We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lone to your Saves list
Hotel Lone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luje Adamovica 31, Rovinj, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New in 2014 Beach Concept
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The Hotel Lone is a very beautiful hotel. The staff are very accommodating and polite and will conveniently arrange a rental car or taxi. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful as well and the pool and beach area’s lovely. The breakfast buffet is a huge spread and very good. The main restaurant for dinner offers very good food and wines, however, it’s pricey, so beware, there are better options in town. Please note that the hotel tells you they are a fifteen (15) minute walk from the city, well it’s more like a twenty five minute walk – very convenient to do and very safe as well. Search the internet for better deals than they offer online, you’ll be glad you did. Enjoy!

Room Tip: High floor rooms have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Vol D,

Thank you for your complimentary and rewarding comments!

It is a great pleasure for us that we were able to fulfil your expectations in most of the aspects of your stay.
It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests and to obtain their perspective. It is one of the best ways for us to learn how to improve, through the eyes of our guests, the ones who have visited us.
Its nice to see that you enjoyed your experience with us and we will share you comments with all the staff.

Hope to wellcome you back soon!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    105
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
99
259
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos Hills, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Lone, and it was like staying at 2 different hotels.

The first night, this very large hotel was absolutely packed. In addition to guests, there was some sort of a conference going on, and a prom like event at night. It was a bit overwhelming. We literally had problems finding a seat for breakfast in the very large restaurant.

Next day, everyone seemed to checkout at once, and it was lovely and peaceful.

Overall the hotel is very nice. The room was good, as was the breakfast (if you don't mind the noise when it's full). It's a 15 minute walk along the sea to town. Staff was tremendous. Gave us a great room with a view, and when The air conditioning broke on our floor and they immediately switched us.

It's a nice experience, but just keep in mind that it's a large resort hotel catering to conferences and families.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Judy D,

Thank you for your kind words and feedback!

We really strive to provide memorable moments and superior service to our guests.
Lone is a pretty big hotel, and sometimes can be busy, considering that many conferences are taking place in this period of the year.
Nevertheless we are happy that you had the chance to enjoy, at least for one day when it was a bit quieter that the day before.

It was our pleasure to share your experience with our team and we hope that we will get a chance to welcome you again!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

From the moment we arrived into the beautiful bright and airy lobby we really were impressed with this hotel. We stayed in a gallery suite with a balcony and a lovely view of the back gardens and (just about) the sea. The room is as you would expect- huge, beautifully designed, clean, well kept and with reasonable amenities (although an iPod dock and perhaps some more english tv/movie channels for when its raining would not go amiss if i was going to be really picky!!) There is a massive buffet breakfast with everything you could want to eat served til 11 am each morning (great, 11 am, no panic early wake up for fear of missing it) and the facilities of the hotel are excellent. If you are there before they run out of them there is free bike hire with which you can explore the really beautiful national park next to the hotel or ride into town, which alternatively is a 15-20 min walk. There is a large pool area and a huge rocky beach area as well as the brand new beach club a couple of hundred metres away and extensive gardens. As i understand it, the pool and beach are shared with hotel Eden and the beach and beach club are shared with the Monte Mulini hotel, as is the large well equipped gym and huge wellness area. These are really great facilities and the beach club was a wonderful relaxing haven! The terrace restaurant and food at the beach club were great and the service really really impressive throughout. I really want to mention Ivan and Tony in reception who were excellent and went the extra mile to making our stay one to remember and one that we look forward to returning to. For example, a fuss free "yes of course, you can have a late checkout when you leave in 3 days"..... For me, this kind of service is as important as the room! We will definitely be back- thank you!!

Out of interest, there is a really huge difference in room price depending on when you go and i imagine that in peak season the whole area must be packed- with 3 hotels sharing facilities i don't know how easy it would be to find those beach chairs, albeit, there did seem to be hundreds of them. Going a little out of season was probably a good call and really fantastic value for this standard of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear nadineabc,

thank you for such a detailed review on your stay, we are thrilled to see that you enjoyed our hotel so much!

Really appreciate all your compliments, especially for mentioning our reception staff, Tony and Ivan! We will share your king comments! All hotel staff is really nice in trying to provide the service our guests deserve.
Thank you also for mentioning our new beach, which we find also fantastic, and can assure you that with 2 pools and a beach there will be nothing to worry about also in high season.

Depending on the seasons, there is a difference in pricing, but we always have special deals which you can see on our website.

Sincerely, we hope that you will come to visit us again soon!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We originally had a booking at another hotel in the Maistra group which was significantly below par. We moved to the Hotel and from the outset the service was exemplary. The rooms (family rooms) are the biggest I've ever stayed in and beautifully decorated/furnished. The grounds and pool are pristine. As the week went on we kept finding more and more facilities such as the spa facilities and hidden sunbathing areas. The buffet breakfast had everything you could possibly want and was of top quality. There is a beach right in front of the hotel with beds and facilities. It is approximately fifteen minutes walk into town along the front. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - it is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear mousey10,

thank you very much for your kind comments!

Happy to read that you consider us wonderful, and that you would recommend us further!
The most important for us is that our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stay with us, and we do our best in providing the service they deserve.

It is a great pleasure to see that your stay was an excellent one, and that you liked all that we have to offer!

We sincerely hope that you will visit us again soon!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

As mentioned, the details make a top hotel. Lone is modern design hotel and on great location.
Rooms are beautiful, well furnished but no coffee machine or more mini bar options and pillow menu, which would be expected at good 5 star hotel. Great amenities, pool and beach. Loved a great beach-bar at the Mullini hotel. Gym is great and clean with excellent equipment.
We arrived early and had no problem to get a room before 15h. Vallet is friendly but not too eager to help. Reception is polite but... it was my birthday and nobody noticed it... not that i would like excessive attention but in a 5 star hotel... receptionist should notice it.
Breakfast was nice and a lot of choices from fruit to eggs, food in restaurant is excellent kitchen staff is superb, BUT... waiters are unorganized, working in all bars and restaurants. Service could be better. F&B department is a weak link in this organization in my opinion but with little touches it can get better.
All this small problems are not a reason, not to recommend Lone as a nice hotel to spend holidays in. There are a lot of designer stuff, amassing staff working at the spa and interesting ideas like tables at the lounge bar/ blackboards allowing you to draw massages on them... loved it...
We will probably be back some day, and hoping to find the staff willing to do the extra step for top customer service.
The heart of hotel are people who work there not designer walls and beds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Dam-Slo,

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review on your recent stay with us.
We are happy to see that your overall experience with us was a positive one, and that you liked our new beach as well as our facilities.
Regarding coffee machines, we do not have them in all our rooms, but only in suites. Also, we have a choice of pillows, sorry that we didn't inform you on check in. Regarding your birthday, we apologize for not noticing that, thank you for pointing this out though in order to prevent things like that to happen again.
This year we have many new employees and we are training them constantly to become more professional and to be able to provide an excellent service. They are all very willing to learn, and with the help of more experienced employees they are getting better day by day.

Once again, thank you for you sincere review, and we hope to wellcome you back soon!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Lone hotel is one of the best modern designed hotel I have stayed in. It is completely worth the price and is perfectly located as well. The staff is lovely and the stay is beyond comfortable. I can't wait to return to this hotel. Food and breakfast is also very good which is usually not the case for such big hotel types. Awesome experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Benie M,

Thank you very much for leaving such an amazing review and for awarding us a 5 out of 5.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoy all aspects of your stay ranging from the staff down to our great food offer. And also for considering us one of the best designed hotel you've stayed in!
We are really trying hard to make our guests stay impeccable, and in your case we are happy that we've succeded!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a modern funky style hotel, similar to the "W" brand. It is located literally beside 2 other hotels and seems to share the same amenities (pool etc.) which is a little odd. The old town is a pleasant 15 min walk along the sea front which means you don't need to use your car at all once you arrive.

The room was spacious with a big balcony area which has been cleverly designed so that you are not overlooked by other balconies. The only issue that we had was that we discovered that there were some ants in the room. Obviously not great and they were very apologetic when we called them to let them know. Their solution though was to send up a housekeeper with some ant spray and she proceeded to spray liberally. That was fine but then leaves a nasty smell and as we were travelling with a baby it was not ideal. Fortunately we were travelling with our family so had three rooms in total and we were able to go to another room while waiting for the smell to clear. I would expect a 5 star hotel to have just moved us to another room whilst they sorted out the ant problem properly, rather than how they did handle it. The other two rooms were fine so we were just a little unlucky.

Overall this is a very nice hotel but could do with a few service tweaks. At times they seem to be trying too hard to be "cool" and it can seem a bit unfriendly. That said we did enjoy the hotel and would be likely to stay here again if we were to revisit the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Ken M,

Thank you for your feedback!

We are glad that you took the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. Comments like yours are helping us to improve and see the areas in which we can do better. We are happy that you overall liked our hotel, and that you will visit us again despite this little inconvenience that you've mention.
Regarding our staff, we are surprised that you find it ''unfriendly'' cause we are really getting good comments about all of them. We want to inform you that we are implementing a lot of trainings for them in order to provide always a better service.
Anyhow, your remarks will be shared with relevant departments and actions will be taken where needed.

We wish you all the best and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lone

Address: Luje Adamovica 31, Rovinj, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lone 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lone represents a design-focused synergy of functionality, harmony and elegance. Featuring an impeccable blend of beauty, luxury and cultural heritage, the hotel is a year-round leisure and business destination. Hotel Lone is a unique and extraordinarily designed place located on the waterfronts of the Golden Cape Nature Park (Zlatni rt) and only a pleasant 15-minute stroll from Rovinj’s colorful town centre and marina. Offering 236 spacious rooms and 12 finely detailed suites this hotel represents a design-focused synergy of functionality, harmony and elegance. Featuring an impeccable blend of beauty, luxury and cultural heritage, the hotel offers fine dining restaurants and bars, exquisite entertainment programmes and an extensive Wellness & Spa centre. Hotel Lone captures the essence of Maistra's conference offer. Together with its sister hotels in the tourist destination area, it is capable of hosting major events with over 3,000 participants or tailor-made board meetings and workshops. The largest auditorium within the hotel has a seating capacity of 650, while the capacity of the largest auditorium in the area is 1,800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.