We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marconi

Marconi
Eufrazijeva 24 | 52440, Porec, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 92 Restaurants in Porec
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Courtyard restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This place was what I had imagined croatian restaurants to be like. A little arch off a main pedestrian street lead to a courtyard restaurant. Tables set under large umbrellas to shade from the sun. The surrounding walls built almost 1600 years ago.
Food and wine excellent and reasonably priced. Yet again a venue for the locals to eat and chat - always a good sign.
Welcoming and helpful staff.
Sadly a week wasnt enough time to revist again, but next year ....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    10
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gorizia, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food and lovely setting, but could need an update”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were there with a group of friends a couple of days ago for a seafood dinner.

Lovely setting outdoors in the courtyard that overlooks the back of the Basilica Eufrasiana.

The waiters do try, but they speak a poor Italian and offer only the basic tourist things. When inquiring more, they offer better, more authentic food.

Grilled fish with potatoes on the side - excellent, compliments to the chef!
Home-made apple strudel - warm, smelling of cinnamon, excellent! And if you think that the waiter offered the crepes instead!

I was told by our friend that the octopus salad was very good, while the seafood risotto wasn't.

White wine was average bordering on bad.
The bill wasn't high, so I would say it has decent prices.

The toilette is stuck in the communist era (if you see the tiles and the doors, you will understand what I mean).

Overall, a good average experience, I would be tempted to go again and see if they had another surprise (like the fish was) in offer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundbyberg, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Basic tourist food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Located next to the Euphrasian Basilica with a courtyard seating could be very scenic. Unfortunately the entire courtyard is covered in parasols so you can't see anything above you. This would make sense on a rainy day but not when there are no clouds. The menu had all types of food which made the menu too long. The food ordered had no particular flavor and the presentation was non-existent. Unfortunate with such a great location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Location in the shadow of the basilica is brilliant but that's about all it's got going for it. In particular the meet-and-greet lady (who I presume is the owner) was the most miserable person we met in Croatia. She threw the menus at us - with hindsight we should have left there and then. Service chronically slow - not enough staff - tho' those that were there were nice. Food bland and overpriced. A very disappointing experience. "Cardo" round the corner is far nicer.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We ordered the house wine (red) and to be honest, it was disgusting. How is that for a start?

When we looked at the menu there seemed to be a lot of classic Istrian dishes. We don't know about them because we were in for a nice pizza. I ordered a vegetariana and it was less than average. The dough wasn't crusty and the vegetables looked like canned vegetables.

I don't know about the other dishes, just don't order pizza there. Staff were friendly although they charged us for the wine we didn't drink.

If you want to be sure, just don't go there at all. On the plus side, we ate on what seemed to be remains of a roman floor. Very romantic.

Also, it was very cheap.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marconi also viewed

 

Been to Marconi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marconi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.