We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior

Save Saved
You added Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rabac bb, Rabac 52221, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Rabac
Barnet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Everything about the hotel was excellent - fantastic buffet food, warm and welcoming staff, great spa and pool and is in a really good location.

The only thing I would point out is that bedrooms differ greatly from room to room.

My room was comfortable, but had seen better days...

- The air-conditioner was ineffective and did not cool the room down.

- Furnishings were old and had knocks.

- Chairs were comfortable, but were old judging by the quality of the material.

- "Bath"/Shower was very odd. Instead of a full size shower or a bath, the "bath" was basically a raised seat inside the cubicle! It was also much higher than a regular bath, so getting in and out was a mission! I had to hold onto the towel rail to make sure I didn't slip - not very satisfactory.

- Some rooms, like mine, with a "sea view" offered great views of pine trees and if you lead out, you could see the Adriatic on one side and lean out even further and you could see part of the bay.

Other than the niggles with the room, I had a great stay.

To be fair, the hotel is actually due to be renovated next year, so that will be great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comment and for staying in Valamar Sanfior Hotel.
I am glad you found everything satisfactory end we are looking forward to hosting you in the future.
Lot of regards,
Karmela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    70
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
49
84
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here for four days, looking for a quiet relaxing break on my own. I think it's really important when you travel alone that the hotel is welcoming and treats you as well as couples or guests, and I certainly found this.
I would struggle to find fault with this place. Yes the bath is a little small, and the pillows thin, but you also have the option of choosing from a range of pillows. The rooms are modern, comfortable, and double glazed. Pool is clean, and stunnning with plenty of loungers (indoor and outdoor). Breakfast was amazing. I chose to eat at local restaurants rather than in the hotel, because I just prefer the experience, but there seemed to be a great variety of food on offer at dinner.
Service, everywhere from the restaurant to the bar to reception was very friendly.
The resort felt a little dated actually, but that was part of it's charm - it hasn't yet become pretentious or too sophisticated - just a simple place by the sea.
I had a wonderful break and would probably choose a Valamar for any other future trip to Croatia based on this experience.
I hear the hotel is being renovated in 2013, which is a shame, as I thought it quite perfect as it is!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and are very proud you have awarded us top marks in your review. Your kind words encourage us to keep on providing the best possible services to our guests and we hope to be able to extend our warm hospitality to you on some other occasion.
Yours sincerely
Karmela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsberg, Austria
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I've just stayed at this hotel for a long weekend away. I was rather sad to be leaving on the Sunday afternoon, which is always a good indication of a good stay. Situated right on the beach, this hotel looks to have been recently refurbished. The rooms are modern and comfortable although the pillows a bit thin. The half-bath/shower was somewhat odd, and I thought that the toilets with presentation trays were a thing of a by-gone era, but overall, the rooms were nice.
The hotel had an outdoor swimming pool, an indoor pool a spa and massage treatments. The bar area is nice although service could be a little more attentive. I loved the restaurant/breakfast hall. I took the half-board option with buffet breakfast and buffet dinner. It was really superb and the food was lovely and fresh. Chefs cook in front of you both at breakfast and dinner - so I can recommend the half-board option. The restaurant service was excellent and you can seemingly eat as much as you like. The wine choice is excellent and the local wine proved to be very good. The rocky beach with pebble shores is wonderful and the sea is crystal clear and inviting. perfect for swimming and snorkeling. A variety of outdoor activities is close by, such as boat trips, para-sailing etc. A variety of bars/restaurants are also on the sea front, just minutes walk from the hotel and the beach area. Beds can be hired for 30 kunar per day, or you can bring your own and sunbathe for free. Towels are provided by the hotel for free. There appears to be quite a lot of private parking too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Hello,

We chose this hotel after reading many reviews.
Our expectations were confirmed:

Staff very attentive and welcoming. I think that is a characteristic of the people of Croatia or in that area at least. I say this because even outside the hotel, street vendors are smiling, attentive, respectful.

Food always fresh and diverse - both breakfast and dinner.

Cleanliness is a common thing and very well done in this hotel (room, restaurant, swimming pool, etc).

Room enough for space, clean, stylish. I really appreciated the comfort of the bed - very restful and healthy body.
The only thing not so good was the air conditioning. Fortunately the temperature outside does not required to use the device.

We liked the hotel and the area! From the terrace and the swimming pools (indoor and outdoor), the view is wonderful. The beaches are small, clean. Sea water is incredibly clear, perfect for diving. Aquatic landscape is wonderful.

I also chose this hotel so that we could visit nearby historic sites (and others): Labin, Rovinj, Pula.
Are also organized day trips to other destinations further away: Plitvice, Venice, nearby islands, etc.. We chose Venice - was great for a day.

I recommend this hotel especially families. It is a very good choice!

Sebastian, Romania

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Very nice, close to the sea, excellent food (lot of choice). Excellent service. The rooms are ok, not very big but confortable and clean. Swimming pool just perfect for the children. Great SPA to get massages at a very good price. We loved it (family with 4 children). Excellent 10 days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Staff was friendly
Roomwas small (used to big rooms )
Cleaning personal was not good (never vacuumed)
Quality of food was avarage
Ammount of food was terrible
Accomodation arround the hotel and the location of the hotel was nice.
Rooms are verry silent wish was Exellent to be honest.
A.C. was giving heat instead of cold.
Bathrooms where clean
Didn't used the accomodations of the hotels
For young CouplesI suggest other hotels.

Its a good hotel if your on a road trip for for 2 weeks i cannot reccomend this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I'd like to thank you for choosing Valamar Sanfior as your holiday destination.I'd like to thank you to have shared your toughts and opinions on our property.
I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us.Your satisfaction is the goal we are trying to achieve and the reason for constant improvements regarding the quality of our services. I take this opportunity to invite you to visit us again next year to discover the news that we are preparing for 2013.
Best regards,
Karmela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Generally a pleasant and wonderful stay at Valemar Sanfior. Very good hotel, friendly staff, great location near the sea, and above all excellent food. The rooms are simple and without much additional equipment. Air conditioning worked poorly during our stay, there was still air and extremely hot in the room at night. Even though we told the front desk and asked that this was repaired or that we had other rooms, we achieved nothing but regrets that this was a general problem in the hotel .... just as if it would help us! We had expected us better follow-up by the hotel and felt that it destroyed much of oppholdet.The last nights we had to sleep with open windows, there were at least slightly better temperature, but a lot of noise from the neighboring hotel's music. Free wi-fi all over the hotel is great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmela_viskovic, Manager at Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Guests,
we would like to thank you for choosing Valamar Sanfior hotel. We are especially grateful for the time you have taken to give us a feedback. We appreciate your impressions regarding your stay in our facilities and we invite you next season to our new renovated hotel Valamar Sanfior ,
Best regards from Rabac,
Karmela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior

Address: Rabac bb, Rabac 52221, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rabac
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rabac
#1 Family Hotel in Rabac
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rabac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With contemporary charm and stunning seafront location, newly refurbished Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior represents a premium choice for your holiday, just minutes away from the centre of Rabac. Immersed in Mediterranean greenery, the hotel offers redesigned rooms with balconies while the Casa offers premium rooms ideal for families. The Casa area features a family activity pool, kids’ pools and animation programs at the Maro Club along with a wealth of outdoor activities. The hotel's wellness centre, indoor and outdoor pools and quiet patio provide the setting for a relaxing couples escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Escapio, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Sanfior Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Casa Valamar Sanfior, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.