We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & very pleasant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Island Hotel Istra to your Saves list
Island Hotel Istra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Touch of beauty
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location & very pleasant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our first family trip to Craotia and we were not disapointed. The staff were excellent very friendly even though they seem to work all day and night.

The kids club for the younger daughter was great twice a day if she wanted. She didn't want to leave the staff as they were so attentive to all the kids.

The food was lovely, freshly cooked and such a variety and the free wine and beer on tap with dinner is a lovely gesture.

Thomson do seem to use the cheaper rooms with poor views but when you only use the room to sleep and shower they can get away with it.

For lunch the crepes and waffles are great and you can't fault Franco as he cooks them just right.

Loved it that much we're back in August 15. Hope we're not disapointed!!

Room Tip: With Thomson you don't get the best views but you can pay for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    179
    61
    15
    7
See reviews for
166
275
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

we travelled here as a couple. The hotel is clean and the exclusivity of being the only hotel on the red island is a nice touch, the ferry ride to the main island is also frequent and convenient. The food was great, the drinks available were equally great and the malvazjia wine that’s available with dinner is beautiful. So good that we purchased a bottle from Rovinj along with some truffles to take home. The pool is nice and refreshing, and the sea water is clean and fresh – take jelly shoes though as the beach is pebbly. We did see a few jellyfish but they appeared to be dead. We were on a half board basis and the food was good in the main restaurant but better in the independent restaurants on the connecting island and along the beach, the calamari was particularly good. Overall, we had an enjoyable week and the Croatian people are lovely, however, I think the hotel is better suited to older couples and next time, we may be more tempted to stay in the centre of Rovinj. If we were to return to the hotel again, this would be when we are older or travelling with older family members. Couples may be better suited at the sister hotel on the main island. However, the staff cannot be faulted and all areas were always clean and accessible and we would still recommend the hotel, but to an older age group or a family as opposed to twentysomethings.

Room Tip: choose a high floor with a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

A holiday to remember, some holidays you remember and they are with you for ever, and this was one of those at the time the two grandsons 6 and 4 this was a true family holiday. we flew from Manchester with my wife daughter and the boys to Pula Airport and then by coach to Rovinj harbour we then boarded the boat to red island, we arrived at the hotel 15 minutes later for the boys this was a perfect holiday two islands joined by a course way there are 5 swimming pools from a baby to the large pool which has a section for sitting and relaxing with the power jets in the water there is a excellent club for the children so you can have time for yourselves we where a little un shore but the children loved it they made lots of friends and in the evening the put on a Disco for them and little shows the hotel was a little dated but that should not inter with your holiday there was plenty of different foods in fact one morning they had pasta and chips the food is served down stairs with it being a traffic free island it is safe for the children there is one inside climbing activity area and one outside there is a small sandy beach and safe bathing there is a small inlet so you can fish with a net a Pizza and café if you are half board it would be great to be all inclusive as children can waste so much its nice to go over the course way and relax on your own we went in June and the weather was just right Rovinj is 15 minutes on the boat and they run every 30 minutes you can get the best of both worlds the old town with its cobble stones ice cream very Italian with the ice cream lots of shops tiny streets and you never se any body throwing litter Croatians take a lot of pride in there country and always seem to be cleaning if the smoke there is always a grid on top of the litter bin you can travel to other parts of the Istrian Riviera you Porec Vsar Pula it is what you make the people are so friendly and helpful I hope this helps you to take a family we have been going to Croatia since 1986 so it cant be bad take care

Room Tip: we took a joining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015

I loved our holiday here. We went for my brothers wedding and everything was amazing. The wedding was hosted by the hotel and we had a lovely outdoor wedding with amazing food. The staff were great and very friendly, even stayed up until 5am on the night of the wedding just to serve us drinks!

There is not enough seating in the bar area, but otherwise, everything was great.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, February 4, 2015
Dear Cymraes123,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy to hear that your brother’s wedding was a success. Island Hotel Istra has the perfect setting for a romantic wedding reception, and the food at the Restaurant Lanterna is something we are particularly proud of. Our Chef was delighted with your comment, so was the rest of the team.

We hope to have you back soon!
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here in September with our 8 month old. Check in was dealt with quickly but very little info given and staff were not friendly. Room was adequate size and furnishings were a good standard. View was what appeared to be an unused tennis court, but we spent little time in the room.
1st week at this hotel was great, restaurant and hotel as a whole wasn't too busy, food was good, drinks reasonably priced.
2nd week was a disaster! A huge amount of people came to the hotel, the restaurant has poor acoustics at the best of times but with the amount of people it was like feeding time at an extremely noisy zoo. Then when these people left it appeared the hotel was starting to close for the season? The staff were all finishing and then they just turned of the air conditioning, when we spoke to reception they just said that air conditioning was "finished", with a baby this was not ideal. Luckily our lovely Thompson rep dealt with this, after reception made many excuses and lied about it!!
All the bar and serving staff are amazing and friendly and really make this hotel. Boat ride is about 15 minutes and was always on time whilst we were there.
Play area both indoor and outdoor are great and there is even a little play club you can leave your children/babies but we didn't use this service.
The hotel is in disparate need of new highchairs, our daughter was continuously slipping down and nearly fell through them a couple of times as they are missing the bar between the legs.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, January 21, 2015
Dear felicityturner,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Island Hotel Istra and for sharing this review. We are genuinely sorry to hear that you have left our property unhappy despite our efforts to provide you with the best possible experience. We value the constructive feedback you have given and you can rest assured that we will review each point made to improve our services and our facilities in the near future. You will be pleased to know that we are already looking into getting additional baby chairs for our Restaurant.

We'd also like to thank you for your kind words on our food and beverage team, these are greatly appreciated and have already been shared with them. We really do hope that you might have the opportunity to visit us again in the future, we will make sure your next stay with us is more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Island Hotel Istra team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

I was looking forward to staying at Hotel Istra as it occupies its own island which is beautiful. We normally stay in 5 star accommodation but really wanted this location so thought 4 star wouldn't be much different. How wrong we were, on arrival first impressions were that the hotel building was very ugly and resembled the architecture of the cold war period. I was expecting to find doctor evil lurking around a corner! It was Spartan and not at all luxurious. our room was also disappointing in need of a makeover with a very tired 1970s style bathroom in salmon pink complete with chipped bath and mould. We complained immediately and asked to be moved hotels to a 5 star. Our rep suggested we move to the Monte Mulini on the mainland and said he would come back to us. The hotel also offered us their luxury block. We went to have a look and although it was nicer it was still in the same utilitarian style and 150 euros more a night. As we would still be on the same complex which was like a 1960s concrete holiday camp we decided not to take them up on this offer. Our rep couldn't get us into the beautiful Monti Mulini so were stuck in the Istra for the duration. Food:- There were various restaurants on the island that were part of the hotel. We tried all of them. The food was OK but service was incredibly slow several times having to wait an hour for food and half an hour for the bill!, customer service was poor across the board. Their premium restaurant in a converted church was beautiful but unjustifyably pretentious and the pomposity of the head waiter knew no bounds. We arrived were offered a table and after 1 hour we were still waiting for food. We had plates of food thrust in front of us twice which we had not ordered and sent back so clearly they hadn't a clue. We had a 7 year old with us so it was an impossible situation as he became hungry and tired. There was a wedding on with very loud music. When we complained to the waiter about the length of time we were waiting for food he huffed and said that he was very busy with a wedding!!! in the end we got our food and finished it while still waiting for my husbands food to arrive. So we asked for the bill at which point he said he would have to speak to the manager! We walked out after paying and the waiter still wanted to charge us full price for the food we hadn't had and said that they were busy with a wedding again. We were disgusted and my husband ate elsewhere. Only one restaurant forms part of the half board which is downstairs in the main building. Its a buffet service and the food is very average. The restaurant follows the same clinical theme, my husband felt like he was back at boarding school, I on the other hand felt like I was in a hospital canteen waiting for bad news. We both agreed it took all the fun out of eating it was like a process and lacked any style or personal touch eating with hundreds of people, queuing and shoveling food onto plates like a "chow down ". We nicknamed it the "feeding station". On a positive note getting the boat to Rovinj mainland was delightful. Rovinj is beautiful and just like Venice but a smaller version. The staff in restaurants and shops were friendly and helpful and the food was lovely. I would definitely go back to Rovinj but not Hotel Istra.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Dear Samantha B,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Island Hotel Istra and for taking the time to share this review. It was obviously very unpleasant to read about your experience with us, and before I go any further I would like to apologize for any discomfort we may have caused you. We understand that used to 5-star standards you would have preferred staying in our hotel Monte Mulini and regret very much this was not organized during your stay with us. The architecture of hotel Istra may not be suited to everybody’s taste and we are sorry that you felt “stuck in the 60’s holiday camp”, but that is something we cannot action upon and is subject to personal preferences. What concerned us was your negative experience in our fine dining restaurant for which we sincerely apologize. Rest assured that necessary actions have already been taken in order to prevent the slow service in future.

What made us all very happy knowing, on the other hand, was that you found Rovinj to be delightful and would return to explore more of what it has to offer. Our agents are at your disposal on info@maistra.hr to guide you through your next booking process and will be glad to indicate other luxury accommodation options within Maistra group. Let us remind you that besides hotel Monte Mulini, Maistra operates another five star Design hotel in Rovinj – hotel Lone. In addition, you will be pleased to know that in summer 2015 Maistra will reopen a wonderful 18 room boutique hotel Adriatic located at Rovinj’s main square. I am confident that your next stay with Maistra will be a more pleasant one.

Best wishes from Maistra team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

Fantastic hotel built on a island.Well trained staff,so polite and friendly,wonderful scenery,great food.Free boat service to Rovinj .Hate to recommend because i may not get booked there if its full up.But Croatia has many similar hotels and is the place to visit with the euro so high.

Room Tip: i don,t think there could be any bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Island Hotel Istra, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Dear John M,

What a delightful review, thank you so much for assigning us a 5 star rating and for sharing the highlights of your recent stay with us here at Tripadvisor. We were thrilled to read that you felt our hotel was the best you've ever stayed at. Your praise for the attentiveness of our staff was much appreciated by our team.

We hope it won't be long before we have the opportunity to welcome you again
Best wishes from Island Hotel Istra team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Address: Crveni Otok 1 - St. Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, private beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Istra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.