We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff set this apart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amfora

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amfora to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Amfora
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rabac bb, Rabac 52221, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Rabac
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Friendly staff set this apart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Whilst this hotel is quite simple in Character it benefits from a great location (just up the steep hill and the front of the Bay). Another plus is the Staff who go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one, They were very attentive and always friendly. The Rooms were a decent size with plenty of room for clothes, the rooms at the rear of the hotel benefit from geat views over the bay and have a nice balcony which is also quite private.

Room Tip: Great a room to the rear of the hotel for views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
7
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed here for two weeks during August with my partner. It is true what many have already stated that the hotel does look a little tired but as soon as you enter it is good. Marble floors and very clean. The dining room is large with an outside terrace.
There are two pools. One is small and the other a fair size. The larger pool is in the shade but we did not find this an issue and I do not understand why it receives so many negative comments when you are sunbathing in very hot weather. it was a lovely chance to cool off!
We stayed half board. The food was good overall. I would say that the continental style breakfast was nicer that the hot food served and on an evening there was plenty of choice. There was a lot of fish served (especially on a Friday) so if you are not a fish lover this could be a small problem.
Our room was on the second floor. It had a fantastic view of the sea and a large balcony. The room was large and the bathroom was well fitted with a bath and a shower. Included in the price was Air conditioning, this was a treat and well needed for the heatwave!
The area of Rabac itself is a small harbour town. The large beach to the left of the hotel is a steady 10 minute walk. The sea is warm and lots of fish if you enjoy snorkelling. There is a chance to play crazy golf just behind the beach too which is fun! We did some excursions including the fish picnic, Venice and the Istria tour (which goes to Rovinj and Porec, as well as lunch with wine). Would highly recommend all. Labin is a simple bus journey (bus stop two minutes from the hotel) away and has a few tourist attractions such as the town museum and bell tower.
On a night the town has plenty of bars (Perla/Movie bar) that do cheap cocktails and beers. We ate at Lino and Nostromo. Both were ok but not outstanding. I would recommend Robinsons bar that is a 5 minute walk from the beach. This does cheap food of good quality. The only downside of the resort were the many touristy/tacky gift shops! They mainly came alive at night and it would look so much nicer without these! Ice cream from Pingo is a treat at 6 kuna (approx 60p) for "one scoop" which is huge!
I would certainly return to Hotel Amfora if visiting the resort again. The service, price, location, food and rooms were very good and the trip and activities available are suitable for all ages.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room, especially on the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel is a real find. Its exterior (and interior to an extent) is quite dated and the immediate area around it could be described the same way however everything else more than makes up for it.

The staff are amazing - best customer service I've ever experienced.

The hotel is spotless and cleanliness is clearly high on their priorities.

The buffet food changes every evening and caters for everyone.

Rabac is a beautiful bustling little bay with clear waters and tree topped hills. I will definitetly return!!

Room Tip: Chose a room with a sea view - well worth the litle bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

A relaxing week in a lovely area. We stayed here during July 2012, the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was spotless, cleaned daily, towels changed daily and bedding changed mid-week. The food was good, buffett style but lots of choice for breakfast and dinner. The sea is 2 minutes away and the resort has lots of small bars and shops. The beaches are pebbly and so you need the shoes to get into the sea but the sea is clear and warm. The onlynegative was the hotel pool which was under a balcony and so never got warm. I have never seen a hotel pool unused for the week before, it was a real shame as there was more than enough space to have a pool in the sun. We ventured to the beach for a swim instead!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view as we were at the back and it was a bit dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Amfora for our honeymoon in July 2012. The hotel is lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. On our arrival we had a bottle of wine, on ice, in the room which was a lovely touch they had laid on for us. Our room was on the top floor (only 2 floors in total) and we had a balcony with a sea view. The views are AMAZING! The hotel facilities are basic, but we didn't need anything more. There is a very short walk down the hill to a little pebbled bay and you can walk in either direction for miles (the larger hotels are to the right, so it is a more pleasant and interesting walk along the promenade with lots of shops, restaurants and small bars, to the left). There is also a bus stop just across the road (through the tunnel under the road) where you can catch regular buses to the lovely town of Labin (the old part is amazingly picturesque) and you can either get the bus back again, or take a walk through the hills back down (about 45 mins from top to bottom). We had a very long day trip and the hotel provided us with a packed breakfast and when we arrived back in the evening, there was a cold meal with plenty of salads and fruits waiting for us in our room! The food is quite bland, but this seems to be the case in most of the restaurants around, but there is loads of choice at breakfast (cooked and cold foods) and evening meal times. I can't fault this hotel and it is certainly value for money with a lovely personal touch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Soth Wales
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Although we did not stay here i thought i might mention the help and concern we received from the receptionist of the Amfora when a car hit ours which was parked outside the Hotel she rang and spoke to the police and communicated with us about the time the police would come and offered us drinks while we waited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redruth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

this was a lovely friendly hotel food was good and varied andthe hotel is very clean we had sea view it was lovely sea was nice to go in and lovely walks everything you needed was on hand in this tiny resort if you want night life and sandy beaches then this is not for you but if you want quiet peaceful holiday to relax then this is the place beautiful scenery all a round

Room Tip: sea view are the ones to go for
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amfora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amfora

Address: Rabac bb, Rabac 52221, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rabac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Rabac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amfora 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Amfora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Rabac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amfora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.