We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porec” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala Marsala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Porec
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Porec”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I travelled with a friend on a fairly 'last-minute' holiday with Thomson. I have always wanted to visit Croatia and wasn't disappointed. The hotel is centrally located and is very stylish without being pretentious. All the staff were very polite and friendly and seem happy to work in the hotel. The package holiday included the buffet meal, but you may also choose to eat in one of the many inviting restaurants in Porec. Hotel guests can use the indoor pool at the Hotel Diamant and also the outdoor pool and beach on the island. There is a lot of sea bathing opportunities - from rocks - and sea was warm and clear. Travelled 11 May, had two days rain and the rest sunny and a little breezy. Nearby Vrsar and Rovinj worth a trip.

Room Tip: Room 120 spacious, shower, overlooks street. May experience a little noise from kitchens but not int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guest,
We are very happy to read that You have enjoyed Your stay in Valamar Riviera hotel. Your comment is of big importance for us and gives a great motivation to all our staff. We sincerely hope to have a chance to host You again.

Best regards,

Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    93
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
26
197
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel well located on the harbour side and within a short walk of the town.

Stayed in room 313 overlooking the old town, nice view and great in room facilities... The room was spacious with a fab bathroom, mini bar, kettle, air con and satellite tv.

The staff were very friendly, giving advice on local food options and driving us to the sister hotel to use the indoor pool.

Being on a half board option we were pleasantly surprised by the range and amount of food on offer - including 'show' cooking at both breakfast and dinner. It was always delicious and the staff happy to accommodate requests.

I'd really recommend staying here - not a resort (no pool) but a super hotel close to all the action. Can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank You for sharing Your experience from Valamar Riviera hotel on the web. Your comment is truly motivating for all team, and it is nice to read that we have fulfilled Your expectations. In hope to have a chance to host You again,

Best regards,

Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a few days at this hotel last summer in July. Stayed in one of the rooms facing the City Center and Adriatic Sea, what a VIEW!!!! Very friendly hotel staff, nice clean hotel & rooms, grade A bed linens, GREAT complimentary hot breakfast, lots of restaurants, clubs and shops all nearby. You can also take a ferry to the beach which is a 10 minute ferry ride to Sv. Nikola Island and spend the entire day on this magnificent beach. Ferry runs every 1/2 hr all day long. The outside front area of the hotel is decorated all in white, white couches, tables & oversized umbrellas. Great place to hang out anytime of the day and have a glass of wine, nibble on domestic Prosciutto & Cheese garnished with olives and warm walnuts. It was perfect. The only one thing I would like to point out is that there is music ALL NIGHT LONG so if you are a light sleeper, I recommend not staying in the area. This is a 4 star hotel and won't disappoint. See you in a few months Valamar:))

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel are a bit quieter during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest, It is a great pleasure to know that you enyojed your holidays at our property, especialy that you enyojed at our beach and lounge bar terrace. Thank you for your nice words towards our crew and service, we can promise you that we will do our best to improve in the future. We feel sorry about your experience with the loud music during nights, we do constantly complaints towards the local comunity inspectors and we strongly believe this year will be some changes. Once again we thank you for being our dear guest and looking forward to welcome you at our hotel in May.
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel after travelling up the Croatian coast prior to crossing to Italy. It is a perfect location to catch the fast ferry to Venice and great position from a town perspective. Lovely outdoor bar area to relax in and the rooms/bathrooms are great. They packed us a picnic breakfast as the ferry left very early. Nice large king bed (albeit 2 beds connected) after sailing & pension-ing our way up to here. Porec has that mix between Italian and Croatian, lovely old town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear guests, we would like to thank you for sharing your impressions about your stay and thank you for visiting our hotel. We hope to welcome you at Valamar Riviera hotel soon,
best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Ga.
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Tom and I stayed at the Valamar Riviera Hotel and Residence the week before it closed for the season in October. We could not have been happier with our stay. The hotel is located right on the sea. Old town Porec with shopping and quaint restaurants is only a walk around the corner. The location could not have been better, The parking was free and our car was always there at the appointed time.

The warm greeting that we received upon arrival from the staff at the front desk exteded to everyone working at the hotel. We would never have guessed that the hotel was about to shut down for the season.

Our room on the second floor had the most beautiful view of the sea and nearby island where their sister hotel is located. The room and bath were spacious and immaculate. I thought the room was nicer than the pictures show. The bed was very comfortable.

Breakfast was included in the already reasonable price of the hotel room. The choices were vere good. On most of the days we were there, orange juice was served. One day a large tour group stayed there. On that day, Mimosas were offered along with the juice.

We only ate at the hotel restaurant one evening.. Big mistake on our part!!!. What a value. For eleven euros we had a buffet. There was a large salad bar, several meat choices including duck l'orange, vegetables, pasta, and an array of desserts. Unlimited red and white wine was also served,

Tom and I will definately stay at the Valamar Riviera again if we are lucky enough to make it back to Porec.

Room Tip: When you book ask for a room with a sea view. The windows have shutters that open out to the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Norma and Tom, it is realy a great pleasure to read your nice holiday raport about your stay at Valamar Riviera hotel. It makes us really proud to know that we made your stay enjoyable and is a proof that our "ship"is on the wright way. We use this opportunity to thank you for being our dear guest and we hope to welcome you at our hotel soon,
Greeting from Porec
Valamar Riviera Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for three nights mid October. Certainly quieter than high season. Room 411 has excellent view to port & ocean. Very clean, modern rooms. Breakfast has every possible choice you could want. Free wifi. Free on street car parking. Great location to old Porec town. Everything within walking distance to restaurants, shops & tours. Excellent staff - very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guests,
On behalf of Valamar hotel&resorts we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and thank you for sharing your impressions with us and the rest of the travellers. We are very pleased to know that you had a nice time in Porec and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel Valamar Riviera. Your satisfaction is our goal and we will keep up with our good work and try to be even better in the future.
Best regards from Porec and we hope to welcome you at our property soon
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a week in Porec at the Valamar Riviera with my mum. It has been a lovely holiday in a really beautiful region of Croatia & we have enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much. It has a perfect location, at the heart of everything. It is perfect for the harbour, sea front area & likewise very close indeed to the old town and the bus station. There are lots of cafes, restaurants and services within a couple of minutes walk.
We had two enormous, beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable rooms with a lovely view of the basillica & bell tower and was also very quiet at night. The breakfast (inc in price we paid) catered for all tastes and was good to set you up for a day's sightseeing. Eggs were cooked fresh any way you like by two wonderful ladies who were always so pleasant & calm despite sometimes a queue! The dinner buffet also is varied with a good choice and so very reasonably priced. Occasionally if we went a little later for breakfast or dinner some items had gone but mostly the staff replaced or offered an alternative.
All the staff here are fantastic, managers are visible & willing to interact with guests, restaurant and bar staff are very efficient & always have a ready smile and cleaners are friendly and thorough. The front desk staff are extremely professional but also warm, personable and so helpful. They are willing to go the extra mile to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We had a wonderful first impression of Istria and hope to return one day. Hvala Valamar Riviera!

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the old town if you would like a quieter room, some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guests, firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and thank you for sharing your impressions during your stay. It is a great pleasure reading your wonderful words towards our crew and service. It makes us really proud knowing that you enjoyed very much our rooms, breakfast and courtesy of our crew. Thanks once again and we hope to welcome you at our hotel again
Best regards Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Address: Obala Marsala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porec
#8 Family Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most stylish hotels in Croatia the Valamar Riviera Hotel is located on the Porec promenade, only a few steps from the historic old town, providing panoramic views of Sveti Nikola island and the port. Added touches such as valet service, a gourmet restaurant, a 5 minute boat ride to a private beach, executive packages, as well as premium meeting and event facilities complement the personalised experience this hotel is renowned for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Riviera Hotel And Residence
Neptun Hotel Porec
Hotel Neptun Porec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.