We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RECOMMENDED” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Zagreb Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Zagreb Hotel to your Saves list
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pical 1, Porec 52440, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Bournemouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RECOMMENDED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Brilliant hotel. Relaxed atmosphere. Quiet. All staff very helpful.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    41
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

The rooms are small but tidy. Good choice of food every day, which was also very tasty. All the waiters were friendly and unobtrusive. It`s true that there is no air-conditioning but that wasn`t a problem in April...
For the pre-season price, Zagreb was more than excellent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2008

I went with a friend to the Hotel Zagreb in August 2008 and was very impressed with the service. The room was clean, however it was NOT air conditioned. Fortunately for us, we were on the shaded side of the hotel and so the room was always relatively cool. For those in rooms facing south, I expect the heat of the rooms could have been very uncomfortable.
The restaurant was clean, serving a good selection of food for breakfast and evening meal.
The pool was clean and refreshing after a day wandering round the town or exploring the countryside, although maybe a little on the chilly side!
All in all it was extremely good value for money. I would recommend the Zagreb in the future.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

Old hotel; very likely original from "communist" era local resorts; In terrible need of renovation of the ouside; Inside is ok but extremely small; very inconvenient bathrooms - NO bathtub! just a shower space with very very user-unfriendly doors and NO shelf-space for your toiletries so get ready for lots of water on the floor; Not much space for your toiletries in your bathroom overall so mostly keep everything in your closet or just your suitcase. During daytime and evening, gets real-real hot - NO A/C or at least fan - it is ok if you open the window but then you are warned NOT to leave your room with any window or door open for security purposes. There is no safe inside the room either. Food is ok for a 3-star - nothing extraordinary, your no nonsense selection. Dinner time - better show up right at opening or you end up waiting for replenishment of popular dishes. Ladies - take all of your shampoos, shower gels, soaps and hair dryers/irons/etc from home as you get something totally inadequate in this hotel. Location is a 3-minute walk to the beach but beach is trashed up and sea shore filled up with large rock that lightly injured all of the friends and family in my company. Overall, overpriced for the quality.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DETROIT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2007

Good hotel. We had too many people in our party to stay in the actual hotel (we booked too late) so we stayed in their apartment area. We were happy with the staff and the location was great and easy to find. If you stay in the apartment I recommend you bring your own shampoos and other toiletries as they were not provided, AND if you are coming from the states for the first time to any where in Europe BYOW!! Bring your own washcloth, they did not have those at any of the 9 hotels we stayed at this trip!!Hotel Zagreb it is a nice apartment/hotel with a good view but it is minimal as far as "extras" If you do forget something though, there is a little convenience site in the hotel parking lot with a friendly staff and a wide variety of merchandise. The buffet breakfast was tasty and the view was remarkable!
**Please remember I am only speaking about the apt when I say "minimal" I cannot talk about the actual hotel rooms because I did not stay in one!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Zagreb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Zagreb Hotel

Address: Pical 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Porec
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#10 Luxury Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Zagreb Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Already a firm favourite among Porec admirers, the newly upgraded and refurbished Valamar Zagreb Hotel is located near the stunning beachfront in quiet surroundings, only a relaxing scenic stroll from the old town of Porec. The tranquil Mediterranean parkland setting and recent extensive renovations that include an impressive show cooking restaurant with an even larger panoramic terrace, spacious rooms, innovative children's programs at the Maro Club and beach with unforgettable view of Porec allow you to spend a carefree holiday at your own pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Valamar Zagreb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zagreb Hotel Porec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Zagreb Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.