We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Hotel Istra

Save Saved
You added Island Hotel Istra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Hotel Istra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crveni Otok-St.Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Last Minute Holidays
Ranked #6 of 22 hotels in Rovinj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I was there in the end of august with two friends. If you look for a place for take a restore that is the right place, but I don't really like big resort village. The food is not excellent and for joining the city center you have to take a boat...the last one is at 00.30 to come back...
The night life in Rovinj is better from 5 to 20 August... near the hotel a fkk beach.
The location is beautiful. The water and the beach very clean.
suggested for couple!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    153
    47
    12
    7
See reviews for
137
234
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My wife pick the destination & I didn't know anything about Rovinj, but it's truly a lovely town and worth a visit or two as there are great places to eat. It's nice staying in a hotel on its own island, boat service & food are good. Buffer changes each night but if you don't have children I would travel to the town each night for a meal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

fabulous journey, ferry ride adds to the holiday experience, hotel looks a bit grey and concrete jungle looking but don't be put off. The island is beautiful and the original church is now a fantastic restaurant and idyllic setting around the small harbour for drinks and entertainment.

The rooms are comfortable and everywhere is very clean and looks inviting. The food is good, some nights better than others when we were there, always managed to find something appealing.

The staff and entertainment team all good fun and professional, found the prices refreshingly reasonable for a hotel, and throughout the resort, not sure it will remain so once they opt in for the euro!

My teenagers didn't like the fact you had to buy Wi fi! and it only worked in the lobby area, this was ok by me!

Rovinj is steeped in history and an enchanting resort of cobbled streets and lots of nooks and crannies with fabulous bars, shops and restaurants. Lots of boats and watersports, we hired bikes and the coastal path is great and an easy ride.

Would gladly go again.

Room Tip: sea from both sides but can overlook the pool or Rovinj, avoid one by the gym as restricted view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful location, good quality hotel, perfect family suites, staff friendly. I'd recommend and revisit. Rovinj old town stunning, you can get there from the island on a free ferry within 10-15 mins.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, family suites all have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

What a holiday...it was amazing. Getting to and from the hotel is half the fun... The hotel runs a ferry from a Rovinj to St Andrews island where the hotel is. The check-in was painless and room for the three of us was pleasant with a superb sea view.

The hotel's island is a lovely size and there are gym type of activities to do as you walk round.... Look out for the lizards!

There are four pools and plenty of sun beds but we didn't need to worry as our son reserved out beds at 8am each morning ;-). The pools are fab and a couple of bars nearby. I spent many a day lying pool side, soaking up the sun and reading my book

Breakfast was fun due to the unusual dish of the day! I spotted creamed chicken, Brussels spouts and carrots! But they always had nice sausages, fantastic fruit and bread/ toast and marmalade. They also make omelettes to order.

Dinner was great...lots of choice, loads of salads, plenty of sides and pasta. Wine and beer on tap and it was good. Loved dinner!

One warning though... After dinner we tried to take wine upstairs and the restaurant manager chased us! My husband was having none of this so complained and they were fantastic by apologising, send a bottle of fizz, fruit and letter from the GM to our room. Above and beyond.

The hotel also has another island reached by a strip of sand.... There's a nice restaurant there and we had a fab lunch there

My husband and son used the gym and loved it.

All in all a Fab holiday and we will return. Well done Hotel Istra... Missing you !.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It is a fantastic location, great hotel, the island surrounds the hotel so if you are at the front or back there are fantastic sea views. The island is used by people visiting for a day and anyone that thought that wasn't acceptable should have read reviews as you can clearly see that it is an island for everyone. The hotel is clearly booked by quality people, everyone is respectful and you won't see football shirts by the pool here.
The whole experience is charming, the food is different but then I didn't want to eat English Food, I came here to experience different things. My only gripe is with the Restaurant Management who haven't moved with the times. Reception staff are wonderful, Thomson reps are great. The pool is clean by the way done every morning and the hotel is not like an old ship....this is Croatia and they are developing businesses which are growing and improving all the time. Come here and enjoy every minute it is a great holiday.

Room Tip: Not sure you need to book and pay extra for sea view room as there are only a few non sea view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEEFELD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

If you are looking at this review please don't hesitate just book it ,,, the island the boat trip across to the island is just the start of your wonderful holiday. on arrival we were given a lvly reception and a nice drink .the staff, food rooms view was everything I wanted in a holiday.the island is a great place for relaxing walking sports and just chilling ,,,yet rovinj on your doorsteppPERFECT .ALLTHOUGH this hotel is 4 star it is not stuffy we lvd it .

Room Tip: somerooms don't have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Island Hotel Istra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Hotel Istra

Address: Crveni Otok-St.Andrea, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Hotel Istra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Istra is an island of its own, a traffic free oasis of sea and sun, private beaches and secluded spots, a ten minute boat ride from Rovinj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Island Hotel Istra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istra Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Istra Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Hotel Istra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.