We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Katarina

Save Saved
You added Island Hotel Katarina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Hotel Katarina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Otok St. Katarina 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Long Stay Discount!
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Rovinj
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent long weekend here in avgust.Hotel was clean but old .Air condition was not necessary because nights were cold.Island is romantic and full of birtds and trees .Food was great especially dinner.Staff were kind.Beach was ok but water is not clean.I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    29
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Samobor
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel, excelent location. Location is realy fantastic, on a small island very near to city of Rovinj (about 200 meters).
Rooms are clean, not luxury, but much better than 2 stars. I think that only thing because this hotele received (only) 2 stars is lack of aircondition in some rooms and lack of parking (which is normal because hotel is on small island).
Food was very good, we had buffet for breakfast, and it was very rich.
Surrounding of hotel is very very nice, trees and flowers everywhere. The special part is that room (in fact the whole hotel) is very close to sea. I thouthght that I can jump into the sea directly from my balcony :-).
Hotel has a very nice pool (if someone prefer that) and plenty of armchairs on it, but I prefer swimming in sea, which was crystal clear with nice beaches.
All in all, I had wonderful time there, and I will shurelly come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here with my Girlfriend and we were slightly nervous due to some of the posts on this website, however we had a great time. The setting is truly amazing, looking back at the beautiful town of Rovinj on one side and out to sea on the other. The pool area I though was fantastic, 2 large pools and lots of loungers overlooking a beach area and the sea beyond.

The hotel itself is a lovely building from the outside and I liked the dining areas/lobby etc., however the rooms do let it down and I guess are the reason why it is only 2 stars. Honestly though this doesn't bother me as how much time do you really want to spend in your room whilst on holiday? The bed was comfy, there was a fridge and TV and a decent sized balcony which was all we needed.

We were b&b and didn't have dinner at the hotel so I can't comment too much on the food. Breakfast wasn't great though and from what I seen of lunch it didn't look particularly nice either. However there is a beach bar which does nice pizzas, and also a cocktail bar which at night-time is really beautiful. There are lots of great restaurants in the town, we ate somewhere different every night and had no complaints. The little boat goes back and forward every hour and is pretty reliable and actually quite a nice way to get home each evening!

Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for couples and families wanting a relaxing holiday in a stunning location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We found the hotel randomly. I really liked the island and the view ( directly at the old city centre of Rovinj), especially in the evening ( there was a life music playing in the bar next to the sea- kind of romantic atmosphere.)
The hotel was decent a bit overpriced I would say, the rooms certainly demand some reconstruction. Also, air conditions should be standard at the hotels like this one. The food and personal were okay, again no glory, just the avarage.
Well, if we look at this hotel as "a two stars hotel", its trully above standard.
But if I compare it to the hotels in the same price category, I would say its very avarrage.
Once again, the privat island added some value to the place.
Would recomand it for romantic weekend for couples

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Had reservations in both senses ahead of my trip to Katarina. Seeing the mixed reviews and having gone to 2 star hotels before but my worries were soon put to bed. The room was nice and clean. Breakfast was fine, nothing special but I can only assume that it's vastly improved since the last reviewers visited. Most of the staff were great.

I would go again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Good - spacious interconnecting rooms with bunk beds for the children, wonderful views, clean rooms. The hotel is 2 star I would guess as it doesn't have aircon - we found fans were fine although may be a problem if any hotter. Lovely pools with no fighting for sun beds even in august. Fabulous location.
Not so good - nothing major. If you have kids and are not looking for a luxury hotel but one with a great location this is ideal. Breakfast a bit busy but just come early or later if that concerned. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

lije a typical socialist company in the 1980s!
- two stars hotel, rooms like a youth hostel, yet 240 eur a night with discount! a true burglary
- fantastic island and view, like a palace, yet it is run down
- service is horrible with a true socialist attitude
- breakfast buffet is like in a youth hostel with ham and cheese, soft drinks i think even the cheapest supermarket does not carry. coffee is a nightmare. breakfast closes az 10 sharp
- beach towels are not given by the pool
- i got stuck in the elevator 2x within 24h with my one year old daughter and noone came to help, i had to force the door open myself. the staff who heard the alarm said moment and was giggling

i did not believe such a hotel existed for this price anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Hotel Katarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Katarina

Address: Otok St. Katarina 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Hotel Katarina 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a beautiful island, a stone throw from the Rovinj City centre, Hotel Katarina is a romantic getaway surrounded by a lush 19th century garden that offers perfect vistas of the Old Town and Punta Corrente Park forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Island Hotel Katarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katarina Hotel Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Katarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;