We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice design, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lone to your Saves list
Hotel Lone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luje Adamovica 31, Rovinj, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New in 2014 Beach Concept
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice design, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is located near to the brand new beach area, that is looking good offering nice sunbeds and some service if you are close enough to Moulini Bar.
Interior is nice, good quality and clean. Some design elemet hurt the function (not enough shelfs, no hand shower), but all together room is nice and quite.
Internal wellness area is also fine, breakfast is high quality, even breakfast area looks a little like an IKEA food court. Restaurant down is incredible expensive and not that good, you better go to the city for dinner.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Tonya20a,

thank you for choosing our hotel and for rating us with a 5!

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our hotel.
Happy to see that you like our brand new beach, and thank you for the compliments on our breakfast offer and our wonderful Spa.
We would just like to point out that there are 2 more places to dine in our hotel, one on the 1st floor and also one on the 2nd floor with a different offer every evening. So there is really something for everyone!

Hope that you will visit us again!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    105
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
99
259
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Petersburg
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Our family of five, including three kids aged 12, 10, and 1 have just spent two weeks at the Lone hotel in Rovinj. We were staying at a Family room, which is effectively two connecting Premium rooms overlooking the neighboring Monte Mullini hotel and (partly) the sea.

Overall, we were quite happy about the hotel, but it turned out there are some nuances we were unaware of before coming there.

On the positive side:
- new. modern hotel with a touch of luxury and contemporary design
- good facilities, spacious, well-equipped rooms
- staff mostly friendly and competent, although some staff members were clearly weaker than the others
- good breakfast - wide choice, high quality of food
- location amidst forest / national nature park
- bike rent and bike tracks
- newly built / renovated beach area
- large tennis center next door
- mini club for little kids and game room for older kids
- nice walk to the historical town of Rovinj

On the negative side:
- beach area quite small and open for the general public resulting in the beach being overcrowded, especially during weekends, and the lack of sun beds / umbrellas (one has to reserve them early in the morning despite the rules in order to get any)
- lack of organized activities for teens, e.g. football, volleyball, other sports; lack of sport facilities on the hotel's large area (playing ball with kids on lawns is forbidden!)
- no proper sport swimming pool, despite several fancy swimming pools, outdoor and one indoor
- mediocre food quality and variety at the buffet restaurant for dinners
- inadequate food offering in daytime - there is only one outdoor restarurant for lunch, and after 1 p.m. it is not possible to get a table any more, so you end up buying sandwiches from the pool bar or use the room service
- generally, the hotel area is open to the public and shared with two other hotels (Eden and Monte Mullini) - there is a feeling of too many people around you, so it is hard to really relax

However, overall, as I said, it is a very nice hotel and I can highly recommend it to those who decided to spend their vacation on the Northern Croatian coast - just be aware of the nuances I outlined in advance and then it is up to you to decide whether it is exactly the right place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Olira,

thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed feedback on your stay in our hotel Lone!

We are glad you point out some really positive points. Our hotel is really amazingly designed, only 3 year old with very well spacious and equipped rooms! Glad you liked our breakfast offer, as well as many activities that we have to offer. It is in a perfect location for renting a bike and make a tour of the beautiful park around it and also the really nice town of Rovinj!

On the other hand we're sorry that you weren't really impressed with our beach and pool services.
The beach has been totally redone this year in order to provide some new offer to our guests. All activities such as sport are shared with the next door hotel Eden, and the variety is quite high, we apologize if you weren't informed enough. Regarding food offer, our restaurant L is open always for lunch as well as the Oleandar at the pool, so we have at least 2 restaurants to choose from along with the bars.

Overall, we are very happy to see that you did like our hotel in total, and hope that you will visit us again, maybe in pre or post season when it is not too crowded.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Excellent hotel in quiet area of Rovinj. Design type interiors are stunning and the staff were excellent, friendly and very helpful. My wife and I were there for our 30th wedding anniversary and our room was upgraded and a bottle of champaign was delivered to our room. The hotel was light and airy and spotlessly clean. The bedrooms were spacious with all usual facilities. Rovinj was in easy walking distance and as we stayed at the hotel on a b&b basis lots of choice of restaurants. The breakfast at the hotel was splendid. Highly recommended by us to other visitors.

Room Tip: pool facing are better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear stephen t,

Thank you for your fantastic review!

Once again wish you all the best for your 30th wedding anniversary, we are so happy that you choose our hotel to celebrate it and that somehow you made us a part of it. It makes us so proud!
Your nice comments have already been shared with all my stuff, many many thanks for your recommendations!

We sincerely hope to wellcome you soon for another great stay!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel gives it self out to bee a 5* designer hotel, offering luxury spa and surroundings. We stayed for 7 nights and were dissapointed.

First off, the positive aspects:

1. The staff at the lobby and spa is very nice and helpful, always trying to make your stay as best as possible.
2. Fair prices for spa treatments (which are good)
3. Back yard at spa department is very nice and relaxing
4. The room is good size

Then, the main points for our dissapointment:

1. The cleaning of the room is some of the worst we have experienced. The bathroom was almost not clean at all (at any of the days), none of our products had been moved the entire week(!). We deliberately left some hair after shaving at the dish, after 5 days it is till there...Unexeptable. I could continue describing the same scenario for the entire room, but you get my point.
2. The service at most of the restaurants is below average, the staff being some time rood.
3. The food is OK, nothing more.
4. The coffee is not good.
5. You have to pay extra foor room service (even though not much, 40 Kn) - it should have been included in the price
6. The break fast offer a variety of choises, a shame they are mostly not so good (with the exeption of the omelete). The eggs are over cooked, the coffee is bad, the bread is dry, the juice is bitter etc.
7. The pool area is NOT private, neither is the beach. The pool area is shared with other hotels, and we suspect also other tourists / locals come here. Therefore, it is always full. It is not allowed to place towels at sun beds in order to "reserve" them, but everyone does, making it impossible to find proper places if not up by 8.
8. The hotel gives you a feeling of "charter" vacation, it is not a place I would reccomend to visit as a romantic destination (even though, the town Rovinj is very romantic)
9. The beach consist only of rocks, which really hurts walking on. Get some proper shoes, or avoid completely.
10. You do not get the feeling that this hotel is offering anything special or extra, considering it to be a 5* hotel.

Over all, the Hotel did not justify the 5* designer hotel it gives it self out to be. I would not say this hotel is bad, you should just be prepared for what kind of hotel it really is.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Andreas L,

thank you for taking the time and post such a detailed review on your recent stay at hotel Lone.

First of all, we would like to thank you for mentioning also some positive things that you've experienced and for the praises for our staff at the lobby and spa area.

Regarding the negative points, we apologize if you weren't satisfied with the cleaninless of your room, it is a thing in which we are getting always very good grades and we're sorry that in your case we didn't fulfill your needs.
The service in our restaurants are very young people doing their best and sometimes mistakes can surely happen. Our breakfast offer is indeed of a very wide choice, and there is really something for everyone. The pool area is shared with the hotel Eden next door, and we are aware it could be crowded and that's why we built a brand new beach this year, in order to prevent situations like this. So far, guests are really happy with it, we are sorry to hear that you did not like it at all.

Thank you once again for your feedback and comments, we will for sure take them into consideration and if you ever decide to visit us again please do not hesitate to contact me anytime!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed here during a recent vacation to Rovijn. This hotel is simply amazing. One needs or wants not for anything in this hotel. It is beautifully designed. The rooms are large, clean, have large bathrooms, large very private balconies, and comfortable beds.

The gym has an excellent spa facility with a decent gym. There are three good restaurants on site. The morning breakfast buffet was delicious. The architectural design is incredible and the property is beautifully landscaped. The pool huge and the shared pebble beach is gorgeous.

The historic old town and main restaurants/bars are a 20 - 25 minute walk.

Staying at this hotel was perhaps the most relaxing portion of my 2 week vacation in Europe. The staff speaks pretty good English and is extremely helpful. They were able to assist me with all of my questions. I would highly recommend this hotel and easily stay here again. The hotel is very expensive for the area. With that said, it is the nicest hotel in the region and it is worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear etgMD,

Thank you for your 5 star rating and wonderful praises!
You left us speachless with all your nice words!

It is really rewarding to see that we've succeeded in making your stay so nice. Thank you for all the compliments on our hotel, the new beach, our Spa and our restaurants but especially to our staff! Compliments from our guests are a big reward for their work.
I am also very appreciative that you mentioned the cleanliness of the room, our housekeeping department also works very hard keeping the hotel spotless.

Overall, being considered as the nicest hotel in the region is absolutely fantastic!
Thank you for recommending us and I hope you return soon!!!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

When I arrived at the hotel, the exterior looked very modern, went inside and it seemed a little soulless due to the minimalist decor, the staff were superb, I had requested a top floor room but they booked me in on the ground floor, I asked for a different room and they found me one on the fourth floor with pleasant views. The room was quite large with a nice sized balcony, the bed was massive and as was the bathroom. We went half board, which I regretted, the food was fine and they do a dine around, a restaurant in Rovinj and at the Lanterna on the Red island next to the Istria Hotel. The reason I regretted it was because we were so close to the town where there was lots of places to eat at reasonable cost. The location of this hotel is fantastic, Rovinj is a beautiful place, good for walking, cycling, swimming etc. A clean safe place that is a pleasure to visit. Would I go back to the Hotel Lone ,definitely on B&B . The buffet breakfast is amazing and the service superb.
A special hotel that I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice, but for better views get a higher one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Thomas M,

thank you for your great review!

We are happy to hear that our staff make a great impression on you and that they were able to fulfill your wishes. At the end this is what is all about, exceeding the guests needs and we are really honoured in making everything that is in our power to make our guests happy.

Rovinj is a really nice little city in which you can relax on your holiday. We appreciate your comments on our breakfast offer and that you will come visit us again as well as reccomend us to other travelers!

We really hope to see you again soon!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We recently stayed for 10 nights at this super stylish design hotel! Set in beautiful parkland & just a 20 minute stroll into the lovely old town of Rovinj where there are plenty of bars & restaurants. The bedroom was spacious, with a large bathroom separate bath & shower which is always a bonus, plenty of cupboards but no drawers, a large balcony with very low deck chairs (impossible to get up from without help) and not much of a view! The staff were friendly & helpful, buffet breakfast was plentiful as you would expect from a hotel of this standard and the fluffy Yaya eggs were a first for us yum yum! However the a la carte restaurant on the ground floor was a disappointment we ate there on our first night & were disappointed with the choice & it was expensive compared to other restaurants in the town. The pool area was well designed, clean & spacious, the 4 of us didn't have a problem getting sun-beds together, unfortunately the beach area was just pebbles (no sand) & needed swim shoes to get in & out of water. We would use the Lone again if ever we decide to return to Rovinj.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking parkland/ Forrest on 4th or 5 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Snappyspice,

thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback on our hotel!

I am so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us and will return.
Honest feedback from our guests are always wellcome and helpful to improve our services.
Except of the restaurant on the ground floor we also have 2 more in the hotel, with various offers ( sushi, tapas, tacos, istrian ) as well as various price ranges, we are sorry you did not try any of them! We hope you will upon your next visit.

Once again, thank you for your comments and hope to see you again for another great stay!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lone

Address: Luje Adamovica 31, Rovinj, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lone 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lone represents a design-focused synergy of functionality, harmony and elegance. Featuring an impeccable blend of beauty, luxury and cultural heritage, the hotel is a year-round leisure and business destination. Hotel Lone is a unique and extraordinarily designed place located on the waterfronts of the Golden Cape Nature Park (Zlatni rt) and only a pleasant 15-minute stroll from Rovinj’s colorful town centre and marina. Offering 236 spacious rooms and 12 finely detailed suites this hotel represents a design-focused synergy of functionality, harmony and elegance. Featuring an impeccable blend of beauty, luxury and cultural heritage, the hotel offers fine dining restaurants and bars, exquisite entertainment programmes and an extensive Wellness & Spa centre. Hotel Lone captures the essence of Maistra's conference offer. Together with its sister hotels in the tourist destination area, it is capable of hosting major events with over 3,000 participants or tailor-made board meetings and workshops. The largest auditorium within the hotel has a seating capacity of 650, while the capacity of the largest auditorium in the area is 1,800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.