautiful and the garden captivating, The Location as well of the hotel is just perfect, along the coast, and the view you have from your balcony, and bedrooms, are just so relaxing that you can't help but want to wake up or fall asleep with such fabulous picture in your mind, of where you actually are, like paradise, on the Adriatic coast. Food was fantastic, spacious units, and wide big balconies, and a nice garden in front of your room, that gives you a perfect view of the sea..

Room Tip: The executive 2 bedroom suit is perfect for every traveler to this magnificent hotel. And a perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

What else could we add to such rewarding comments? It has been a privilege to welcome you to our oasis of peace, it’s how we sometimes call our Monte Mulini hotel. We are very much involved in providing pure relax experience to our guests and we thank you for recognizing that.

We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention and friendliness of our Receptionists.
Hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new precious memories. Thank you for your time and support.

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great location, great service, great food, great rooms. One of the best hotels we've stayed and would definetely recommend to others. Try the in-house olive oil tasting as this was an enjoyable experience. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly honored by your fabolous comment. The hotel Monte Mulini represents the most prestigious address in Rovinj , where our distinguished Guests enjoy the exclusivity and style.

We're delighted that you enjoyed our olive oil tasting. Our head sommelier and his expert team will offer you this year even more. There are in-house wine tasting and also champagne tasting from 17.00-19.00 in our Wine Vault. So if you want to learn about the history of the drink you are enjoying, each glass will be supplemented by an equally intoxicating wine story, legend or advice.

We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new, precious moments

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a walking group and we welcomed the elegance all around us. The deep bath tub heaven for me and rain forest shower heaven for my sister.

Beautiful pools.

Breakfast may be the most amazing buffet I have ever experienced.

Lighting in rooms challenging...very high tech for a low tech girl.

Great location near shangri-la like town of Rovinj....easy walk.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind and effective feedback and for highlighting your delicious experience at the breakfast. Our breakfast is wide buffet selection of local and international specialties. All hot meals are served and can be customized as well. We’re aware that it is the most important meal of the day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Monte Mulini with many walking groups. Situated in a beautiful and quiet location, but close to the town as well, Monte Mulini is the perfect starting point for sightseeing, a wine trail tour or endless enjoyment in the sun and sea and outdoor activities.

Afterword’s we're sure that any kind of water touch means heaven. The options are numerous few outdoor pools, deep bath tub, wellness indoor pool & sauna or just pure nature - sea swimming in the nearby bay.

Once again, thank you, sincerely yours,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely well appointed ultra modern room overlooking the Adriatic, bathroom with a tub that almost qualified as a lap pool and a shower that will have you "singing in the rain". Oh.... Each room has a private balcony and glass sliders to maximize views and experience. Mini bar, wifi, terry robes and slippers standard fare. Hard to choose between the elegant pool and the Adriatic for a swim. Breakfast buffet is top of the line as are the eggs and bacon. A lovely 15 minute walk along the waterfront to the amazingly beautiful town of Rovinj - waterside cafes, elegant eateries, views in all directions, hard to think of a lovelier setting - felt to me like a cross between Capri (the cafes and views) and Mont St Michael - the spiraling old streets climbing to a crowning church. Just do it! PS - sea bass dinner in the restaurant was not so exciting..... Go into Rovinj.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for emphasizing the style and design of our rooms, but also pointing out their panoramic sea views of the picturesque Lone bay surrounded by protected “Zlatni rt” park forest. For the next 2014 season we are hoping to arrange the beach in front of the hotel zone and open nice Bar there as well.

Thank you for highlighting our location, isn't Rovinj the most romantic place in the Mediterranean? The town of Rovinj is the right destination for all of you seeking a sentimental atmosphere of the times that have forever gone by. The Old town has begun its life as an island; it’s full with crowded houses, narrow streets and small squares, still untouched by modern urbanism.

Unfortunately our Mediterraneo restaurant didn't excite you much but I am sure we can do it to change your mind during your next visit and stay.

Once again, thank you,
Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Mulini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.