We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Hotel with Great View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Tuttorotto

Save Saved
You added Villa Tuttorotto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villa Tuttorotto
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Dvor Massatto 4, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Rovinj
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cozy Hotel with Great View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in room 43 which had a wonderful view of the harbor. We really enjoyed the room size and spacious bathroom, which had plenty of towels and amenities. The breakfast was very good. We often sat out on the terrace and enjoyed the morning view. This hotel is a bit hard to find. It is good to know that you have to go to the kiosk near the Old Town gate to get a special card in order to enter the Old Town with your car. Once inside it is good to call the hotel. Someone will basically guide you to a spot to leave your car. then proceed with your luggage to the entrance of the hotel. Since this hotel is smaller (7 rooms), the service you get is very personal. The location is great (once you find it) and close to everything..

Room Tip: /Room 43 has a great harbor view with three large windows. The bathroom is large and modern, with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    17
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We loved the Villa Tuttorotto and it was just perfect for exploring the Istra area of Croatia. We had originally booked just 2 nights and then added 2 more because we loved Rovinj so much and a great deal of our happiness was because of our choice of Villa Tuttorotto. It is located in the old town of Rovinj surrounded by cobblestone streets and a step back in time. But inside, the Villa has all of the amenities of a modern great hotel. You must drop your luggage and then park the car on the outside of the town as the area is located in a pedestrian zone. The staff was excellent offering many suggestions for restaurants, beautiful drives through Istra including some tiny villages to visit that are off the beaten path. The breakfast was wonderful and the staff very warm. There is a lovely wine bar just in front of the Villa which is a nice way to end each evening and plenty of great restaurants nearby. The only caution would be to think twice about visiting in July and August as it is the height of tourist season and very, very crowded. And then in winter, it sounded like most everything closes up until March or so. When we were there in October, the streets were pleasantly empty and the weather still really quite good though cool. We took a gazillion photos of Rovinj and it was one of our favorite places during our 5 week trip.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms to choose from. The room we had was called the "suite" and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very nice, small and cozy hotel in the heart of Rovinj, very-well located, although at first might be a bit difficult to find - but hotel e-mailed us clear instructions how to find it. There are only 7 rooms in it, we stayed at the top floor, room 43, with very nice sea view. Rooms are well kept, tidy, spacious and comfortable. The atmosphere in the hotel is so pleasant and homey, that you can't help but falling in love with it. It has a somewhat personal touch and feel. The villa has antique furniture pieces, each room is different from another. We had a lovely breakfast on a small terrace overlooking the harbor. The staff is very attentive and friendly. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay in the hotel and would really recommend it!
There are some minor things that did not bother us very much, but maybe for some travelers it might matter: the lift in the hotel is used for disabled people or when staff takes the luggage upstairs. And it goes only up to the 3rd floor (there are 4 floors in villa). When we were leaving, we had to carry the luggage down from top floor - could not ask the staff to help, as there are only 2 young ladies working there, and the suitcases were quite heavy! So be prepared for that. Next thing - the bed was big but as it is old, it was squeaking when you turn on it;). And last - the wifi didn't work in our room (maybe it's an iPad issue, not really a connection one), so we had to go downstairs to the hotel living room to connect - but since the living room was very nice, it wasn't a big trouble;). Anyway, I'd say that since the hotel is really very nice, you don't really get upset with such things.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Once you find Villa Tuttorotto you will be thrilled. This is a nice smaller hotel and you get that personal service because of that. The location is good, an easy walk to everything. The breakfast was decent and they have a few tables on the outside patio where you can sit. Villa Tuttorotto was once a private home and it has that special feeling, very warm and inviting. The girl (Kristina?) that worked the front desk could not have been more helpful. Our stay at Villa Tuttorotto was much too short and Roving was one of our favorite places in Croatia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

It's a little difficult to find, let's get that out of the way, but it's very much worth it. A fantastic, quality hotel which is a real surprise. From the outside it doesn't appear to be much the interior is fantastic, we stayed in the suite on the third floor, nothing more than excellent. The staff were very helpful, enthusiastic and attentive. A real surprise and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The suite was one of the best rooms we have stayed in recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We spent 3 great nights in this extremely quiet sanctuary in the center of Old Town. It was an easy walk around the entire city. Could not have been better. The staff was tremendously helpful from the time we booked 4 months ago until we left. Since we left very early for Venice they even presented us with a picnic lunch the night before for our trip on the water taxi to Venice.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Rovinj waterfront is very touristy (mostly Croatian and German families, it seems). The hotel is tucked away in a corner (use the Balbi Arch as your guidepost, and you'll be fine). Villa Tuttorotto is a 500 year old, 5 story house with 7 guest rooms. We were on the top floor in a small but comfortable room.

The staff is amazing and helpful. Breakfast is generous. Service (housekeeping) is impeccable.

Make sure you walk up Montalbano Street to the church - it's a great little walk.

Some things to be aware of:

- if you're on the top floor, the attic rooms are not on the central air conditioning, so it's important that your a/c unit works (we lived for two days without air conditioning in July, but the staff was so nice about it that I'm not reducing a star)
- in the evenings, the restaurant below the hotel on the harborside sometimes has a strong fish smell, so be aware of this if you want to open the windows
- the Valdibora parking lot is a little bit of a hike, and it's a public parking lot (initially your impression through the website might be that it's a private lot). Ask for the parking rates and factor that into whether you'll be renting a car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Tuttorotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tuttorotto

Address: Dvor Massatto 4, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 hotels in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tuttorotto 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere and Escapio so you can book your Villa Tuttorotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Tuttorotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.