We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel in Beautiful Surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Laguna Mediteran

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Laguna Mediteran to your Saves list
Hotel Laguna Mediteran
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plava Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cornwall
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Hotel in Beautiful Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We had never been to Croatia before and this trip was organised because my friend ( who had been to Hotel Mediteran 5 times previously) wanted to get married there. We couldn't have asked for a better holiday!!! The hotel, who i believe hadn't done a wedding before, did her proud and although we were only a small party or 12, provided a beautiful setting for the ceremony and laid on a fantastic 6 course meal. Marin, the hotel manager who had only recently joined the Mediteran was very accommodating, friendly and did everything he could to ensure a perfect day! Thanks to all at The Mediteran for all that they did!!!
Now onto the review.
We stayed in room 150 and i can honestly say it was the nicest room i had ever had anywhere. Beautiful furnishings, lovely decor, lots of space and the biggest bed ever!!. Bathroom was very modern and clean with a brilliant shower. The balcony had a beautiful view of the pool and terrace and in the distance you could see the harbour and on the horizon, the sea. It had a table and 2 chairs and in the wardrobe we found padded cushions to fit the balcony chairs. The cleaners came in everyday and were thorough. They changed the towels everyday. The animation team were very pleasant and hard working, but never in your face or pushy. They were also multi-lingual which meant you never missed out on any announcements, which can sometimes happen when you stay at hotels with international guests. Lots going on throughout the day and the little ones were always kept amused and busy
Food......the food in the hotel was always nicely cooked. If you are looking for a typical full English for breakfast you wont get one. There are sausage but they are very gristly. There are several types of eggs, cheese, tomatoes, bacon, cereals, yogurts, fruit. They also have sandwich makers and some cheese & ham sandwiches ready to go on the machine. Also a toaster with lots of different breads available. Lots of different teas available, coffee, fruit juice and also sparkling wine!!!! Evening meals had several types of fish and meats available. Burgers and pastas for the kids and chips some nights. Lots of vegetables, two different soups, something for everyone. Deserts were repetitive and very similar to most places, cake, ice cream, and crepes once a week. All in all the food was of a good quality and always hot.
The Staff
The staff were probably the most pleasant and attentive i have met. Nothing was too much trouble and you were always greeted with a smile.
Location.
Absolutely stunning!! Walking down into Porec town everyday was a joy. The woodland pathway that takes you there is lovely. You walk past the man made beachy area (no sandy beaches here at all) and past a couple of cafe/bars then down to the harbour. Take a taxi boat back to the hotel in the evening. Mario's Blue taxi ride is brilliant and we often had a little shot of grappa as a night cap!! Thanks Mario!! Costs about 20 kuna each and well worth it! There are market stalls all along the length of the harbour selling all sorts of tourist souvenirs and if you are good at haggling you can get a few bargains. The town itself is very very beautiful. the buildings are old and the whole town is so very picturesque. Be careful of the cobbles though, they are very slippy. If you are wearing flats make sure they have a good grip on the sole, i saw a few people slip over. Just past the Basilica there is a lovely little Wine Bar owned by Dragona and Alexander. The grappa and the wine are lovely and it is a very cheap night out, but it does get busy and is all outside seating so sometimes it is hard to get a table but it is soooo worth the wait. They also have a little shop there where you can buy bottle to take home, choosing is the hard bit as they are all so good!
We did a boat trip on the Marco Polo to Revinj and VsSar It is 10am to 5pm with an hour or so stop at each place and you get lunch of Mackeral, Chicken, sausage, bread and wine. Well worth the 180 Kuna each (£24 approx based on 10 kuna = £1.34) Prices in Porec are reasonable. Pint of Pivo (local lager) 18 - 22 kuna, Cocktails 38 - 45 kuna, Pizza slice (large) 10 kuna ice cream 6 kuna per scoop. Prices at the holel may be slightly more.
All in all the hotel is lovely...it has a good shop which sells lots of toiletry items, souvenirs, cigarettes (20 Marlborough 22 Kuna) drinks etc. Also has a massage shop, internet corner and it has wifi but not sure if they charge for this.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and when we go back, which we definitely will we will go back to the Mediteran.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest,
We are incredibly happy that your friend decided to get married at our hotel. We do remember the celebration and we absolutely agree that it was really lovely and memorable!
We are extremely pleased that such an important life event took place in our hotel and that we had the chance to serve all of you in that special day.
Thank you for your detailed description of our hotel Laguna Mediteran on Tripadvisor. It is always a pleasure for us to read nice reviews, so thank you again for mentioning all of our hard working team!
Also, we would like to thank you for recommending our hotel on-line, we would be very pleased to welcome you back at hotel Laguna Mediteran soon- who knows maybe for another wedding!
Best regards,
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    129
    29
    5
    2
See reviews for
87
177
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This was our second visit to Porec. We stayed at the Mediteran for a week in June and what a treat it turned out to be. The hotel has been beautifully refurbished and the staff were always polite and helpful. Our room, which was one of the best that we have stayed in, overlooked the pool and the sea and was well worth the supplement. The stroll into Porec along the coastal path was delightful with lots of places to stop for a drink or a coffee along the way. For a wonderful holiday in beautiful surroundings you can't do better than the Mediteran - we will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback of hotel Laguna Mediteran on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your second visit to Poreč.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you at hotel Laguna Mediteran soon!
Best regards,
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powys
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

My second visit to this hotel - this time with my husband. Luckily he agreed with my view of the hotel and we had a brilliant two weeks. Our room overlooking the pool and with a view of the island was excellent, with a wet room. Only improvement would be some drawer space. We both enjoyed breakfast and dinner in the restaurant - an outside dining area had been added since last year but there was always a rush for those seats when the dining room opened in the evenings. So we ate inside (the complimentary drinks are a great extra) and then went outside when it had quietened down and ate dessert out there and sat and enjoyed a couple more glasses of wine. We swam in the sea most days and made use of the bathing platforms, although we also swam in the pool on our way back to our room in the late afternoon. Aquarobics was fun to do with all nationalities joining in.
All the staff from the Manager down are very courteous and friendly.
I am already looking forward to my next visit to the Mediteran. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view - great sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your kind review of hotel Laguna Mediteran. We are delighted to learn that you have chosen our hotel for the second time and that you and your husband had a nice time in room with a view. Your kind remarks on the drawer space and on the dining area will be taken into account to improve our hotel services.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you again during your next stay in Poreč.
Best regards,
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Have just returned from a 2 week fabulous holiday at the Mediteran.
The Animation (entertainment) team and the location make this hotel superb.
There is lots to do (if you want to!) both for adults and children. The pools are salt water and a bit chilly so we used the pools at Bellevue apartments just up the hill, not salt water and warmer. The location is beautiful, nice walk into Porec with lots of restaurants, play parks, crazy golf, trampolines and waterslides on the way.
Both the room and bathroom were of adequate size and looked to have been modernised. The room was directly above the entertainments stage so noisy at night (sometimes until 12 am) but we still managed to get to sleep!
Excellent choice of food and drink in the hotel. Hotel very clean. Very good 3 star.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony but away from the entertainment/ Havana Bar side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor! We are glad that you and your family had a pleasant and active holiday with us! We are always satisfied when our guests manage to relax and have fun at the same time! Thank you for recommending our hotel on-line, we would be honored to have you as our guest again soon!
Best regards,
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bembridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Mediteran 3-17 June 2011 and had a wonderful holiday. The hotel was extremely clean and very friendly efficient staff. The food was delicious and the free drinks at mealtimes were a real bonus. Fantastic location so close to the crystal-clear sea and a nice distance to walk into Porec which took about 15 minutes. We engaged with the Animation programme lead by Eva & Marco which was great fun and enhanced our holiday enjoyment with their enthusiasm and friendliness. The pool was lovely. We really could not fault the hotel at all.

Room Tip: We had a balcony view at the front of the hotel which was fine & quiet. Many rooms appeared to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback of our hotel Laguna Mediteran on Tripadvisor! We pleased that you liked our hotel and that you found our staff efficient and friendly at the same time. Thank you for recommending our hotel and the animation program, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at hotel Laguna Mediteran.
Best regards,
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here at the end of June, while you can not fault the hotel, food lovely and very clean we found there was no heart or soul to the hotel. Nobody seemed to meet for a drink before the eveinng meal. Many a time we were the only ones in the bar. Also the pool never looked very inviting very small for a big hotel. However we loved Porec and went to Venice for the day (Highly recomended) All in all we would return but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your kind feedback on Tripadvisor! We are glad that you liked the meal served and that you found the hotel clean and tidy. We are sorry that you found the hotel a little bit too quiet. When you stayed in the hotel, in June 2011, the hotel had recently reopened its doors, that is the only reason why it seemed to you a little quiet.
We assure you that if you would have come just a week later, you would have probably complained for the quantity of people having fun! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in Laguna Mediteran!
Best regards,
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Enjoyed a week at the Mediteran which is a light and airy hotel, spotlessly clean, with friendly staff and in a great location, just a 20 minute walk along the tree lined coastal path into Porec. The food is fresh and plentiful, served buffet style with lots of choice, especially if you are into healthy eating. Beer and wine are included with your meal which is very good.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view, it's well worth it as you get to see the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plavalaguna1, Manager at Hotel Laguna Mediteran, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback of our hotel Laguna Mediteran on Tripadvisor! We pleased that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed the walks to the city center. Thank you for recommending our hotel online, it would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again at hotel Laguna Mediteran.
Best regards,
Laguna Poreč
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Laguna Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laguna Mediteran

Address: Plava Laguna, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Porec
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Laguna Mediteran 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Laguna Mediteran is only an easy 15 minute walk away from Porec. It is surrounded by a natural forest of cedar and oak trees, and the newly renovated hotel rooms provide a comfortable shelter after days and nights filled with numerous activities. A vacation your family deserves - Hotel Laguna Mediteran. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Laguna Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediteran Hotel Porec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Laguna Mediteran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.