We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Far from Russia, close to Italy"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lone to your Saves list
Hotel Lone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luje Adamovica 31, Rovinj, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Long Stay Special 2015.
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Wien, Österreich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Far from Russia, close to Italy"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We saw the title line on a bag sold in the hotel, which we thought summed up Hotel Lone quite well. It is a pretty new hotel, rooms are big, modern, clean and have nice private terraces. The bathroom is also nice & modern, but we couldn't get over the fact that there is a huge glass window that doesn't allow any privacy in the bathroom. We needed to cover the window with a blanket. Whoever designed that is either a total voyeur, or hasn't thought this through. (Bathing- potentially shared & sexy. Toilets- not so much.) Breakfast was wonderful, huge selection of almost everything. Pool is big, but is shared with Hotel Eden, which wasn't a problem for us in the off-season. Parking is chaotic and definitely not 5 star (see title line). You can park your car anywhere outside, although not legal. Notes on the windshield reiterate this fact, but apparently there is nowhere else to park as hotel staff told us to "just park anywhere." Odd. The town itself is a nice 20 minute walk along the watersedge, which we enjoyed. The spa area in the hotel is also very nice. One last oddity of Hotel Lone (and perhaps it was due to a Sept. visit) was that the hotel seemed to cater to buisness people (large meeting happening while we were there) as well as vacationers equally. This feels a bit schizophrenic as a guest, since the vibe is not clearly one or the other. For a long weekend, it was hard to lose the work mentality and relax with business people lurking everywhere-- and on the weekend, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    118
    34
    7
    3
See reviews for
109
288
10
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We originally decided upon Hotel Lone due to it's design and were both thoroughly impressed. It looked beautiful, a lot better than its sister hotel (Monte Mulini) which seemed a bit tacky looking. The staff were all very friendly, attentive and were not snooty like you can sometimes find in 5 star hotels. You also had access to free bike hire and a boat cruise. Which we went on one evening to watch the sun set. I liked these added touches. The location just by the nature reserve, gave you the option to wander and find a little bay to go swimming in. The breakfast was very impressive and open up to a very civilised 11am.

The swimming pool is currently shared with Lones sister hotel (Hotel Eden), which from previous reviews people have been disappointed about. However the pool is very big and so there actually was no problem whatsoever. I believe that Lone will have their own pool next year, which unfortunately may mean a lot smaller pool.

The indoor swimming pool was a must to cool yourself down and get out of the sun for a while.

The spa facilities were extremely good and I would definitely recommend.

The walk to Rovinj was a beautiful 20 minute stroll following the coastline, which helped with the digestion on the way back to hotel after dinner.

The only minus points were due to noise (loud music) coming from Hotel Eden and from what sounded like a night club further down the coast. This meant that we had to close our balcony at night as the music appeared to go on until about 4am. Also the hotel had very nice sun lounger beds near the spa area which some guests took control of using their towels very early in the morning, which was slightly annoying.

Even with these small problems, I would definetly go back and recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautifully designed modern hotel. Rooms -luxurious - breakfasts gave you loads of choice -superb indoor pool - next year they have a new outdoor pool being built. We had a meal in the gourmet restaurant on the ground floor which was very enjoyable indeed. There we had the best redwine of our trip- the name escapes me now -I recall it was about 350 kunas - Boris Johnson raved about it in his recent article about Croatia in the Telegraph
The hotel provides a free boat trip to its guests - a largish sailing vessel crewed by a couple of real characters - one of whom was an old sea dog type with his grey hair tied up in a pony tail. He was amazing - there were several nationalities on board and he soke each language fluently.
I could go on but just go there ,you will not regret it. We would go back any day

Room Tip: the bulk of rooms are superior rooms - best to overlook the 'forest'- sea side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed with my husband for few days in August. The hotel itself is really nice. Cleaning perfect. Location from the city centre is in walking distance. Interesting spa. But, the reception staff not really great. There is girl who is really slowly, unpleasure in communication with the guests, not smiling, other staff are just fine. Cleaning lady was friendly, spa staff also. We used 2 restaurants, but I would recommend the eat in the city centre.
Hotel is new, clean, in good location, rooms are fine with balcony and great bathroom with a good cosmetics.

Room Tip: Ask for the hight floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

So....back again from Lone! I must say that every year (this is the second summer in this perfect property) we come back more overwhelmed!
Where to begin; perfect location, only steps from Punta Corrente (half island where you can go at the beach or run around), 15 minutes nice walk to the city center, amazing architecture (new design with such a great details, you just wish to stay there), unbelievably friendly and helpful staff in restaurants.....Yes....that is the right holiday...when you come back home smiling.... Mini Club for kids now is open for the whole day (10 a.m. – 8 p.m.) which makes perfect for parents to organize themselves! Staff in Mini Club are really nice and great with kids.
Upon arrival we got an upgrade from Superior to Jazz room. Actually, I do not know how to explain our satisfaction with this type of room. You have your own Jacuzzi on the perfect terrace...this was such a fun for our 3,5 year old daughter and you can only imagine how happy we were.... If you are coming in the summer time and have some extra money to spend, definitely go for your own Jazz... :)!
Staff in all restaurants are more than nice and helpful, so special thanks to all of them since for making a great atmosphere. For breakfast you can find a great choice of everything, so, we enjoyed a lot, especially since the breakfast is served until 11 o'clock. So, there was no hurry....it was easy and relaxing, exactly how the holiday should look like.
Few things I would like to suggest are:
Mini Club should have an open space for kids (something like hotel Eden has – a playground among the trees for example).
A-la-Carte restaurant should change the dinner menu since the menu is exactly the same as last year or simply add few new meals. Actually, if you are aiming to have regular guests, coming every year or even few times a year, you should consider changing / adding the menu from time to time. Also, sushi bar offers sushi only twice a week. My suggestion is to either have sushi bar or not. Since, the summer time in Croatia is a great time for restaurants along the coast to have fresh fish, it would be good to have possibility to have sushi every day. After all, I haven't seen sushi on menus in Rovinj restaurants, so, it would be great to attract other guests from Rovinj to "fight" for a table in your restaurant.
Parking issue....hmm...that should have been done a year ago!
All in all, this was a perfect holiday.....and can't wait to come back again, hopefully....soon!

Room Tip: Jazz rooms with Jacuzzi are definitely great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Design of the hotel is incredible, interior also, it is completely Croatian work. We felt very comfortable in the spacious and nicely finished room, and the balcony is fabulous, especially with the seaview. I didn't like reading lights because they don't give enough light. Breakfast was rich, but first morning there was a row because they did not prepare for the full occupation. Around hotel there are nice walkaways and the sea is just few meters away, and to the center of Rovinj there is nice 15 min walk by the sea. Interior pool is quite nice, but I didn't like the spa zone with saunas and small pool.

Room Tip: ask for room at the east side with seaview if you want deluxe room, take first floor with bath on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I could write a book about Rovinj and Lone! I travel a lot and this is amaizing!! Gorgeous place..and amaizing people that are very friendly and polite. It is clean and beautiful! Breakfast is great and rooms are very clean. I feel like home :)
Visit SPA.
Thank you Lone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lone

Address: Luje Adamovica 31, Rovinj, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Lone 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lone represents a design-focused synergy of functionality, harmony and elegance. Featuring an impeccable blend of beauty, luxury and cultural heritage, the hotel is a year-round leisure and business destination. Hotel Lone is a unique and extraordinarily designed place located on the waterfronts of the Golden Cape Nature Park (Zlatni rt) and only a pleasant 15-minute stroll from Rovinj’s colorful town centre and marina. Offering 236 spacious rooms and 12 finely detailed suites this hotel represents a design-focused synergy of functionality, harmony and elegance. Featuring an impeccable blend of beauty, luxury and cultural heritage, the hotel offers fine dining restaurants and bars, exquisite entertainment programmes and an extensive Wellness & Spa centre. Hotel Lone captures the essence of Maistra's conference offer. Together with its sister hotels in the tourist destination area, it is capable of hosting major events with over 3,000 participants or tailor-made board meetings and workshops. The largest auditorium within the hotel has a seating capacity of 650, while the capacity of the largest auditorium in the area is 1,800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Lone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.