We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fairytale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tuttorotto

Save Saved
You added Villa Tuttorotto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Tuttorotto
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Dvor Massatto 4, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Fairytale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our room on the first floor was stylish, elegant and comfortable with a magnificent view of the harbor. The staff were efficient, helpful and very friendly, (Kristina helped me to find my lost denim jacket) and the breakfasts on the sunny balcony were always welcoming and a fresh start to the activities for the day.We went cycling and the forest were scented with pine and ocean: a pool of stillness. But it is the evening settings in the old town, as you walk outside the front door, that captured the spirit of ecstasy! The quaint restaurants with plates full of aromatic cuisines and the music and chatter and dancing of people on the marble cobbled streets. The splendor of a sunset on turquoise sea and white sails of catamarans as the enter the harbor...open the scene to a magnificent full moon hanging like marble over an age old church.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a magnificent view over the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    20
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
51
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We just returned (June 22, 2014) from Rovinj and stayed 3 nights here. We had 3 different front staff people and they were all very nice and spoke perfect English. The hotel is a converted private home (2010) and right in the middle of the Old City with at least 2-3 great restaurants outside the front door - Balbi was our favorite. Sergio's pizza is also a short walk away and only does many gourmet pizzas. The hotel also had an especially good breakfast (croissants, breads, yogurt, fruit, cheese/meat, and eggs to your liking, juice, coffee/capuccino). The rooms are nicely decorated with modern necessities but with antique / old world charm. We stayed in a suite the first night and a regular sea view room the following 2. Both were lovely. The hotel and Rovinj were such a nice option after crazy over-crowded Venice.

Room Tip: The suite is nice. Bedrooms with sea views are nice. We stayed in 201, which didn't get as muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murwillumbah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

A superb introduction to Croatia, Villa tuttorotto was one of our most unforgettable happy memories. The staff were charming, the room and ensuite compact but comfortable, bright and clean, the bed comfortable and we had a quaint view towards the harbour. The Villa is furnished with antiques , books and works of art which made us want to stay much longer. It is a wonderful base for exploring the old village, and the sea wall. Katerina was lovely and a generous breakfast set us up for the day. I really hope to return one day. Rovinj off season is fabulous.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Who would want to stay in some soulless hotel, when you could be right in the middle of the old town of Rovinj in a completely charming inn with views of the equally charming harbor? Genuine and thoughtfully chosen antiques, excellent rooms, lovely decoration and attentive service by Kristina, Maria and Dom. We loved our delicious breakfast, including eggs if you want, out on the little balcony (only 2 tables out there, so get there early) and the food was abundant and varied. There was a beautiful little common living room we never seemed to have time to sit in, but I'd want it for my house! It’s true our GPS took us to the wrong parking lot and we had to call Kristina, but she just stayed with us on the phone and got us to the right place. I have to say that after that, we had NO problem finding the place following the careful written directions and map Kristina had sent us. In general it felt like the staff couldn't do enough for you. Apparently they’d all been very worried about our reaction, as they’d made an error in the booking and the suite we booked was not available the first night, so we had a standard room for one night. (We were just worried that they were going to tell us we couldn’t stay there at all!) No big problem and we got a discount and a nice bottle of sparkling wine in recompense. The standard room was fine, but the suite was terrific, what a view too! And the bathroom with excellent shower AND jacuzzi tub: big enough to skate in. Don’t book here if you can’t climb stairs. There are plenty, as this place goes up like a town house rather than spreading out sideways. We didn’t care; we were totally charmed. And the story of the name? Tuttorotto apparently means all broken, which is the condition the owner found it in before he renovated. It’s far from tuttorotto now. And thanks, Dom, for the great restaurant recommendation: Puntulina definitely hit the spot.

Room Tip: If you can get the suite, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Villa Tuttorotto in late April for a five-day vacation in Rovinj.
The two marvellous ladies that alternate shifts in managing the small boutique hotel took superb care of us. We were also helped in fixing an excursion (down to the south of Istria) that we'd planned for, that was really nice!
In addition to all the cute details in this tiny and tidy hotel we enjoyed to the full the hand-made superb breakfast daily... with that fresh orange juice by the jug.
The early monday morning that we parted for our bus towards Trieste, we were glad to receive a nice breakfast pack each.
Keep it up ladies!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We were the only guests at the Villa Tuttorotto in mid-February, and it truly felt like a home-away-from-home. Kristina was our own personal concierge and made suggestions and gave us information on anything we requested. The Villa itself was amazing; We stayed in the Superior Suite, and while it wasn't really a "suite" (I always think suite = two rooms), the room was beautifully decorated, spacious, clean, with lovely port views out the windows, a huge bathroom with both a shower and a jacuzzi. The communal "living room" was also beautifully furnished, where guests can get out of their bedrooms to read, relax, watch television, enjoy before/after dinner drinks, etc. Yes, the hotel was in an alley, but we had absolutely no difficulty following the hotel directions to get there! Our only negative comment about our visit was that there were practically no restaurants or art galleries/souvenir shops open at this time of the year--and yes, we knew it wasn't tourist season when we went, but some of the advice we received using the Trip Advisor Forum wasn't really accurate....According to Kristina, if you visit Rovinj, the best time to arrive would probably be mid-April through mid-June, before the hordes of tourists invade--or mid-September until Christmas....The hill towns of Motovun, Bale, and Groznjan weren't "open" either...same with the Brijuni Isands...just so you know! We still had a lovely time, due for the most part to our accommodation at the Villa Tuttorotto and to Kristina!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Located in the heart of the old town, with views of the harbor, this hotel is an atmospheric little gem. We stayed in the suite, which was very roomy, and had a very large modern bathroom. The hotel has an interesting atmosphere from the many antiques which are used throughout.
staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Tuttorotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tuttorotto

Address: Dvor Massatto 4, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tuttorotto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Escapio and Venere so you can book your Villa Tuttorotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tuttorotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.