We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna Mediteran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laguna Mediteran to your Saves list
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plava Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Porec
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I recently returned from a 11 night holiday at The Hotel Mediteran.
We had a fantastic holiday and found this hotel met our expectations in every way. We had a lovely room with a balcony and sea view. The room was spotlessly clean and the cleaners were very friendly and did a very good job with regular linen changes.
All the staff at the hotel were very friendly, service at the reception desk was exceptional.
The food was excellent with very good variety to suit all tastes. At dinner all drinks including beer and wines were free of charges. At breakfast there was champagne (or probably Cava) freely available.
The evening entertainment was varied and excellent.
The only little minus point was the number of steps in the hotel itself. There were of course lifts to the bedrooms but still a number of steps in the hotel from the lifts down to reception and further steps down to bar and lounge and more down to the restaurant.

All in all the holiday was excellent, this was our third visit to Croatia and we will definitely return.

Come and enjoy!

Room Tip: We were in room 152 on the first floor. All the rooms on this floor with even numbers benefit from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your lovely review about your stay at our Hotel Mediteran. It is extremely satisfying to get to know our desk personnel and cleaning ladies were helpful and efficient as well as our food and drinks offer and night entertainment.
We are awaiting your fourth visit and send our best regards until then.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    129
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
81
174
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visited this hotel for a long weekend, joining friends who had booked a package holiday for a week. The hotel is immaculate, everywhere was spotlessly clean due to the large amounts of cleaners patrolling the hotel and grounds at the crack of dawn.
We had booked a sea-side room with balcony and it was just what we wanted, with all the basic comforts required. The towels were changed daily, fridge's are available on request, though we didn't bother with this, and the air conditioning in the room was a god-send.
The bar area is very relaxing, though a couple of the bar staff a little slow. Our favourite barman, Dino was attentive and helpful at all times, and was always smiling.
The salt water swimming pool was very cold, but refreshing in the hot sun. The aqua aerobic sessions were great fun.
Food was varied and plentiful, if a little canteen style, but what options do they have with so many guests?
We noted a previous comment about watching the sunset at Jedro's bar, which we did, and it was spectacular - do see this for yourself, the bar is only a short walk around the headland.
We also walked into the town one evening and hired a water taxi for the journey home at the reasonable cost of 20kn (approx. £2.50) each, which was great fun.
We can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing our Hotel Mediteran as your holiday structure and especially for reviewing and advising it here on Tripadvisor. It is our pleasure to get to know our services like the cleanliness, food and drinks offer (Dino will be informed about his good performance) and hotel’s location were up to your expectations and standards and they helped you to spend a pleasant holiday time within our facility.
Looking forward to your next visit we send our best regards.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

As a lone parent of 10 and 13 yr old boys I have to say that our experience staying in this hotel was fab. Pool- clean, not over crowded, could always find sun loungers and parasols. Once we got used to the pools salt water spent most time messing about in it.
Our room was good,modern and basic and very clean- looked exactly like the ones in hotel guide. We had balcony over looking the pool, view to the sea through the trees- good for sunsets.
My boys too old for activities put on but looked like everyone enjoyed them. Our room was directly above area where the evening activities/ entertainment took place, noise did not bother us at all. With balcony door shut could barely hear it.
Food- much as you would expect with self service.Lots of choices really. We had two nights of mainly fish dishes-Friday as it is a Catholic country and Monday nights themed 'Fishermans' night. Tried a few new dishes- Scorpion fish- tasty. Weird whitebait -not so keen. Boys found plenty of things to their taste. We did eat out in Porec a couple times & food to a high standard in our randomly chosen restaurants.
Most positive highlights of the Hotel- so good to be able to drink the tap water, no mossies to speak of( I normally get attacked and driven mad by them), very hot but gentle sea breeze and lovely shaded areas to chill out in.Beds comfortable, lovely soft sheets!Bathroom modern and immaculate.
My teenager became unwell during the stay with acute tonsillitis. Steve the Thompson rep and Hotel staff were great, sorted out a taxi to clinic and for the driver to stay with us & taking us to pharmacy etc so fantastic service- Thank you so much:-)

Hotel Mediteran- did exactly what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear guest,
What a lovely review about our Hotel Mediteran! We are very glad to get to know our services satisfied your expectations and you manage to enjoy your holiday time spent at our structure. We are especailly glad to hear our hotel personnel (with the Thompson rep) was helpful whilst you encountered health problems with your son.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights at end on June 2013 at the Mediteran.

Here's our verdict:

1. Hotel:

Reception.
Staff very efficient and courteous. Gave us a room change on second morning, no fuss.

Room:
A bit on the small side. Inadequate shelving in wardrobes.
Safe hire 2 euros per day.
No fridge.
Rooms facing pool have best views.
Immaculately clean. Towels changed daily if required.
Aircon kept us comfy.
.
Dining room.
Reminded us of a canteen. Disappointed.

Food.
Very much rural-style Croatian and lots of it. Little effort on presentation.
Chicken and pork lovers, like myself, will be happy. But if you like your food hot then you'll be disappointed. Carved from the bone on one night only and that was cold,as well.
Can't recall seeing any beef dishes and, surprisingly, considering the sea is on the doorstep any prawn/shrimp dishes
At dinner, wine, beer and juices are included in your package. Didn't see many over indulging, though.

Clientele:
As far as I could make out mainly Eastern European and Russian. Rest were the usual mix.
All very pleasant. No rowdies or lager lout types.

Entertainment.
Can't make any meaningful comment other than the band/s seemed okay.

Noise.
No issues with noise. Behaviour of guests during our stay was exemplary.
Entertainment closed at 11.30pm.
Heard no noise from adjoining rooms.

2. Resort.

30 minute walk along coastal path or through woods to beautiful, litter-free town of Porec
If walking's not for you there's a regular train and water bus service to Porec and Zelena.
There's no litter and you'll be very impressed with their manners and courtesy of the residents and tourists for that matter. .
Many shops and eating places. Great sandwich/pastry shop next to main square if you want to avoid paying over the odds at the cafes.
Never saw one drunk or instance of poor behaviour anywhere during our stay.

Summary:

Hotel is very, very good and only let down by the "canteen" and average food.
All in all a relaxing and enjoyable trip to a beautiful place. Not too sure if we'd go back, though, as Porec is rather small and after a day or two you've seen the lot.

PS. We did the excursion to Venice and although it was poor value for money it was too good an opportunity for us to miss out on our first visit to Venice.

Room Tip: Lots of other reviews have covered this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our Hotel Laguna Mediteran as your holiday spot and especially for having sent us a review about your stay. We are pleased to to get to know you have enjoyed your days spent there and overall liked our facility with its various services (cleanliness, position etc) and Porec in general.
We do hope to have you again as our guest maybe in another hotel of our Laguna Porec company.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We booked this hotel on booking.com, we booked the hotel with a sea-view and balcony. When we arrived at the hotel - we were told in a very low "customer service tone"

"i'm sorry, we don't have any rooms with balcony and sea-view, we only have standard rooms, it's not your fault and it's not our fault, it's bookings fault" All this was just told which such a "i don't give a damm attitude" - we got a look into the standard room with no balcony and accepted this, i tried argue for getting the wireless for free, but was offered free parking (which by the way don't seem to cost anything, anyway ?!?) - I also wrote a mail to booking.com, to find out who was to blame for this – it seemed booking.com had some issue with their systems so the hotel was not able to upload availability data.

If I just had been met with some more customer friendly attitude and offered the free wifi it would have been enough to satisfy me, and give a way better first impression of this hotel and the service level!

The room was clean and nice, the bed was a little narrow – but fine for a 3 star hotel. The pool area was super, as well as the pool – the water is nice and cold  It would have been super if they had served drinks / water at the pool so you didn’t have to go up to the bar to make your order. I give thumbs up for the staff at the bar, especially “Dino” who gave us some good laughs 

The breakfast was average and ok – not big variations, and not a “intercontinental breakfast” , but crowded with people!

The food for dinner was somewhere in between average and below average, after 2 nights dinner there we went to the city to eat – it was simply not our taste, and it was so crowded and stressed, people jumping the line, to make sure they got their share of food. Simply just awful seeing adult people behave like that.

The nearby beach is fine for a swim.

Overall this hotel is OK, a bit pricy compared to other hotels with same standards.

They charge 26 KN for WIFI pr. Hour, it’s a joke that this is not included in a hotel at this price! I will suggest people to go down town and by a “pre-paid” sim-card from T-Mobile, it’s 50 KN for a start package, including 2 simcards and 10 KN pr. Day for unlimited internet!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our Laguna Mediteran. We are sorry to hear your stay didn't start very good and you had problems getting the service you booked. Critics about unfriendly and almoust rude reception personnel will be checked upon hoping not to happen again.
We are however pleased to know you did manage to enjoy other services such as the ones at the pool area and hope to see you again at our Hotel any time soon.
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed as a party of 4 from the 18th June for 11 nights. We booked our holiday last October with Thomson holidays and requested a balcony for both couples but only one room was available with a balcony so my sister booked that room, I thought as we booked so far in advance we would have been able to have a balcony. I emailed the hotel on 2 occasions but they didn't reply and when we got there they said the hotel was full and none available, Warning, if you can't get a room with a balcony don't bother because the rooms are like prison cells.

The hotel itself is lovely, about 15 minute walk into Porec and a two minute walk to the beach. The surrounding area is perfect with great walks and little bars scattered through the woods. We loved the water taxis home after a night in Porec, 80 kuna's which is about £10 for 4 people.

We took the boat trip to Rovinj and also went on a local bus there a few days later, it's a beautiful town and well worth a visit.

Pros of the hotel
Spotlessly clean everywhere including bedrooms
Food in restaurant quite good and varied, with good choices
Wine, beer, tea/coffee and soft drinks included with evening meal
Lovely sitting areas indoors and out
Plenty of sunbeds and umbrella's round pool
Pool is heated if weather not so warm
The little train stops outside the hotel and takes you either to Porec or to the Zelena Laguna

Cons
Rooms without a balcony, very dark and dingy and no view(the rooms are good and very clean though)
Steps - there are steps everywhere, even up to the lift, which is difficult when you have heavy suitcases to take to your room on arrival. There isn't a lift down to the restaurant, so if you aren't very mobile could be a big issue
Restaurant in evening very congested, people queuing from 1815 for it to open and then when we went for our meal at 2000 we found it difficult to get a table, it appears that people linger because of the drinks. I think if they staggered the meal sittings for the evening it might make it better or extended the times.
People take drinks in glasses to the pool area, my husband stood on a broken piece of glass and when he checked there were quite a few pieces still under his sunbed which we reported to reception
During the evening meal hours female cleaners walk through the gents by the restaurant to a storeroom, my husband and brother-in-law thought this very inappropriate.

Even though there are a few cons we had a brilliant holiday and hopefully will return again in the near future.

Room Tip: Book a balcony if possible, it's worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for having chosen our Laguna Mediteran as your holiday hotel and especially for having found the time to write a feedback about your stay. Both compliments and critics are welcome as they help us to know more information about our job in order to satisfy our clients' needs.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon at this or any other hotel of our company.
Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Chose Croatia as my parents went for the first time last year and loved it. Fantastic place. Hotel was very good. Rooms, gardens and facilities were spotlessly clean. Food very good with loads of choice - the drinks with evening meals was a bonus! Quite and peaceful. Only down-side was the room didn't have a balcony or even a window we could see out of. Just fixed shutters. If we go again, will make sure we get a room with a balcony (but not overlooking the pool as the evening entertainment is just underneath those rooms). We also missed not being able to have a hot drink in the room in the morning. Next time will take a travel kettle and tea bags!

Room Tip: Try and get a room in D block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate you have taken some time to send us a feedback about your stay at our Laguna Mediteran. It is lovely to hear you have enjoyed your stay and appreciated the cleanliness, food and drinks offer and other services within our hotel.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon in this or any other hotel of Laguna Porec and send our best regards.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laguna Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mediteran

Address: Plava Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Porec
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna Mediteran 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laguna Mediteran is only an easy 15 minute walk away from Porec. It is surrounded by a natural forest of cedar and oak trees, and the newly renovated hotel rooms provide a comfortable shelter after days and nights filled with numerous activities. A vacation your family deserves - Hotel Laguna Mediteran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediteran Hotel Porec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna Mediteran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.