We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance near a picture perfect historic town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Mulini to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Mulini
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New in 2014 Beach Concept
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Amelia Island, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Elegance near a picture perfect historic town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Traveling with a walking group and we welcomed the elegance all around us. The deep bath tub heaven for me and rain forest shower heaven for my sister.

Beautiful pools.

Breakfast may be the most amazing buffet I have ever experienced.

Lighting in rooms challenging...very high tech for a low tech girl.

Great location near shangri-la like town of Rovinj....easy walk.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your kind and effective feedback and for highlighting your delicious experience at the breakfast. Our breakfast is wide buffet selection of local and international specialties. All hot meals are served and can be customized as well. We’re aware that it is the most important meal of the day.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Monte Mulini with many walking groups. Situated in a beautiful and quiet location, but close to the town as well, Monte Mulini is the perfect starting point for sightseeing, a wine trail tour or endless enjoyment in the sun and sea and outdoor activities.

Afterword’s we're sure that any kind of water touch means heaven. The options are numerous few outdoor pools, deep bath tub, wellness indoor pool & sauna or just pure nature - sea swimming in the nearby bay.

Once again, thank you, sincerely yours,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    35
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
196
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Lovely well appointed ultra modern room overlooking the Adriatic, bathroom with a tub that almost qualified as a lap pool and a shower that will have you "singing in the rain". Oh.... Each room has a private balcony and glass sliders to maximize views and experience. Mini bar, wifi, terry robes and slippers standard fare. Hard to choose between the elegant pool and the Adriatic for a swim. Breakfast buffet is top of the line as are the eggs and bacon. A lovely 15 minute walk along the waterfront to the amazingly beautiful town of Rovinj - waterside cafes, elegant eateries, views in all directions, hard to think of a lovelier setting - felt to me like a cross between Capri (the cafes and views) and Mont St Michael - the spiraling old streets climbing to a crowning church. Just do it! PS - sea bass dinner in the restaurant was not so exciting..... Go into Rovinj.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for emphasizing the style and design of our rooms, but also pointing out their panoramic sea views of the picturesque Lone bay surrounded by protected “Zlatni rt” park forest. For the next 2014 season we are hoping to arrange the beach in front of the hotel zone and open nice Bar there as well.

Thank you for highlighting our location, isn't Rovinj the most romantic place in the Mediterranean? The town of Rovinj is the right destination for all of you seeking a sentimental atmosphere of the times that have forever gone by. The Old town has begun its life as an island; it’s full with crowded houses, narrow streets and small squares, still untouched by modern urbanism.

Unfortunately our Mediterraneo restaurant didn't excite you much but I am sure we can do it to change your mind during your next visit and stay.

Once again, thank you,
Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel deserves its top rating on Tripadvisor. The setting is spectacular and it is a short walk past the Marina to the old town. The spacious rooms have wonderful views over the swimming pools and to the Gulf of Venice beyond. We loved the bathroom with two basins, a big shower and a large bath. You can access the wardrobe from the bathroom and there are useful drawers too. Everything is beautifully maintained. We would have liked to make tea in the room but expect that most guests do not mind paying for room service. There is an excellent choice for breakfast in a bright room overlooking the water with the option of sitting on a wide and peaceful balcony. Service was efficient and unobtrusive. Enjoy a luxurious break in calm surroundings.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view and are well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are truly honored by your comments and by your recognition. We are delighted to hear that you found true comfort and peace in our boutique hotel. We are also grateful that you highlighted the size of the bathroom and double access to the wardrobe which we provide in all our accommodations as a little inner secret.
Thank you for your appreciation not only the breakfast choice, but for the service as well. You’re right about no having possibility to make tea within the room, we’re having this possibility just in Suites.

We hope your future travel plans to the Istrian peninsula will include a return stay at Monte Mulini hotel.

Kind Regards,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel.

The view when you walk in to the reception area with the bay behind you is amazing.

Rooms are a very good size with a view to the bay, and the bathroom was huge in size with a large bath, walk in shower and dressing area.

Lovely balcony where you could enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day and a good location for a short walk to Rovinj.

Free bikes are available for hire to cycle around the area and the pool area and snack bar were good as well (delicious burgers)

Breakfast very good , although maybe a bit over the top from a presentation point of view with waiters in gloves serving you boiled eggs.

However couldn't fault it, its a beautiful part of Croatia and I would highly recommend staying at the Monte Mulini.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Mr Shaz,

What else could we add to such rewarding comments? It has been a privilege to welcome you and your companion to the Monte Mulini, during your visit and we are so grateful for your eloquent recognition.

Thank you for emphasizing the amazing view from reception area, due to the wide open glass surfaces towards our Lone bay but also pointing out panoramic sea views from balcony of your room and possibility of free biking. The Old City of Rovinj is made for romantic walks; it’s really one of the most romantic places in the Mediterranean.

Nothing is more important for us and we thank you for electing our oasis of peace as your residence for any future visit to the Istrian peninsula and Rovinj.

Kind Regards,

Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here for four days, and before that we were in Lone hotel also for four days. The two hotels are connected with an underground tunnel. Two very different concepts, and this shows especially in the staff. More snobby staff in Monte Mulini, not so warm, just doing their job.

First, the room. We were satisfied with the room, the sea view, the bed, everything was great. Second, the breakfast was wonderful! Lots of choices, sparkling wine, cheeses, pastries, fruit, you name it. Even the baby got her oatmeal prepared just for her.

The Vault restaurant was a romantic, pleasant experience, good food and a sommelier that can take on a challange, giving his best to please your pallate. Explore croatian wines, you won't be sorry. :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about our hotel Monte Mulini and the sister hotel Lone. They are indeed two verry different concepts in terms of design and content but we also agree with you that the warmth and dedication of our staff shouldn't ever miss.

Thank you for highlighting our room and the bay sea view together with the breakfast which is one of our main focus.

Isn't it true that a dinner at Wine Vault Restaurant is a most gratifying experience? It's a place where attention paid to wine is paired with the french delights. Our Sommeliere and Chef with their teams will be proud of your comment!

Once again, thank you, sincerely yours,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for one week with our then 6 month old son. Our stay was flawless. The room was spacious and immaculate with views over the beautiful harbour. The staff at the hotel were very friendly, professional, helpful and personable. We made all of our dinner reservations for restaurants in town through reception which was extremely useful. The pools are clean, the sun loungers comfortable. The view of the harbour upon arrival as you enter reception is breathtaking! The walk to town is short - perhaps 15 minutes at a leisurely pace - and there are lots of great restaurants (we used good old Trip Advisor to find the hidden gems!) We ate at The Vault on our final night as it was our wedding anniversary; the food was delicious, the wine list endless (literally!) & the staff attentive without being over bearing. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough - my husband was ready to book as soon as we got home! Our only regret was booking for one week rather than 10 days, which we had deliberated over. You really won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms don't have a view of the harbour as it's somewhat blocked by trees. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Wow. We were just traveling thru on a tour of the Croatian coast in late April 2012. We chose this hotel for the proximity to other cities we wanted to visit. One look out the window @ check in & I insisted we stay to explore Rovinj instead. The hotel has some lovely swimming pools great for the entire family. Definitely a family friendly resort, & being Europe, the children don't complain so much and were never a bother. We borrowed bikes from the hotel and followed the hike/bike trail along the coast, exploring ancient beaches & rock climbing cliffs. We walked to the old city where we enjoyed amazing Italian and Croatian food, and found lovely art, clothes and curios at the boutique shops. The hotel amenities were 1st class. The spa offers a family area and a separate adult area with delicious pools, steam rooms, saunas and ice fountains. We booked a standard room, gorgeously appointed, great view of the sea, huge bathroom with a rain shower and a porcelain tub big enough to fit two happy people and a bottle of champagne. The service was excellent & the breakfast buffet was very good. The only downside to this place might be that Wi-Fi was practically non-existent. Perhaps we didn't need news for a couple days? This hotel is ideal for the outdoorsy, sport type, the loll around the pool with an Aperol Spritzer type and for families.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Mulini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.