We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL EDEN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Eden to your Saves list
Hotel Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luja Adamovica 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia (Formerly Melia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New in 2014 Beach Concept
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
STAFFORDSHIRE
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“HOTEL EDEN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

HOTEL EDEN is a wonderful place to stay clean and hospitable the staff speak English and are very keen that you enjoy your time with them, a short walk will take you into the town, the only down side that we found was our first room only had a view of conifers very dark and gloomy no sun or likely to be seen at all, asked to be moved and it was wonderful a view of the gardens and pool, down side they put a childs play area right under the balcony think it needed to be further away from that side of the hotel, we loved our stay here and will be returning ,

Room Tip: we first had a room with only conifers for a view this was on the left side of the hotel as you look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear goz5,
thank you for your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    195
    65
    14
    7
See reviews for
117
256
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have just stayed at the Eden Hotel, Rovinj, Croatia from 7-21 May. Hotel is very nice with a beautiful swimming pool area which only opened on 4th May. The bedroom is adequate with either a bathroom or walkin shower. There are only a few rooms with walkin showers so if you need one email before you go. Always enough shower gel and soap. Towels changed every day and linen twice a week. Safe is free and there is a mini bar in room. Pool towels are provided free of charge by the pool.

The food is ok. I have had worse and I have had better. Breakfast is more than adequate. Most evening meals were mainly ok but some were better than others. There was no dress code for evening meal when we were there which is poor for a 4 star hotel. When I asked a Manager about it he said they were looking into it. One of their other hotels, the Istra on Red Island, has a dress code notice outside the restaurant. The dress code notice appeared outside the Eden Restaurant on the morning that we were leaving. Thank you for listening to me.

There is a free boat trip to Red Island where Mateja from the animation team takes you a tour round the island which is very good. Thank you Mateja and thanks to all the restaurant staff for being so friendly and having a good laugh with us especially the waiters Bojan and Sldau.

First week there was a lot of noice caused by the Tennis Club from Stockholm who had no consideration for others late evening/early morning. Apparently they come every year so if we ever returned we would check that they were not going to be there.

All the staff are exeptionally friendly.

Room Tip: Top floor . Front is quieter because some of the rooms with view of the pool and the sea have the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Nora42,
thank you very much for your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We will pass your comments to all our staff as this is the greatest motivation for all of us. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked a weeks holiday, through Thomson, at a very reasonable price, and were more than pleasantly surprised with the quality of this hotel, particularly the idyllic grounds, on the edge of a National Park.
The brand new swimming pool complex was also spectacular, despite the rather chilly temperature!
Towels were provided at the pool which also had a handy bar for drinks and snacks
The restaurant had a fabulous selection every morning and evening and the quality of the food was very very good
The town of Rovinj was also a great place to explore with lots of cobbled streets and local artwork on sale at every turn
The entertainment team in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful, providing tours throughout the week, including a boat trip to the Red Island - ALL FREE OF CHARGE!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Stephen P,
thank you for your review. It is our great pleasure to see that you had a wonderful time in our hotel. We look forward to seeing you back in Rovinj soon.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently returned from the Eden Hotel in Rovinj and found our stay extremely pleasant.
Beware of Thomson’s brochure though because it isn’t up to date, neither is their website – a lot is changing with the recent refurbishment, which has been considerable over the winter, covering most of the public areas, which are very smart. It has a completely new large swimming pool area which it shares with the neighbouring new 5 star Lone Hotel, also a new gym, wellness area and indoor swimming pool. The grounds were also being up graded. There were plenty of sunbeds and parasols, and a large grassed area where more sunbeds were available. The new publicity photos were only being taken whilst we were there so even the hotel’s website is not completely up to date.
Although the hotel looks a little dated from the outside at the front from the original 1970’s design, what’s inside is completely up to date. The rooms have everything you need and are very comfortable good although a little dark because of dark furnishings. Everything was clean throughout, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a problem opening and closing our wardrobe doors because of wear on the runners, but patience was rewarded. The room came with a free safe and minibar, and drinks weren’t expensive. You should be aware that there are rooms facing in all directions – don’t expect to be overlooking the pool and lawns, most rooms don’t.
From the hotel it’s a pleasant walk down to the small bay through the trees, then a fifteen minute amble to the harbour. A beautiful setting and picturesque scenery right on the doorstep.
The food quality was always good – although the hot food was served “straight”, and sometimes a little bland in presentation. It depends whether you like your food served fancy or straight. The quality was quite acceptable however. But why do we have tinned vegetables? That was disappointing.
A number of trips are available and local guided walks are available. The trip to Plitvice Lakes entails a five hour journey each way, an early start and an extremely late return – but well worth this inconvenience, they are stunning.
Our only negatives were that evening entertainment and full daytime activities hadn’t started, and evenings tended to be a little “flat”. Also the rooms were quite warm at night – we asked about the air conditioning but were told it was too cold to have it on! This meant sleeping with the balcony door open to keep a little cooler at night.
It is a hotel we would happily stay at again – some guests come regularly apparently. We give it almost perfect scores!

Room Tip: Most rooms don't overlook the lawned and pool area, but still have a pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear carltondave,
thank you very much for your review. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was the first time my husband and I had stayed in a hotel abroad. We have travelled a lot but normally book an apartment and do everything ourselves. This year we decided to 'take a flier' on a late deal at this hotel. It was great! The hotel is in a beautiful setting close to the sea and a superb area of parkland where you can easily find your own patch of beach or rocky inlet. The park has beautiful tracks where you can walk for miles. Alternatively you can hire mountain bikes and go even further. It is a 20 minute walk along the edge of the sea into Rovinj which is a delightful old town with quaint cobbled streets and plenty of cafes and interesting little shops. There are also a couple of interesting churches and museums.
The hotel itself is modern, clean and pleasant. The staff were absolutely excellent. Everyone spoke very good English and they could not have been more helpful. The room was quite small but had everything we needed. The only downside was despite asking for a quiet room when we booked we were woken up on three nights by very noisy drunk guests. The hotel did address this and peace was restored later in the week. (Not really their fault if people can't control themselves!)
We stayed half board.The food at the hotel was buffet style and there was plenty of choice - standards such as pork, chicken, beef, pizza etc but also a good sample of Croatian food to try (Which incidentally was excellent). Breakfasts were also very good with plenty of choice.
The pool was lovely and is a new one now shared with the hotel Lone next door. There were masses of sun loungers and a new pool bar.
Over all I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool and away from the lifts (which can be noisy early morning.) Note...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Picky51,
thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Rovinj. We are really glad to read of your satisfaction with staff, food and the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

In October, we were at the hotel with my family. We had four rooms. Very nice hotel, close to the beautiful beach. Rovinj is beautiful. The breakfast was delicious, the rooms are clean. The spa is small but good. All in all we had a good time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear SO_lya_24,
we are really glad to read of your satisfaction with your stay at Hotel Eden. We are delighted that you had such a positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Eden Whilst the hotel is in a great location and the rooms and public areas a very good there is an incredible amount of room for improvement in the quality of the food, which ,frankly was appalling and their trips were either too far from the resort (5hours travel in each direction) or organised on a day when the most important reason for going on the trip is closed ( the basillica at Porec is closed to tourism on a Sunday and services are held there). A totally wasted day.

The Thomson brochure states that there are a Buffet restaurant, a Grill, an a' la Carte' eatery - not true. They also state that the evening menu is supported with "Show Cooking" also not true.
Their website shows the Eden as a "Platinum" hotel also not true. Thomson should either deliver their brochure descriptions or change their brochure. i suggest that a Thomsom Management representative needs to visit this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mladen B, General Manager at Hotel Eden, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Jim N,
thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately our grill restaurant by the pool was in process of renovation but all our guests could use à la carte restaurant “L” next to the outdoor pool as well. We do have à la carte restaurant in the hotel which shares the kitchen with the buffet restaurant but we use different dining room for that purpose. I want to apologize to you for your disappointment with your stay on this occasion and hope you will consider returning to Hotel Eden in the future. If I can help in any way then please do get in touch directly.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Luja Adamovica 33, Rovinj 52210, Croatia (Formerly Melia)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel of a unique position, premium service and rich tradition. Situated in the shade of the centuries-old Park Forest Zlatni Rt. The bay and beach are accessible through abundant greenery, a luscious lawn and beautiful outdoor swimming pools. Hotel Eden provides its guests with the opportunity to enjoy the all-round peace and relaxed atmosphere. It is characterized by exceptional quality and rich equipment of the rooms, ample and pleasant public areas, and terraces offering spectacular views. The hotel was last renovated in 2006 (halls and accommodation units). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Hotel Rovinj
Hotel Eden Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.