We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Mediterranean Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maestral

Maestral
Obala Vladimira Nazora, 52210, Rovinj, Croatia
52830565
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 129 Restaurants in Rovinj
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: http://www.restorani24x7.com/restoran/maestral/rovinj/http://www.gastronaut.hr/restoran.asp?id=5867
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Proper Mediterranean Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a proper Mediterranean restaurant.
I visited this place several times and the fish and the salads were always fresh, prepared tastefully. It is not one of those restaurants where the food looks better than it tastes.

The restaurant is perfectly positioned buy the sea and the light “Maestral” breeze made my stays pretty pleasant.

Would recommend the:
- Brancin
- fish file in the Tartuffe souse
- Fisherman Pie
- And my favorite the Asparagus Soup

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    90
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“fresh fish great view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

fantastic view of the old town while you watch the chef grilling your fresh fish and having a glass of wine...it had been recommended by the woman managing the apt.we stayed in as one of her favourite restaurants...which says a lot coming from some one who lives there and has good taste!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

2 weeks ago we spent few days in this restaurant, recommended us by a local from the street.

The position is great with a beautiful overview on the old town of Rovinj and the food is excellent with great value for money!

1st 2 days in Rovinj, we went to some other restaurants where we encountered a typical tourist rip off, so I would highly recommend this one for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“The best place to spend your hot summer evening when in Rovinj!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We come to Rovinj for years and visit Maestral every time. The view is amazing, you eat in front of the beautiful panorama of old town of Rovinj and right next to the sea. The food is always fresh (various fish, scampi, calamari), well prepared, with some interesting, uncommonly meals like fisherman's cake (dough baked with olive oil, anchovies, tomatoes and onions). Pizzas are great too, with real Italian flat bread and rich topping.
Although the terrace is getting bigger every year, there are always enough waiters who are nice and quick.
In short - the best place to spend your hot summer evening when in Rovinj!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Food and service didn't match the waters edge setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Chose this restaurant based on previous reviews even though some were 2012, probably a mistake. Drinks and food orders taken quickly and drinks arrived...for the next table. The sea food salad and mozzarella with tomato were ok but personal choice would have liked much more basil with the tomato. Our main meals were fillet of fish in truffle sauce with chard these dishes took about 40 minutes to arrive even though we asked if we had been forgotten as most other tables received their meals before us. Waitress just shrugged her shoulders. Whilst food on the continent is not always served as hot as in the UK this meal was bordering on cold. The fish fillet in sauce could have been a frozen boil in the bag and over cooked. The chard was swimming in water. Overall experience disappointing and wouldn't return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maestral also viewed

Rovinj, Istria
Rovinj, Istria
 
Rovinj, Istria
 

Been to Maestral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maestral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.