We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Diamant Hotel

Save Saved
You added Valamar Diamant Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Valamar Diamant Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Brulo 1, Porec 52440, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Porec
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My first time in Croatia and if this hotel is the standard in the country then it certainly wont be my last! On first arriving there was a minor problem in that the room was ready and we were not properly advised about where we could leave our cases resulting in a bit of hassel trying to make proper arrangements. So first impressions of the reception staff were not good. However in the week we were there this adverse opinion was corrected time and time again. This is a great hotel with excellent staff and it appears to be very well managed. So for you first time visitors (and I guess there are many repeat guests) here is the low down on the place.

Food
Unbelievable!! This was like a gourmet experience every day. Breakfast was varied from your English to continental style. The bread was freshly baked and warm, your cups constantly filled with coffee and the opportunity to sit outside if you wanted. A dirty plate was not left on your table for more than a minute. The staff are attentive without being intrusive. For evening meals the only gripe is that the hours were 7 to 9 pm only. This didnt bother us but for some it might be a bit restrictive. The quality fo the foor was excellent and varied. In the 7 days were were there we didnt get fed up with the menu. In fact i would say that this hotel surpasses all others that I have stopped in abroad for its range and quality of food. We went on a day trip early and instead of breakfast they packed a lunch for us that was plentiful. The restaurant does get a bit crowded and the tables are a bit close together but that didnt detract. Only gripe on the eating experience is that I support a previous reviewer in that the juice the morning is not great and there is no coffee following the evening meal. Drinks are purchased from a waiter and to give an indication, a bottle of house red or white wine is about £7. If you dont want to drink it all they will bring it back to your table the next day.

Location.
The Diamant is one of 3 hotels in a chain on the same campus. We had a look at the others and it seemed that the Diamant is the best. it is in a peaceful setting and is quite a walk into the the town of Porec. That being said the walk is fabulous along the sea front. The Croatians have created a coastal heaven. They have retained the natural character of the place and it is delightful to stroll along. if tired there is a noddy train you can catch for about £1.30 to take you into town and a taxi back costs about £6 or a boat taxi about £9. There are plenty of facilities around about the hotel. There is no sand beach but you can access the sea.

Entertainment
There is live music on in each of the hotels and you can use any of them. I quite liked the musicians. There is none of this irritating multi lingual 'lets have fun together...who is from England, who is from Germany..etc.' nonsense. Just musicians playing together. Some people got up for a dance but its not an organised dance holiday. At night the town of Porec is beautiful and there are plentiful bars and cafes. Slightly cheaper than the hotel as you expect. £2 for nearly a pint compared to £2.70 ish in the hotel..not bank breaking stuff.

Rooms
Very clean and of generally a good standard. We had a view overlooking the sea on the 2nd floor. If you get chance getting one higher up would give a better view. The lifts are quick and we had no problem waiting.

Staff
Everyone was friendly and helpful. It felt to me like an extremely well managed place.

Swimming
There is an indoor pool and gym. Someone told us they had to pay to use the sauna. The outdoor pool was OK. No trouble with getting chairs although last couple of days it got busier. They are not the most comfortable of experiences but towels are provided (you need to get a towel card from reception)

Overall impression
I would recommend this hotel. Not a lager lout in sight and there were plenty of people in middle age. Didnt see one group of hens or stags. This holiday destination is superb compared to the costas or canaries. The hotel exceeded my expectation and i would recommend it unreservedly.

Room Tip: Facing the sea and above floor 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarDiamant, Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear PSNorthWestUK186378, thank you very much for your letter. It's very nice to know that your impressions are so good that you had a necessity to divide them with all readers and with us too. We are delighted that you enjoyed in your first stay and that you loved Croatia. Every day our restaurant staff is trying to offer a pleasant atmosphere and a great gastronomic experience, because of that we are very proud and satisfied that you appreciate our efforts. We must say that your letter is an encouragement for all our employees to try to be even better! We hope that you’ll come to visit us as soon as possible. And we promise to you that you’ll enjoy your stay even more.
Thank you, once more. Best regards, Hotel Valamar Diamant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    125
    24
    13
    4
See reviews for
56
154
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff are excellent. Always friendly and helpful. The food was very good particularly the bread, croissants and pizzas which are made in a pizza oven in the restaurant. Best bread I've ever had! Our room on the 3rd floor was small with no view of the sea however it was very clean and comfortable. There was no noise.
The indoor and outdoor pools were both very good although a bit cold!
On 2 nights whilst we were there it was very busy and difficult to find a seat in the restaurant. However we were rescued by a lovely waitress twice who found us a table. The restaurant staff were incredibly efficient. It was a shame that the restaurant was very noisy on these days and it was a bit of a scrum getting to the food! Also we avoided the bar on these evenings as it was so busy.
Don't hesitate to book this hotel or visit porec. It is a beautiful place with very friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarDiamant, Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking your time to write this review and for sharing with us your impression about our hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed our bred, croissants and pizzas and that you are satisfied with our restaurant staff. We hope to see you soon again until then we send you greetings from Poreč. Best regards,
Hotel Valamar Diamant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel twice this year and it was simply good. Position of the hotel is great, little bit out of centre but still a very short and nice walk from it, it is close to main road and easy to spot from the main road (although all Porec hotels are easy to find since they have lots of signs beside te road).

As far as the hotel is concerned, most of the rooms are good and refurbished with nice bathrooms (all bathrooms have shower, not a bathtub). Size of the rooms is good, i had a single room twice with double bed and extra bed inside.

Hotel is never too empty as some other hotels can be during the winter, as many sport tems use Porec as a base for their preparations, and they stay in Diamant.

Breakfast is served in a large area, it is very rich and good, only thing i didnt like are juices, as they are so artifficial and sweet - almost undrinkable. Apart from that, breakfast from heaven.

It's a 4* hotel with a good rate, appropriate for families, singles, couples, older people,...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarDiamant, Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest, thank you for sharing your impression about our hotel. We are very pleased that you are satisfied with our rooms, service and position especially because you are our regular guest. It’s nice to see that you appreciated our daily efforts to meet yours and other guest’s expectation. Hope to see you soon.
Hotel Diamant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in a large suite facing the Adriatic, with a wonderful balcony. The sunsets were amazing. This is a very large hotel that caters to large tour groups. Breakfast and dinner were included (we booked half-board). Both meals were buffet-style and the variety was wonderful. The staff in the huge dining room was friendly and helpful. Ate out on the veranda one night and the staff continually chased away seagulls that like to attack any food left on a plate on a table; actually it was quite comical to watch. I generally like smaller accommodations while in Europe and this place was a twenty-minute walk from the old town, but not much to complain about. No wi-fi in the room was a downer, but the signal was strong in the beautiful lobby.

Room Tip: Any room facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarDiamant, Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear Guest, we are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us. It's nice to hear that even if we are a large hotel, like you said, that you felt a friendly and cosy atmosphere. Our veranda is very unique, because of the big oak tree shade, and we are happy that you enjoyed eating there despite the seagulls’ disturbance. Hope to see you soon again! Best regards,
Hotel Valamar Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Hadn't been to Croatia before so not sure what to expect, but very impressed with everything. Staff are lovely and very helpfull, hotel is spotless, food is very good and varied. Location is very good to explore the area or relax in the beautiful surroundings. Would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarDiamant, Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear JellyCarilse, thank you for this beautiful review. We are very glad that you enjoyed in your first visit to Croatia and that we contribute to make such a good impression. We hope to see you soon again in Poreč. Best regards, Valamar Diamant Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Have just got back from the Diamant. The staff were great and the food is pretty good too. Everywhere was really clean. Porec is very pretty and there are some beautiful spots to be found.Spa was great too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarDiamant, Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear remac_27, we hope that your trip home went well. It's very nice to read a good review like your is. It makes us proud to hear that you appreciate our everyday effort to meet our guests expectation. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again in our hotel, Valamar Diamant Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samobor, Croatia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Nice hotel with great staff

We visited Porec and hotel Diamant in early spring this year. We wanted to spend few days on the seaside to relax from everyday stress and we have chosen Diamant as we had many pleasant previous experiences with the hotel. Besides great location (not far from the city centre, near to the beach, surrounded by park and pine wood which act like natural aromatherapy) and nicely decorated hotel with fantastic view from the room (we had a room on the 8th floor with the view on the sea), we agree that the people working in the hotel are really its major asset and factor that makes a difference. Always with a smile on their faces, whenever we requested something that is not in the standard scope of their usual services, we never got a "No, this is impossible" answer. Instead, they always did all they can do in order to fulfil our wishes and we really always felt more than welcome. Additionally, what is another benefit is the restaurant concept (show cooking), high quality and choice of food as well as the overall organisation of it. As during the time of our stay all capacities were fully booked, the restaurant was really crowded but still the staff coped with all the mess in a calm, fast manner and again with a smile on their faces. In general, the whole atmosphere is very friendly and there are many activities and things to do even when the season is still not high so at any time it's a great pleasure to spend holidays there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValamarDiamant, General Manager at Valamar Diamant Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Dear Tomi864, it's really nice to hear such a beautiful words especially when they come from our regular guests. We are happy to hear that you took a break from everyday stress and that you came at home relaxed and rested. Thank you for staying at our hotel and for recognizing the effort of our employees to exceed the expectations of all guests. Looking forward to see you again. Valamar Diamant Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Valamar Diamant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Diamant Hotel

Address: Brulo 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porec
#1 Spa Hotel in Porec
#2 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Diamant Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Valamar Diamant Hotel is only a 10 minute stroll away from the historic centre of Porec. Surrounded by pine forests and pristine beaches, it offers the right balance of recreation, relaxation and exceptional buffet dining, including dietary meals. The Hotel's recreational activities are second to none, especially when it comes to biking. It features a sports hall, heated indoor and outdoor pools as well as a wellness and beauty centre. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Valamar Diamant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Diamant Porec
Hotel Valamar Diamant
Diamant Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Diamant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.