We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adriatic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adriatic to your Saves list
Hotel Adriatic
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trg marsala Tita 5, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Reconstruction in 2015!
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Perfect location right at the waterfront in the main square, everything was within walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was excellent. Our room had a great view of the harbour and it was clean and comfortable. The only downside was the noise - there was a Salsa festival going on during our stay. I understand that the hotel management can do little or nothing about that and other local events, so we didn't complain about that. Overall, very positive on all aspects.

Room Tip: No elevator. Our room was on the first floor so we had no problems with that, but for somebody who g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear 935Daniel,

We were pleased to read your nice review of your stay at the Adriatic hotel and would like to thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your impressions of our hotel and our town. We are happy that you have recognized the effort of our staff to make guests in our hotel feel comfortable and welcomed. We would also like to thank you for the understanding you have shown over Salsa Festival. Being placed in the center of the town's main square does imply noise exposure, but as you said, not a lot can be done from our side to prevent it. We are pleased this had no impact on your overall very positive impression of the hotel and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm wishes from Adriatic team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    61
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
77
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just returned from Rovinj which is a really lovely bustling town the hotel adriatic could not be more central the standard of the hotel is brilliant with a lovely breakfast the staff could not have been any more helpful would definatelly advise a sea view room as the views were really lovely
We would definately return if we get the chance the only word of warning for future guests if driving to the hotel the hotel is in the central square where no vehicles are allowed so contact the hotel prior to arriving for parking instructions as the entry to rovinj is not obvious

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Richard R,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and for assigning us a five star rating. We are particularly proud of the fact that you have noticed how dedicated and friendly our staff is. Your appreciative comments are most gratifying and will be shared with the whole team.
Also, we would like to thank you for bringing up potential challenges for those who reach us by car. After your suggestion, we have made the map with the instructions on how to enter the pedestrian area available on our web site in form of a downloadable pdf document http://www.maistra.com/Adriatic_Rovinj/Location.

We hope that you will have the opportunity to repeat your wonderful experience and that it won’t be long before your next stay with us
Warm wishes from Adriatic team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were cautious about the place when we booked thinking it might be a bit basic and rustic, but a wonderful surprise. Tastefully done, across the plaza from the port, soundproof windows, very nice and helpful front desk, and breakfast options indoors or outdoors on the plaza edge. Nice coffee. Our room, a corner suite on the 3rd floor was spacious, simple, and comfortable. Opening windows gave a great view and nice ventilation, but air conditioning is included. A center room two doors away has a balcony. Not much to do here but hang out, and that was great.

Room Tip: Port view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Socprof 67,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your stay at the Adriatic hotel. We are very pleased to read that our hotel with its appearance, location and offer was a wonderful surprise to you. Since the hotel is planned to be renovated during the following winter, we are sure that your next stay with us will be even more comfortable and pleasing. We certainly look forward to welcome you again should your travels bring you back to Rovinj.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Fabulous central location for Rovinj's oldest hotel. It is fantastic to see the city, views over the bay are lovely. Rooms comfortable and breakfast good. However the only thing to check is what events are on and what suits you. They are mostly held in the town square which is what you look over also. For us is the first week was a jazz concert which was great and finished by 11.30pm. But it turned out that the second week was a Salsa festival which last all week and goes on until about 2am every night - 3-5,000 people dancing outside your hotel room.
However after the first night of this we spoke to the staff who moved us without question within 10 minutes to another hotel nearby also run by their owners "Maistra" with a discount for our trouble.
Would recommend this hotel but check local events suit you....

Room Tip: A sea view is vital, some rooms at the back have tiny windows with no view at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Alex42333,

Thank you so much for your review of hotel Adriatic and for assigning us such a great rating even though you have experienced some unpleasant surprises whilst being our guest. We are sorry that a part of your holiday was spoiled by the local event held in our main city square. Unfortunately, the hotel management has no influence on the events taking place on a public square. Our central location is indeed an asset and offers multiple benefits, but on the other hand it has its downsides, which regretfully you have experienced last week. Nevertheless, we are glad that after all we have managed to find a solution that made your stay more peaceful and enjoyable and we really hope that you will visit us again, maybe in a quieter moment of the year.
Thank you once again for taking the time to share your review; we hope we will have the occasion to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I lived my stay here. It is a brilliant location, full of old world charm. We stayed on the 3rd floor ( no elevator, but they are getting one this year I was told) and we had a great view. The rooms was nice, air con with reasonably priced mini bar. The breakfast was amazing. A fantastic selection on a beautiful waterfront terrace.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the harbour, if you have limited mobility, maybe the first floor is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Marcella O,

Thank you for such a lovely review following your recent stay in Adriatic. We are glad that you liked hotels “old world charm” and the beauty of its location in the center of one of the most picturesque towns on the Mediterranean. We look forward to the upcoming renovation of the hotel so that all our guests can enjoy more stylish and comfortable rooms.

We hope your travels bring you back to Rovinj and our hotel for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Hotel Adriatic has been around for a long time and is about to get a major facelift much to the chagrin of the charming receptionist who has been there for 23 years. Rovinj is an utterly charming traffic free fishing village with winding cobbled streets and the usual church up the hill. Yes you can unload your car with a special permit before returning it to the hotel compound (you won't need it!). The glorious views are of fishermen mending their nets if you get a room on the right side. Rooms are simple, spacious and immaculately maintained. I was happy to hear an elevator would be added in the renos although the young doorman flew up the steps to the 3rd floor with my luggage and helped me down when I left.
Breakfast was in the nice dining room or under the umbrellas when weather permitted.

Room Tip: Ask for a VIEW room. Its worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Rentan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of hotel Adriatic following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you were charmed by the beauty of Rovinj and our centrally positioned hotel. Our entire team is excited that Hotel Adriatic will soon be renovated as it was slowly becoming a necessity. As you have noticed yourself, the lack of elevator was a comment we have been addressed many times in the past and we really look forward to introduce this service in order to make our guests stay even better and more comfortable.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback; we hope your travels will bring you back to Rovinj and hotel Adriatic.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A stay in Old Town is highly recommended if you go to Rovinj, arguably the prettiest town in the Istria region, and one of the most charming in all of Croatia. There may not be too many reasonably priced options in Old Town, so if you get a good price, this hotel will be worth it. The location is perfect, right in the central square with a nice view of the harbor. The building and rooms are a bit worn, and I did not see clear evidence of capital infusion that might be expected for being part of a large upscale chain, Maistra. The person at the front desk was low key but helpful. Breakfast was pretty good. But again, it is the location that is the main attraction of this hotel, although any place within the relatively small Old Town will by definition be in an excellent location.
We parked in a public lot just outside the Old Town and rolled our suitcases a few minutes to the hotel, which was not a problem at all. I think it was better to skip the process of parking in a hotel lot that earlier reviews described.

Go up to St. Euphemia Church for the sunset. And the morning view of the town from the public parking lot is fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Adriatic, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear totrotistolive,

We would like to sincerely thank you for your review of your recent stay at hotel Adriatic. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your valuable feedback, and are very pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and facilities suitable to your needs.

As a distinctive hospitality brand and a leading investor in the tourism industry in Croatia, our hotel company Maistra has recognized the need of renovating our historic property and therefore plans a major reconstruction after the main tourist season, later this year. This renovation will completely transform the property to a stylish boutique hotel with larger rooms and upgraded facilities.

We sincerely hope that you will visit us again in not too distant future to discover our fresh new look and brand new facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adriatic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adriatic

Address: Trg marsala Tita 5, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Adriatic 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transformed from a place to sleep into a place for dreamers, Hotel Adriatic is an intimate space bringing together curious minded travellers and local art inspired by the hotel's 100 year old heritage - a place where fantasy and reality intertwine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Adriatic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriatic Hotel Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adriatic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.