We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different but nice....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amarin Studio and Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amarin Studio and Apartments to your Saves list
Amarin Studio and Apartments
Monsena 2, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Westport, Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Different but nice....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I was apprehensive about booking Amarin, purely because there wasnt alot of reviews about the place and it seemed that not many Irish travelled and stayed there. But we booked (family 2 adults, 2 teenagers and baby) for 1 week, premium apartment which sleeps 6 adults. The apartment was very nice, perfect for our group but I wouldnt fancy 6 staying there, as 2 have to sleep on a pull out couch in the sitting room. 2 bed upstairs, lots of storage and bathroom with bath/shower. Small kitchen open plan living downstairs with small loo, adequete for what we needed. Very small area outside, just enough for sitting to eat. It was shaded most of the day so you couldnt sit in the sun there. There was no garden area as such, just some shrubs, small tree but no grass. Overall the apartment was fine, towels were changes regularly also. Kids playground was good, near apartments which was handy.
Amarin itself is a huge campsite, with apartments next door. Beside the pool area is a 2 floor restaurant, we ate in the downstairs place twice and food was very poor, staff were very unfriendly, almost like it was a big deal or hassle serving you, not friendly at all. Pools were so so busy every day (early June) that we never bothered swimming there but because we were beside the beach it didnt bother us. The beach however is stony/ shingly, actually not as bad as I was expecting, theres a lot to be said for not having sandy towels! Tip: buy a padded mat which folds up, can be bought in any of the shops around, makes lying out easier! The sea was FANTASTIC! best snorkelling ever, we spent best part of the week in the water! It was like swimming in a fish tank with all the different type of of fish, brilliant!
Almost every night we went into town to eat. Rovinj is beautiful, just loved wandering the streets, beautiful crafts, art, etc. Peppled streets not great for buggy but you just have to get on with it! The restaurants along the marina are expensive but the more you go into the town, down side streets the nicer they got and less expensive. Couple of niggles: they dont do highchairs! very few restaurants have them and I found this very frustrating, they are not equipped for babies and not very child friendly. They wont do half portions (only 2 did all week) and charge you adult portion for a baby dinner, ridiculous! Food slightly less expensive than Ireland and drinks more or less the same. Local beer and wine were very nice.
We got the water taxi a few nights, this was really nice, fab view of Rovinj as you approach, well worth it. Parking was fine for us at night June time so maybe different in peak summer, and you can walk easily from car park.
We hired a car and travelled along the coast for a day taking in different beaches but i have to say beach at amarin was the best. Lots of nuddies on beaches in quieter areas, the done thing seemingly over there!
Staff at amarin were not very friendly, there was no 'your welcome' when we arrived, just check in and heres your key, they could make more of an effort greeting people. its clear you are just another number staying there. they have onsite facilities, supermarket (very expensive) lovely fresh fruit stall, fresh bakery (5 min walk outside amarin), basketball/tennis which you pay for and bike hire. If i was going back i would like to find somewhere quieter, amarin was too big, somewhere with a more personal touch would be nicer. There is a nice restaurant next door, small & quaint, but no english menu so very hard to understand what was on it, we ended up having steak , which was really good but were hoping to try something more croatian but didnt understand the menu! Overall, Amarin is expensive for what you get, you do need a car, beach is brilliant, pool too busy, not the place if looking for peace and quiet, but weather was great, we had a lovely time in Croatia and we will be back!
p.s. if renting a car, rent from sixt at pula airport, guy there (bald/glasses) was so friendly and helpful, nicest person we met all week!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Amarin Studio and Apartments, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Katmartyn,

Thank you for such an extensive review following your stay in Amarin apartments, we appreciate that you took the time to share your impressions of our resort and of Rovinj as a destination. As you have noticed yourself, not a lot was written about our recently renovated apartments so your review besides being very helpful in identifying areas for improvements for our management team, will come as a great insight for all our future guests and travelers of Tripadvisor community.
I was sorry to read that the overall impression of our staff was so disappointing and I would like to apologize for not being able to meet the expected level of service in our restaurant. Your comment was duly noted and passed on to our Food and Beverage team for further consideration.
If you are seeking for more intimacy and a more personalized approach, I would like to point out that our company Maistra has several other accommodation options in Rovinj which we could present you in case you decide to visit us again. Our reservation team can be reached on info@maistra.hr for further information.
Thank you once again for being our guest, we hope your travels bring you back to Rovinj again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    16
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were there with 6 friends. It was nice, but.... First they really give the better apartments for westerners and give worse for people from Central or East Europe, however we pay the same money! The rooms were nice, beach is beautiful. The restaurant is bad and overpriced, better eat in the city, if you can. At the time of checkout there was a huge queue at lobby and AC was not working. They definitely need some process management to speed the things up.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Amarin Studio and Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear TomTraveller975,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Amarin apartments and for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. Before I go any further I would like to point out that all our guest are equally valuable to us and if you were under the impression that you were not treated with the same level of attentiveness and respect as some other guests, than I deeply apologize as this is not acceptable and for sure does not reflect our standards. We appreciate all feedback - negative or positive, as it help us identify areas requiring improvement as well as provides assurance on the things we do well.
We try to keep our Reception organized and efficient but the large number of arrivals and departures on some occasions can create great pressure and we apologize if that caused any inconveniences.
However, I am happy to read that you liked our rooms and the beach within the resort and hope you will consider us for another holiday in Rovinj.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Hi everyone,

when I found this resort on internet, it looked really amazing! But the reality is a "little bit" different. Although we live in Slovakia (Eastern Europe), we would appreciate better service and accommodation for that price. Some things were good, some not - reviews of 5 adults:

+ the new villa was nice (but for 5 persons with limited space on the ground floor)
+ nice terrace
+ one bathroom with toilet and 1 toilet plus appreciated
+ dishwasher
+ air conditioning
+ parking nearby villa
+ nice seaview

- beach and pool were always too crowded
- beach and seaside with huge stones
- water in pool was too cold and swimming was allowed only till 18:00 h
- cleaning and room service only once a week!
- dustbin and/or bags were missing at all
- we have tried some other beaches in the area of 20-30 kilometres, but with no luck on good one (broken glass and bottles in water, on the beach, etc.).

Compared to Umag's Stella Maris resort is the Amarin resort less attractive. But honestly, this was the last holiday in Croatia after 4 years. It is not worth the money! :)

Cheers,

Daniela

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Amarin Studio and Apartments, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear DanielaSlovakia,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Amarin Studio and Apartments following your recent stay. We are sorry to read that this was your last holiday in Croatia and that you found our rates not competitive enough. The apartment you stayed at was completely renovated last year and is a result of a big investment project involving architects from 3LHD – a studio that received many Croatian and international awards for their exceptional work. We are glad that you have recognized some of the benefits of this recent renovation but have to say that we are a bit disappointed with the fact that we were not able to meet all of your expectations.
We hope you change your mind and decide to visit us again, we will do our best to regain your trust.
Warm regards from Amarin team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Dont take me wrong,they have beautiful beach and I LOVE city but its..lets say rasist when people from uk,germany etc gets new apartmants and people from Slovakia,Russia,Slovenia etc get old one and they dont even see problem with that when you mention that.Im living in uk 2years so I paid exactly same money as other travellers and I didnt got same value.Which is shame...

However I just love Croatia and Rovinj I been there 3 times already,and its just beautiful city.About hotel,if you have bad luck and got old one than you must be ready for mini size bedroom and not very nice bathroom which was basic (old) but clean.We got 2 single beds so me and my bf..well we were there like on school trip :D We had half board which was fine,breakfast was great a lot of different cold meat,cheese,vegetables,bread and brad rolls etc...for dinner as well very nice mains and desserts...all buffet-style.In old town of Rovinj is a lot of lovely restaurant and ice-cream shops with best ice-cream I ever ate.

Room Tip: Dont take old apartmants..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's been my second stay at Amarin. This time I purposefully booked it for a week stay with my significant other in Istrian region of Croatia, despite (as it turned out later) its 500km distance from the Split airport. What can I say, it is worth a drive along the newly built highways framed with colorful nature landscape: mountains, sea, forests, towns.

For the last two years since my first stay Amarin did an amazing job renovating its facilities! Personally could see that they care for the guests' feedback.

At the reception I've mentioned the great job they've done since my last stay. And you know what, we've been immediately offered a free upgrade from a studio for 3 people to an amazing apartment for 4 people. These guys know how to promote the best & tasty to their loyal guests.

The apartment included a spacious hallway (at least 10 steps up), a dining area, a kitchen with all the facilities (incl. refrigerator and stove) and kitchenware, a living room with a TV, a spacious bedroom with a wardrobe and a TV. You can exit to the terrаce from either a bedroom or kitchen. There's also a dining table and chase long chairs on the terrace allowing you to enjoy your morning coffee and admire the sea view, morning sun or beautiful sunset from the balcony.

We've been offered a pile of fresh towels that were changed several times throughout the week.

There are several restaurants on the hotel territory working till late. The main one offers decent variety of dishes available as either à la carte or buffet.

Totally loved the view on the sea and pools from the restaurant balcony!

The abscence of guest entertainment in October allows you to enjoy things at your own pace. Yet there are sport facilities available for rent all day long: two tennis courts and rackets, kayaks, bicycles, mini-golf etc.

A bus can take you to the nearest old town of Rovinj which attracts tourists with its architecture, selection of shops, restaurants and cafes.

In case you fly to Split like us and are looking for options to get to Amarin, I can recommend to rent a car (we went for lastminutecarrentals located outside of the airport) at the company with an office in Rovinj, then you can also use the car driving from Amarin to the national parks and the nearby town.

Hope you'll enjoy your stay as much as we did!

P.s. We've been longing for a sauna or a steam bath on a very rainy day during our stay. That's a suggestion for Amarin to consider ;)

Room Tip: Renovated apartment on the 2nd floor with a sea view (no. 8 in the yellow block)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed in the appartments 15th to 22nd September with my wife, daughter and daughter's boyfriend. We arrived just after the conclusion of the Unknown Music festival so there were hundreds of festival goers checking out. As we were early (about 13:00pm) we could not check in as this was from 15:00 pm onwards so we decided to leave our bags at Reception and head off to the restaurant for some lunch. This proved more difficult than we thought, the buffet type lunch was not available because that side of the restaurant hand just closed, when we went into the a la carte restaurant and tried to order a drink and food we were told that we had to join a queue of people who were paying at a till at the end of the bar. By this time I was p*****d off said something like this is b****cks and stormed out of the restaurant followed by the other members of my party. We then caught the shuttle bus into Rovinj and had pizzas and drinks, by which time I had calmed down!! We returned to Amarin by taxi and checked in. The appartments were well equipped and clean so I was now warming to the place even though there was quite a lot of debris and rubbish strewn around the complex due to the music festival, pretty much like festivals the world over really. However after a few days the clean up teams had done a remarkable job in transforming the place and we were just unlucky in that we chose to stay the week after the festival. It is unfair to judge on the basis of what we encountered and I am sure that under normal circumstances it would be a very nice place to stay, once things had been tidied up and the remnants of the festival had disappeared it was a very enjoyable holiday. We did not eat in the a la carte restaurant until the Friday night as we had hired a car for 3 days and ate in Rovinj or our appartments. The meal we had was terrible and the service was not very good either and it was poor value for money compared to meals we had in Rovinj. We didn't pay a lot for the holiday about £1100 for 4 including flights and transfers so we cannot really complain too much. We had a problem with the wash hand basin plug mechanism which I reported to Reception, I was told that someone would attend straight away and within 10 minutes of reporting the fault the maintenance engineer came to the appartment and repaired the mechanism so that service was excellent!! We would return, but obviously at a different time than our recent stay, most likely June/July.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed in the 3* apartments whilst attending Unknown Festival. It was very much worth it as there were biblical storms several times over the week!
Everything you need is there - cooker, fridge, microwave, plates etc and staff were bang on it with any problems and very efficient.
Ideally placed for also looking round Rovinj - very beautiful place indeed, and enjoyed our stay immensely

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amarin Studio and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarin Studio and Apartments

Address: Monsena 2, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascading gently towards the rocky beaches and the turquoise sea, the Amarin Resort offers the privacy of your own home with a great view of the Old Town in lush nature just minutes away from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Amarin Studio and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarin Studio And Apartments Hotel Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amarin Studio and Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.