We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in Croatia” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna Materada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laguna Materada to your Saves list
Hotel Laguna Materada
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spadici, Porec 52440, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Porec
Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in Croatia”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed with a couple of friends at the end of July.

The hotel is located nicely on the beach - BUT
Both rooms were terrible, poorly furnished, our air condition system did not work.
The phone did not work either. We were moved to another room, where the toilet was broken and were told that this is what they have. Food was terrible and the service was even worse.

It was by far the worst hotel among ten that we stayed in Croatia and one of the worse we ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Owner- Plava Laguna Management at Hotel Laguna Materada, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Dear Customer,

We take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to spend your holidays with us and for writing your feedback about Hotel Laguna Materada. We would like to apologize for those services in which we could not meet your expectations; you may be assured that these important comments will be taken into account and will help us to keep improving our services. Therefore, if you wish to visit us again in Hotel Materada or in any other Hotel from Plava Laguna that better suits your needs, we will try our best to make your future stay a pleasant one.
Sincerely,
Plava Laguna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    43
    6
    9
    3
See reviews for
49
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2008

Hotel is clean and spacious. Rooms not large but adequate. Hotel and surroundings are well maintained and attractive. Food is plentiful and varied.
Staff are pleasant but main clientèle is German so hotel set up for them in terms of communication, newspapers, etc. Also need to be early to grab a sunbed!!

Nearest town of Porec is a 30 min. walk but there are restaurants, shops nearer. There are occasional buses and tourist train.

  • Liked — Atrractive setting
  • Disliked — Little bit out of town
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

Laguna Materada is a good hotel with lovely area, food, rooms. The service was not exсellent but fine. There were no animation show, but every night we could enjoy alive music in the hotel bar or walk to Porec (about 35 minutes).
The only problem of this hotel is that nothing is suited for traveling with baby in a carriage. Stairs and rotating doors made us exhausted...
Still we loved our trip and stay in Laguna Materada!

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

Great hotel for its money and one of the best in its class, awesome to stay at unless you expect Ritz or Hilton of course.
I checked the hotel website and looked through lots of reviews before going so we knew what to expect and there was no unpleasant surprises. What I liked best is that
a) it's quite cheap in comparison with other 4* hotels
b) The location is great in my mind: it's situated in a quiet green zone at the very end of the hotel line, so I guess it's the last hotel to the right of Porec. This is an advantage if you like me are looking for a beautiful place to relax, take long walks and enjoy the scenery but it can be a weak point if you're want to have fun partying and would like to go out every night, in this case you better book a more central hotel. It's half an hour walk to Porec but there's a small open train going there from a spot near another hotel that is 10 min walk.
If you go in the direction of Porec there are lots of pretty nice caffees on the beach so no need to look for ages for a place to have a snack at.
To the other side of the hotel there's a public beach (only visited by a few locals on Sundays) in a very green territory, if you walk furthere there's a small picturesque village whith appartments to hire, there are also numerous gardens with beautifuk flowers & all.
c) The hotel is at the very seaside so it's 1 minutes walk from the hotel, basically you go out of it and here's the beach. Other hotels we saw were at least 10 minutes walk from the beach, sometimes you have to cross the road or climb a steep hill when going back to the hotel.
d) Food was fine, the weak point is that the prices for drinks at dinner were too high and some catering staff weren't too friendly.
Reception ladies were very nice and seemed to speak at least a douzen of languages, I saw them fluently speak German, French, Russian, Italian, etc.
The beach is basically a stone platform with a ladder which isn't too good for children, but it's cool that you can sunbathe in the shadow on the trees on the green grass, we liked this point.
No sand though, as almost everywhere in Croatia.
All in all, I would recommend this hotel for those who don't expect too much for an average sum of money and who'd like to relax, have proper rest and enjoy the great sights, it's a quiet green place.

  • Liked — Location, sea, green territory
  • Disliked — price for drinks
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

The hotel is rated as 3 stars property, family oriented, near the beach. The 3 stars are correct if you consider the rooms (very small but adequate, clean, sat tv, air conditioning) but not the bathrooms. I have never ever seen such a poor state of bathrooms in a 3 star property- everything is functional but visibly old, in part broken and with very visible traces of some attempts to repair things, looks auful. On the more positive side, other parts of the hotel are new and improved, food is excellent in quality and variety. However, negative points are: (1) the hotel has a very very small pool with about 30 sunbeds and it is impossible to get a spot, therefore you have to rent extra at the beach, (2) this hotel advertises as a family frendly property but the beach is not suitable for children at all. Namely, you can get into the water only by using a ladder or jumping into deep water which is suitable only for good adult swimmers, (3) the hotel is very far from Poreč (about an hour walk, not to be recommended in the summer) therefore you need a car if you want to go anywhere, (4) hotel staff is usually very nice except at the reception where they provide minimum curtesy (sometimes) and seem uninterested in the guests and their jobs (you feel as if they consider their job to be something they are doing to pass the time before inventing a new form of energy or something, talking to them is not a pleasant experience at all), (4) they charge 1 euro for guarded parking but the parking lot was not guarded early in the morning (checked for 3 days)- false advertising. If you travel with small children, I recommend the children animation team (free of charge).
In conclusion, the stay was ok but not exceptional, the beach is a real problem if you travel with small kids or are not a very good swimmer, bathrooms are in need of urgent renovation. My family and me will not be returning, there are so many beautiful hotels in Poreč and Croatia and there is no need to waist your time at Laguna Materada. I hope this helps.

  • Liked — good food
  • Disliked — bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

We stayed at the Laguna Materada in August 2006.

It's a pretty standard hotel. The room was basic but clean. The food was all right, there was quite a lot of variety. The pool is quite small so it's difficult to get a sunbed there. We ended up hiring sunbeds at the beach, 100m away. The staff were friendly and helpful. The beach is rocky and if you want to swim I would highly recommend getting some 'aqua shoes' when you get there.

There are various watersports at the beach including pedalos and jetskis. There's mini golf, volleyball and tennis next to the hotel. There is entertainment most nights at the hotel, although none of it is that great.

The hotel has a useful shop, and a company that books day trips. We booked a few trips through them and they were very good. The best was the Istria tour, which went to Pula and Groznjan, with lunch in rural Istria. Pula is nice enough although once you've seen the amphitheatre everyhing else is a little disappointing. Groznjan is a village of artists in the hills and is absolutely amazing.

The location of the hotel was ok, not brilliant though. It's about a 40 minute walk from Porec, although in the summer that's not advised. Your best bet is to walk to the nearest tourist train stop (about 15-20 mins away) and get the train (it's actually a little bus) to the town. The town of Porec is lovely and well worth a couple of visits to eat at a few of the great restaurants there.

All in all the Laguna Materada is nice enough if you just want to relax and see a few sights. It's not amazing but certainly not a disappointment.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laguna Materada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Materada

Address: Spadici, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#6 Family Hotel in Porec
#9 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna Materada 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Hotel Laguna Materada offers superb accommodation on a comfortable 3-star hotel whose amenities actually compare to a 4-star experience for the whole family, while its view is beyond 5 stars! Every single corner of this hotel is cozy, and a wide range of advantages offered by the "family friendly" category shall cater to the needs of each family member. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laguna Materada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Materada Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna Materada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.