We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gretic is a star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wine Vault

Wine Vault
A. Smareglie bb, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia
+385(0)52 636 017
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 129 Restaurants in Rovinj
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Gourmet restaurant on ground flour of Monte Mulini Hotel. After 4 years of working established it self as market leader in Croatia. 600 labels of wine and unique Chef's table will guarantee you memorable evenings. Reservation required.
cleveland, oh
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Gretic is a star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Take the Master Chef Tom Gretic up on a chef's table and let him dazzle you with his selection of anywhere from 10 -14 starters (if you can keep up) - it will unforgettable! Tom Gretic for Iron Chef has my vote!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    10
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Every dish an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We wanted to treat ourselves to a special dinner on our last night in Rovinj so made I made a reservation at the wine vault. My first impression of our server was that he was a little stiff and reserved but by the end of our meal, about 2.5 hours, he joined us in conversation and turned out to be witty and an excellent conversationalist. I will not go into details about each dish but I will say that each one was carefully crafted with different flavors that just worked. If you want to treat yourself to a special night this is the place to visit.

If you happen to have dinner and they wheel over the dinner menus and a wine list, that i could barely lift, don't be put off because "It's all good".

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“high class place !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

one of the best croatia chefs is cooking for you. story i front of menu list is so deep ! menu is something different, something you should try. wine list is huuuuge ! try coronica merlot, roxanich merlot, teran...you cant miss !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The food is supposed to taste good not look good :)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The food is supposed to taste good not look good :)

Had 9cm3 of tuna in 1/2m2 plate
Had a funny taste risotto, I don't know what kind of cheese they used but it was way too strong for my taste.

Waiters are probably expecting all their guests to show up in tuxedo, reality check: I'm on vacation :)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomislavGretic, Manager at Wine Vault, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Filip S,

I am sorry that Wine Vault did not meet your expectations.
This is for sure not a tourist trap restaurant and we are serving food differently from most of the restaurants in Rovinj. We believe that quality is much more important than quantity of the food on the plate in front of you.
Smart casual is a dress code for a restaurant.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked a meal at the restaurant at the Chef's Table and would recommend the experience to anybody that enjoys and appreciates good food. The table is situated in an alcove within the kitchen giving you the perfect view of evening service in a top restaurant. Philip the chef and his team were so professional and the food and it's presentation was just incredible. We managed 10 amazingly presented and prepared courses and as food lovers with healthy appetites we were somewhat disappointed to find our stomachs telling us we had eaten too much, having read reviews from other guests having eaten 18 + courses!!! The wines were chosen for us to compliment each dish and did so perfectly, and we were even treated to a tour around the wine vault itself and given an interesting education on the wines by our very knowledgable sommelier.
This is not a cheap evening, but you cannot put a price on such a memorable experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine Vault also viewed

Rovinj, Istria
Rovinj, Istria
 
Rovinj, Istria
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to Wine Vault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wine Vault, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.