We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL CLOSED WITHOUT NOTICE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Angelo d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Angelo d'Oro to your Saves list
Hotel Angelo d'Oro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Svalba 38 - 42, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Juneau, Alaska
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“HOTEL CLOSED WITHOUT NOTICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I helped some friends make reservations at this hotel due to the good reviews on TripAdvisor. The reservations were made in November 2012 and then reconfirmed in March 2013. The reservation was for a 3 night stay in June 2013. My friends arrived late at night to Rovinj and the hotel had been closed up and no longer in business. There was never any attempt to contact people who had reservations - and they had charged a deposit already! I just want to write a warning to anyone who is thinking about booking this hotel since there is NOTHING about the closure on their website or on TripAdvisor. DO NOT BOOK!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    6
    9
    7
See reviews for
4
27
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had the only fourth floor room. Very large and elegant. The bed was firm and comfortable. No elevator, though, so if climbing up four floors would be a problem, book a lower floor. The hotel is located in old Rovinj where no cars are allowed. The hotel sent us excellent directions, their van met us five minutes after we called and led us to their parking area. Their staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. We'd love to go again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Traveled throughout Croatia and Slovenia at the end of August and this was by far the most disappointing of all the hotels. The man who picked us up from our car and drove us back and forth was very nice, helpful and the highlight of the hotel. The location is good, the outside of the building is quaint and pretty.

Aside from those couple things, the hotel overall was pretty terrible. The rest of the staff was quite rude from check-in, breakfast, recommendations, and check-out. They did NOT want to be bothered, would talk and laugh with each other anytime you asked for anything, including your key.

The room was old and quite dirty. Bathroom tiny and again very dated. Our bedspread had lots of old, very visible stains on it.

Overall, would not recommend this hotel, especially at the prices they are asking, you can definitely do better. If your familiar with Schloss Hotels or have stayed at any of their other properties it just adds to the mystery of how this one is so bad! Stayed at Antiq Palace in Ljubljana shortly after and it is 5 stars and amazing in every way...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rovinj hotels

Telluride, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is very well located in the old town, just a few minutes' walk to the waterfront, the many waterfront restaurants and bars, and the restaurants uphill toward the cathedral. The rooms are large, if sparsely decorated, and the newly-renovated bathrooms were large and luxurious in a country that still sports many communist-era facilities. But the best thing about the hotel was the small spa that is available to guests for no charge, if reserved in advance. The spa has a large two-person whirlpool, a jetted shower, and chaises for relaxing. The whirlpool was great after we were soaked bicycling the beautiful coast. The hotel also serves excellent Croatian wines by the glass in the lobby in the early evening, or by request at other times. Finally, Angelo d'Oro has a pretty and relaxing garden on the second floor and a rooftop terrace where we ate our breakfast each day as we watched the boats come into harbor.

Room Tip: Some rooms on both the second and third floors are called "sea view.' However, on the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Islip
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very charming and right in the old town. If you plan on doing things in town it is a great hotel. However when you get there be sure to call the hotel as you approach. The parking is on the mainland and you need to follow the driver their and then ride back with them. This was not clear to me anywhere on here and my phone was not working in Croatia. The parking booth at the edge of town kindly called for me, but this did cause me some anxiety as I was not sure what to do and the roundabout outside of town is a madhouse. They will drive you back to your car when you ask until 10 pm and they are very good hosts. If you prefer to spend most of the time at the beach and do not have a car this may not be the hotel for you. The room on the second floor was large and had a kicking' air conditioner..... Which was nice after walking around town. We went on a road trip to pula. ...... Don't it was not nice ...... And then went swimming right by where the car was parked. There is a little ledge to swim off of. Please feel free to ask anything else about staying in rovinj :)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Beautiful small hotel in an old hose situated in the centre of the peninsula. We loved it!
Great location, beautiful house, great big rooms. everything is new and in style! Big bathroom with all necessities. Five star breakfast, including champagne and strawberries; and a proper espresso or cafe latte if you want! This is a must in Rovinj!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a nice, older building on a quiet street in the old part of town. We stayed two nights with a "sea view" (photo added). That required staying on the top floor; 54 steps per my wife. Our bags were carried to and from our room without any complaints. The hotel is in a pedestrian only area so our car was parked away from the hotel but we were taken to and from our car several times and that wasn't a problem. Desk staff was very accommodating with suggestions and dinner reservations. Breakfast wasn't extravagant but good, fresh and enjoyable. We would definitely stay in this hotel again. Several people mention the stairs to the rooms but Rovinj in on a big hill so if you can't take the stairs you probably won't like Rovinj. We loved it.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the sea view room at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Angelo d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Angelo d'Oro

Address: Via Svalba 38 - 42, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Angelo d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Angelo d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Angelo d Oro
Angelo d Oro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Angelo d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.