We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Hotel Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luja Adamovica 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia (Formerly Melia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New in 2014 Beach Concept
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
newromney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Would have given it 5 but justa couple of things, the hotel was lovely and the staff. But we had room 225 which had no wifi in the room :( also a bit short on entertainment because of the bleep football. Not everyone wants football. One night it was on in 3 places. But all in all lovely hotel and grounds.

Room Tip: Think all the rooms are good, but some of them do not have wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear jackie1948,
thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay overall. We have noted all your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    195
    65
    14
    7
See reviews for
117
256
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Eden during the first week of July. We were so impressed with the Hotel and the surroundings. The beds were so comfy my wife had the best sleep in months, she even slept through a huge thunderstorm ! We were spoilt for choice in the restaurant, food was fabulous always. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They all speak beautiful English and just want to please. Our rooms were freshened up everyday, the towels changed etc. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Everywhere was so clean, very different to the UK !!
We hired mountain bikes from the hotel, this was a lovely but inexpensive way to see the beautiful coastline and the guys in the bike hut were very helpful.
Rovinj town itself was stunning, a very pleasant 15 minute stroll along the pretty scenic promenade. We were lucky enough to be there during the Fisherman's Festival and enjoyed free music in the square.
Do try Havana Bar, they do great Pina Colada's.
All in all we had a lovely, relaxing week and would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Postman2014,
thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was our first visit to Croatia and we could not have picked a better hotel or a nicer town than the Eden hotel in Rovinj.The hotel is in a wonderful position between the sea and the national park.The pool area is fantastic, as is the lawned area leading to it, and there are ample sunbeds.The food in the restaurant is of good quality and you have a good selection.It is a gentle 20 minute stroll into the town along the harbour.Rovinj is a gem of a place with old cobbled streets with plenty of shops,restaurants and tavernas. Prices in Rovinj are lower than most most other european countries,I would however recommend you go there before they join the euro because will cause the usual jump in prices The staff in the hotel were always cheerful and professional and they helped make our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ken H,
thank you very much for your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden and it will be my pleasure to pass on your comments to all our staff. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed early July with my husband. The hotel is surrounded by lots of trees on the edge of Rovinj. The pool and beach areas are very impressive with lots of loungers if needed and towels are available. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is a short 15-20 minute walk into the beautiful town of Rovinj. You can also cycle in which takes 5 minutes and is a lovely way to get around. Bikes can be hired from the hotel which is really convenient and not expensive.
The restaurant food is generally very good, although as other reviewers have mentioned, if you want a romantic meal, best to head into town as the dining experience is not great for couples but obviously this is very difficult to do in a large buffet restaurant. Choice of food at breakfast is very good, some terrific meats and local cheeses to select from along with fresh fruit and the usual eggs, bacon etc. Omelettes are available too. It was also good to see things like Polenta with mushroom and bacon along with lots of veggie type dishes. We ate out in the evening quite a bit but when we had dinner, it was mostly of very good quality although the best things were definitely the salads and pasta. The fish was also good although one day the swordfish was undercooked. Desserts were a bit disappointing but the ice cream was excellent! The local wines are mostly excellent and the olive oil in the Istria region is among the best I have ever tried.
The rooms are fine, our ac didn't work the first day but the hotel reception staff were quick to ask for maintenance to fix it and once they did, it worked really well. The bed was very comfortable but they really do need to do something about the lumpy pillows! We asked for some new ones and they were pretty much as bad as the ones in our room! They definitely were not four star standard. Other than that, the room was very comfortable and perfectly adequate.
Hotel staff very helpful and efficient and the main public areas are extremely clean. The hotel does happy hour from 5-6 pm which is really good value. We hired a car to see the Istrian region which is truly stunning, Pula is well worth a visit with an impressive Roman amphitheatre. Also the mountain villages and towns of Pazin and Motovun are well with a visit. As it is only a 3 hour crossing by high speed ferry to Venice, I would recommend this a day trip. We took the Prince of Venice - just be aware of a travel agency trying to sell you lots of additional extras on board that you don't really need! Overall, an excellent stay and will definitely return to Croatia.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear LindaH078,
thank you very much for your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We have noted all your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The Hotel is set in its own grounds with sunbeds and loads of trees so you can sit in the sun or move your sun lounger under the trees if you need shade. They have improved the hotel outside and have a big bistro where you can have lunch. The food is very good, the bedrooms are first class with balconies. The staff are friendly, courteous and nothing is too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. The only down side, if you can call it that is it is a good 15 mins. walk into town but you can always get a taxi which cost us £5.00

Room Tip: There are lifts to all floors and the rooms are light and have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Suzanne M,
thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are delighted to read you enjoyed all our services. Hope to see you back here again soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamsund, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This hotel really is a pearl. It's outdoor area is large and feels luxurious. Pool, beach and garden harmonious and nice. The smell of pines and carefully planned herb garden. Sea water is nice. The hotel is cheaper than her larger "sister" Lone. As a guest you get to use all facilities in both hotels. Service personnel are nice in both hotels; you are the one of their attention. Spa in Lone is outstanding. Food is exquisite. Prices are nice in restaurants, although a little more expensive than restaurants in the beautiful city of Rovinj. It takes 15 minutes to walk into the city - a nice (clean) promenade though. There is one word describing this: Absolutely Fantastic!

Rent a bike at the hotel and cycle a couple of kilometers; nice cliffs and swimming possibilities -all to yourself. Very nice.

I'll return for sure - I'm impressed.

Room Tip: There are rooms with ocean view - and some without... If that matters ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Toneschj,
thank you very much for your review. It is our great pleasure to see that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Last week, my boyfriend and I stayed a week at Hotel Eden. We were immediately amazed by the fancy outdoor area: a big swimming pool surrounded by trees and with relaxing music. No annoying animation for the children, no fighting for sunbeds, friendly staff at the pool bar and towel service. We simply loved it!

The hotel is a 20min walk from the old town of Rovinj. It's a cozy town with plenty of art shops and the view you have from the top is definitely worth the climb! Tip: be sure that your shoe soles are not too slippery, or else it might be a risky descent!

Buses are the best way to travel through Istria. Name a city and there's a bus going to it (no joking, they have buses to Frankfurt, Budapest, Sofia,...). In Rovinj, we took the bus to Porec (a 40min ride, but apart from the basilica, there's not much to see) and there we took the bus to Pula. In other words: it's possible to do both towns in one day.

The other day, we took a bus to Triest. The trip went as planned, until we arrived at the Slovenian border control. When we had to show our passports, we realised that the reception at the hotel still had them. Result: we were forbidden to enter the country. After a whole afternoon of autostop (we were in the middle of nowhere) and a busride back, I decided to report this at the reception. It was partly of our own fault: we knew about the severe border control. On the other hand, why did they still have our passports? Without warning, they took them off at the check-in, but as there was a long queue behind us and as they gave us quickly 4 other cards (room- & towelcard), we totally forgot about it. Anyway, when I told her about our 'adventure', the receptionist simply said "yeah, it's like that" and gave our passports back. Not even a "sorry". No need to say that we were a bit disappointed.

For a good description of the unfriendly staff and the poor food, read Tripstaker's comment. It's describes exactly how we thought about it!

Overall experience: the outdoor area and location are the best parts of hotel Eden. Since the pools and beach are shared with the hotel next to Eden (hotel Lone, five stars), save some money and go there instead of staying at hotel Eden!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear xSegolicious,
thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Hotel Eden. I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay and I apologize to you for these matters. All your comments have been noted and each will be addressed. Thank you for your kind compliments regarding the outdoor area. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Luja Adamovica 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia (Formerly Melia)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of a unique position, premium service and rich tradition. Situated in the shade of the centuries-old Park Forest Zlatni Rt. The bay and beach are accessible through abundant greenery, a luscious lawn and beautiful outdoor swimming pools. Hotel Eden provides its guests with the opportunity to enjoy the all-round peace and relaxed atmosphere. It is characterized by exceptional quality and rich equipment of the rooms, ample and pleasant public areas, and terraces offering spectacular views. The hotel was last renovated in 2006 (halls and accommodation units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Escapio, EasyToBook, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Eden Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.