We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lone to your Saves list
Hotel Lone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luje Adamovica 31, Rovinj, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New in 2014 Beach Concept
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is ultra modern and very artistic throughout. Our room was gorgeous with everything we would want including a lovely balcony overlooking parkland. Double glazed sliding doors blocked out any noise and it was perfectly quiet at night. Although it was about a 20 minute walk to Rovinj it was very pleasant walking along the waterfront past the little beach and boats. The breakfast in the hotel was amazing too. We had omelettes or scrambled eggs cooked in front of us along with a lovely buffet. The pool area was top class and we loved the indoor pool too. Everyone at reception were also very helpful and friendly. We had such a wonderful stay at this hotel and absolutely loved Rovinj. The only disappointment with the hotel was the L restaurant which was very expensive but we did not enjoy it at all. I think they are trying to be upmarket by presenting the food nicely on the plate but it just didn't work. The food was very ordinary, the waiters were stuffy and the service poor. We went one night to a restaurant just nearby called Arupinum which was lovely, much cheaper and served by very friendly waiters. I would highly recommend the hotel but unless they improve their restaurant I would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear keeptravelling99,
Thank you very much for your review!
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, that you like the facilities that we offer and that you found our staff helpful and friendly!
On a more negative tone, we are unhappy to hear that you didn't like our L restaurant with which we are very proud of.
Hope that we will have another oportunity to host you and improve your experience especially cause we are planning to make some new offers so we are sure you will find something to your liking.
Thank you very much once again, and we look forward having you back with us in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    105
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
99
258
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. Wellnes center is also good, especially if you are tired and need a while to recuperate. The hotel is located about 10-15 minutes walk along the sea to the town filled with good restaurants so it assures a lovely meal and evening in a pleasant atmosphere. In the opposite direction of the hotel, you have routes along the sea and wonderful nature for hiking, jogging or biking (the hotel rents bikes). Just what the doctor would order.

Room Tip: Even if you don't take sea-view room, you'll have a view over the very nicely arranged park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear MajaIsabella,
many thanks for your great review!

Delighted to have provided you with a great stay and that you were pleased with your room and our service and hospitality.
We're thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and that you could see our effort to provide you with a memorable experience by focusing on all our guest needs.

I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Rovinj!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

For the plus side: peaceful and green location in its own park by the sea, fifteen minutes romantic walk to Rovinj centre, ultramodern holistic design approach, rooms of formidable size (we had a great 14 sqm balcony, completely sealed from any curious neighbours on side or above), lovely wellness part, shared with the sister top end hotel Monte Mulini. For the minus: completely unresponsive staff on day one of our visit, tolerably bad design of the larger restaurant and intolerably faulty for the a-la-carte one; the relatively large outdoor pool is shared with another, equally big hotel, so I can not imagine the crowd in high season.

One by one: no bell boy upon our arrival late in the afternoon. The place appeared more or less deserted at the time. I left our suitcase for the receptionist to take care of, then had to call reception 20 minutes later because nobody seemed to bother about the piece waiting at the reception. Five star hotel… Early in the evening I tried to order us a bottle of wine through the room service. The number was connected to a voice mailbox… Reception promised room service will call back immediately; it actually happened half an hour later. Again, the hotel was more than half empty at the time. Understaffed? I would also expect an apology of the hotel manager as I reported the incidents to reception the day after. Nothing happened.

There again, reception works smoothly and effectively. All hotel amenities were active even on our day one, before a major surge of holiday guests arrived. The rooms could present a minor nightmare to elderly people not used to rather sophisticated lighting and temperature controls. But both the room and the bathroom were truly nice, including a formidably wide array of small bathroom items.

Indoor pool also sizeable, water is kept at approx 30 degrees and is notably low at less than 130 centimeters all over the length. Of course, some Hungarian yockel can (and did) spoil the relaxation fun by teaching his kids waterpolo among the unsuspecting guests. No staff intervention.

We ate outside so I can not comment the kitchen. Still, breakfast is on the truly top level considering the choice of food, both warm and cold – one of the best I have ever seen. Yet – no sparkling wine, even no sparkling water. Service well below the expected speed and efficiency. Out-of-season understaffing came to my mind again.

Design of the main dining hall is boring in its minimalism, tables and chairs reminding one of a childhood classroom. Should you choose the a-la-carte restaurant on the ground level, the appearance is somewhat better, an excellent headwaiter is in charge and the choice of both local and imported wines is fine, also at truly acceptable markups. Yet when we went there for a nighcap, we were shocked. The smell coming from the kitchen all over the place kills your appetite and destroys your wine – unforgivable. There are large openings in the wall (!!!) connecting the dining room with the kitchen, so you know exactly when they fry an old fish on the well used oil, and then when the bakery takes over for deserts. This one should be remedied ASAP!

Nevertheless, the hotel is a very nice one, worth a visit, especially next year when the seashore will be adopted to the not-so-small number of hotel guests staying in one of the three Rovinj top hotels on the same location. Alas, the high season price for a good room is far higher than I would be willing to pay considering all above. Sorry, Kempinski in Savudrija still appears a better choice in the class.

Room Tip: Large rooms on the reception level (200+something), but facing the seaside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear ZahtevniGost,
Thank you for your detailed review, I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay with us despite some negative issues.

First of all we apologize if you felt that the hotel is understaffed, we assure you we do our best to serve our guests as professionally as possible.
Please note that your comments have been brought to the attention of the appropriate departments for them to further discuss.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we sincerely hope you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have spent an extended weekend in a Gallery suite at the Lone in November and while the Hotel from its appearance , location , general facilities and its rooms is truly a 5 star hotel there are several "but's" I need to mention.
The restaurants by our measures are missing style, comfort and privacy and creating a feeling of a canteen or fast food restaurant.
This is a particular issue if you like to have a nice dinner for two or breakfast with your family, the tables are so close to each other and the restaurant in particular for breakfast is so crowded that it feels like at "central station" waiting for the next train.
The staff as much as they are very friendly seem not as professionally trained or managed as one might expect from staff working at a 5 star hotel .
Just some examples , we have been waiting for a waiter attending service in the Sushi Bar for about 15 minutes.
We placed a request at reception but nobody ever called back , we went for breakfast at 0845 and many tables were used but not cleaned.

Our suite 453 was very nice and comfortable there were some issue however with cleaning because some guest that have staid there prior must have spilled milk over the lounge and there where still smelly stains on the lounge and carpet , the other issue we discovered was that while there is a very nice bathroom with a good size tube , the sink after having a bath would not open , the good thing however if you book a suite is that your minibar , garage , broadband etc is all included.

My resume from the stay at Lone , great location , stylish new Hotel , friendly staff , good facilities , restaurants and service are a major issues , lots of room for improvement !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear lobomarunga,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Glad you enjoyed our modern hotel and spacious room as well as your dining experience with us.

On the other side, we have noted your negative comments and will review these areas, thank you for your feedback and my team and I hope we can be of service to you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The brochures don’t lie! Fab stay at the Lone hotel. A superbly designed building which blends beautifully with its lush surroundings. A very modern and spacious interior with large and comfortable rooms, very sleek bathrooms, the balconies facing the park a peaceful retreat. The wellness centre is fabulous, so are the swimming pools, a perfect spa retreat not to be missed! Start your day with a swim and a visit to the spa before enjoying an amazing array of food for breakfast, go for a bike ride along the sea, enjoy a walk from the hotel to Rovinj, a very pretty town, and take in a boat excursion. That's what we did and we loved it. The only slight disappointment was the temperature of the water in the Jacuzzi in the jazz room. Too chilly to linger in for very long. It is a great idea, an architectural achievement, perfect for hot summer days, but I would not bother with the jazz room during cooler months. We tried it as it would have been a pity not to. Finally thank you to all the staff at the front desk, the bar and the restaurant for making our stay so enjoyable. No matter how many stars, no hotel can be successful without a friendly and efficient service.

Room Tip: The suite on higher floor has the most amazing view. Jazz rooms during warmer weather, a must. Sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Claudine G,
thank you very much for sharig your nice comments on TripAdvisor!

Especially thank you for mentioning our staff - they work really hard and it is very rewarding that our guests recognize their effort.
We are pleased you were able to relax and enjoy in all our facilities!

I’m glad you’ve found us and hope we’ll be able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel is everything it claims to be. We arrived with another couple and because of a conference we were upgraded to a jazz room,lovely surprise! The staff are so friendly and helpful. We were greeted by Lana and she was wonderful. As we were from Canada she related her Canadian experience to us ( come try Canada again Lana) We spent 2 nights at Lone and Lana gave us lots of ideas as to how best spend our time in this beautiful area of Croatia
My husband and I had dinner in L 2 both nights, the second night the chef(who grew up in Canada) took the time to come and chat for a few minutes, food was delightful, nice to see Canadian Maple Syrup on the buffet at breakfast!
I wish I had had a few more days to stay here, having spent the better part of 3 weeks traveling Croatia I would have to say this was a highlight of the trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear fire27ball,

thank you so much for posting such nice comments on our hotel and staff!!!

We already shared your impressions with all of our staff and especially Lana!
We are glad that your stay was the highlight of your trip to Croatia, it is a very rewarding comment and we are extremely happy that we succeeded in our mission to make our guests stay a memorable experience!
Thank you also for mentioning L restaurant and our amazing Chef!

We will be very happy to host you again in the nearer future!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is good, not very good or excellent but not just average.
The room and decor of the whole hotel are excellent.
The pool area is large but shared with the hotel Eden, this effects the service.
The pool beds are basic without any cushions
There is no waiter service at the pool.
You are only allowed one towel per person and have to submit a towel card to get one, this alone is not five star and even more so when combined with the above.
The room service was variable, they left an empty bottle of wine for the duration of my stay and took a half full bottle away.
Breakfast was good with varied choice, service here for hot drinks was variable.
There are limited number of bikes you can use, they were often all out so we had to hire them form the hotel Eden, they come from the same hut and the Hotel Eden is part of the same hotel group.
The spa, indoor pool and facilities are excellent.
I have stayed at The Hotel Monte Mulini which is part of the same group and 5 star too, it is in a different class to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvia K, Manager at Hotel Lone, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear appleacre,

thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our hotel Lone on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to hear that some of our facilities were to your liking!

On a more negative note we are sorry that some of them didn't meet your expectations, and want to inform you that for next year we are planning to have a whole new beach concept, so there will be a choice between our pool and the beach and we are sure that with this additional facilities will be even better than this year.

We are glad that you like also Monte Mulini as it is our sister hotel, same as hotel Eden.
Hope you will visit us again in the future!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lone

Address: Luje Adamovica 31, Rovinj, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lone 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lone represents a design-focused synergy of functionality, harmony and elegance. Featuring an impeccable blend of beauty, luxury and cultural heritage, the hotel is a year-round leisure and business destination. Hotel Lone is a unique and extraordinarily designed place located on the waterfronts of the Golden Cape Nature Park (Zlatni rt) and only a pleasant 15-minute stroll from Rovinj’s colorful town centre and marina. Offering 236 spacious rooms and 12 finely detailed suites this hotel represents a design-focused synergy of functionality, harmony and elegance. Featuring an impeccable blend of beauty, luxury and cultural heritage, the hotel offers fine dining restaurants and bars, exquisite entertainment programmes and an extensive Wellness & Spa centre. Hotel Lone captures the essence of Maistra's conference offer. Together with its sister hotels in the tourist destination area, it is capable of hosting major events with over 3,000 participants or tailor-made board meetings and workshops. The largest auditorium within the hotel has a seating capacity of 650, while the capacity of the largest auditorium in the area is 1,800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Lone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.