We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short break to Rabac” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albona Hotel & Residence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Albona Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Albona Hotel & Residence
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rabac bb, Rabac 52221, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Rabac
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“short break to Rabac”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We went away for a few nights mid week, the 2nd floor apartment we stayed in was clean and tidy with good views to the sea, weekend entertainment was loud but finished quite early. The staff were very helpful and food served was of good quality. The beach was close by although a step climb back, ramps were provided alongside steps for wheelchair or pram users.

Room Tip: quite noisy from other holiday makers definately don't get a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, Manager at Albona Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Ms. Jane,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I thank you very much for staying in our hotel.Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations.We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Sincerely,
Patricia Golja
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    20
    4
    7
See reviews for
31
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schweinfurt, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Overall for the location and price (half board included) our family enjoyed our stay with the Albona hotel & residence. Our room was clean and our bed was comfortable. The room is somewhat dated but looks like they are updating. The food was decent, buffet style meals for breakfast and dinner. The hotel is not right on the beach, another Valamar hotel is directly in front of Albona, but the walk to many beautiful pebble beaches is only about 150meters away. I will mention that using a stroller for a baby was somewhat difficult in this area, as it is not on the main part of the beach walk way, my husband had to carry our stroller up and down quite a few stairs. My children enjoyed the salt water pool, the hot tub was smaller than expected, although it was sufficient when it wasn't filled with splashing children. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Overall this hotel was nice, we got an excellent deal and we enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet, sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, Manager at Albona Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Mrs Orchidsrpretty,

Thank you for your recent stay and for your your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate your kind comments and we are thrilled that you enjoyed all the great ammenities that make our hotel experience a great one.
We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely yours
Patricia Golja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just had 2 nights staying in the self catering apartments at the Albona. We were lucky to have a 2 bedroom apartment with small but adequate bathroom, and large lounge/diner/kitchen. We loved having 3 balconies which were all separate and offered privacy - being on the top floor meant no one could look over us which we appreciated. The bedrooms are quite compact but have great wardrobes for unpacking and fans were also readily supplied promptly by reception when requested. We also had the benefit of a sea view which we loved and we were at the opposite end of the building to the pool so it was peaceful. Our rooms were clean and towels were provided - they were quite hard and rough though and could do with some fabric conditioner?
Staff were all helpful and friendly both in the restaurant where we dined on the last night and the reception staff conversed readily in English - we seemed to be the only Scottish/British folk here as it is clearly very popular with Dutch, German, Italian families. The reception are is bright and airy and wifi is available but can be a bit temperamental ie works and then crashes but was fine for quick emailing. There is a large pool but we did not like it being salty so used it once and did not return - we also found that people "booked" sun loungers with their towels but were nowhere to be seen which is hugely frustrating but I guess happens in so many places.

There is a very steep hill to walk down to the very rocky/pebbly beach which is characteristic of this area. The sunbathing areas look in part a bit like a building site and as it is peak season, were mobbed as was the beach and the car-parking around the hotel - we opted to pay extra for private parking at the hotel which was worth it and meant the car was shaded.

Food at the restaurant was tasty but limited in choice and we had a long wait for a table. We stayed at the Valamar Fortuna Hotel in Porec last year and their restaurant had a much more extensive choice of buffet. It was also a surprise to see the childrens entertainers putting on their show in the bar area at the top of a flight of steps - meant we could not go and enjoy drinks in peace as this show went on for ages and was clearly suited to young children rather than our teenagers.

We would not choose to stay in Rabac again as it feels like a soul-less place that lacks character albeit the beach was good to enjoy as the water is clear and clean - be sure and get good shoes for going into the water though as it is pebbly. The resort is just a long long line of hotels and apartments and has no pleasant features to it at all. Nearby is Labin - a hilltop village, Rovinj is well worth visiting as is Porec and Pula. Wish this hotel could be replanted in a nicer part of Istria as its location was not to our taste.

We found the rooms to be clean but were perplexed as to why outside steps were carefully brushed of pine tree "leaves" but these were just brushed into the street rather than cleared away properly. similarly, the people brushing the outside paths and roads around the hotel were meticulous but did not remove the sweepings but instead brushed them under cars only for them to have to brush this all up again the next day. That seems soul destroying and pointless!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms on the top floor means that you have private balconies that are not overlooked. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, Manager at Albona Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Ms. Kathy
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I thank you very much for staying in our hotel. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations and that you didn't like our destination that much.
We hope you will visit us in some other Valamar property in another destination.
Best regards.
Patricia Golja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celje, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have visited the hotel for May holiday. First of all would like to comment the location of the hotel, which is it's advantage. The fact it is out of center we liked a lot, as promenade was not so crowded and it is closer to most beautiful little bays with emerald water. They are only 150 m from the hotel. The hotel belongs to Valamar chain, and would just agree, with what they say on their web site: Valamar represents a combination of international standard of quality service, Mediterranean gastronomic enjoyment and elements of Croatian hospitality. Which is all true: staff was really nice, smiling all the time and we felt really welcomed; HB was delicious, the self-service buffet is not too big, but everything they offer is really good; the hotel boasts nice pool with sundeck and small jacuzzi ...so all you need for a nice holiday. That's why we didn't bother too much, about the room, which we liked least. The entrance to bathroom was too close from the bed; when showering you wet all the floor, as the curtains were too short, and the room itself was really humid (I believe it it because after the winter we were the first guests). But as told before, we had so much fun outdoors, we didn't bother to change the room.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, Manager at Albona Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Tomaž and Nika,
on behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel and for your valuable feedback. We greatly appreciate your kind comments and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation in our hotel.
We are looking forward and will be very happy to host you again.
Sincerely.
Patricia Golja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked a special off-season price in September, and for that money we were really satisfied. Our appartment was quite big and it was clean. The breakfast was good. It was easy to park near the hotel. A dive center was just 3 minutes away so we had the chance to do some nice dives there. The free wifi at the reception didn't work all the time for us, but to check emails it was OK.

Room Tip: The rooms without a sea view on the ground floor has a balcony- under the level of the street... I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, Manager at Albona Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Mr.,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services. We are happy to hear that we’ve met your expectations.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.
Looking forward to meet you again
Sincerely yours
Patricia Golja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Although this is advertised as a family hotel, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with small children.
There were 4 adults and one baby in our apartment and it was definitely too small for us. We requested a baby bed when we booked it, but had to ask for it again when we arrived. The problem was that the apartment was too small to fit it in, so after moving some furniture, we squeezed it in the main bedroom, but couldn't close the door because of it. Why they offer baby beds if the rooms are too small for them remains a mystery to me.
Also, the apartment wasn't very clean when we arrived, the floors were dirty and the terrace was filthy, full of cobwebs and dirt - we had to scrub it properly before letting the baby move around.
The bathroom is the size of a closet and has no ventilation or windows.
There is no air-conditioning, so it was really hot in the afternoons.
However, the absolutely worst thing was that one evening, around 22.15, they decided to shoot fireworks from what seemed to be the centre of the hotel. The explosions went on for good 20 minutes and woke all the children in the hotel.

On the other hand, the beaches in Rabac are wonderful, so I still recommend it as a holiday destination. But choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms overlooking the pool, they're noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia G, Manager at Albona Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Mr./Ms,,
On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I thank you very much for staying in our hotel. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services, and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
Unfortunately, there was an omission from our part because receptionists did not notice the note for the cot in your reservation, and hereby we apologize for the situation. Receptionists, and the entire hotel staff always tries to meet all demands and wishes of our guests because we truly care to keep our customers happy. I am very sorry that we didin't manage to solve the problem during your stay at our hotel and that we didin't offer you a bigger apartment.
As for the fireworks, it was organized in the nearby Valamar Bellevue hotel - they have had a "Gala Dinner" with a special surprise for the guests - fireworks that lasts 3 minutes and usually starts in the period 22:15 to 22:30 hours. Guests are usually pleased and happy about fireworks and so far we have never had complaints.
I feel sorry we didn’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us.
Looking forward to meet you again.
Sincerely yours
Patricia Golja
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moerke
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I chose this hotel mainly because the have a fitness room, I work out a lot but is prepared to go into a lower gear when going on holiday. Unfortunately their equipment was in so bad a condition it was almost impossible to work out.
The rooms are badly sound isolated so you´ll hear everything, even the staff using a rake outside and traffic to/from hotel starts at about
0630, every morning, so no sleeping late.
The pool is very small, and not especially clean, and in spite of hotel policy being against people reserving pool chairs with towels, this still took place without anyone from staff noticing, so we went to the beach, which is very stony, every day.

I´ll never use this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albona Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albona Hotel & Residence

Address: Rabac bb, Rabac 52221, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rabac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albona Hotel & Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its colourful design and a string of white pebble beaches just few steps away, the 3 star Albona Hotel & Residence offers playful and comfortable family accommodation. Extensive list of available facilities which includes a show cooking restaurant, children's Maro Club and playground, diving centre outdoor saltwater pool and children's pool as well as fitness and massage studio will provide the right balance of activity and relaxation needed to recharge your batteries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albona Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albona Hotel And Residence
Albona Hotel Rabac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albona Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.