We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hvala!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala Marsala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Porec
West Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hvala!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a week in Porec at the Valamar Riviera with my mum. It has been a lovely holiday in a really beautiful region of Croatia & we have enjoyed our stay at the hotel very much. It has a perfect location, at the heart of everything. It is perfect for the harbour, sea front area & likewise very close indeed to the old town and the bus station. There are lots of cafes, restaurants and services within a couple of minutes walk.
We had two enormous, beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable rooms with a lovely view of the basillica & bell tower and was also very quiet at night. The breakfast (inc in price we paid) catered for all tastes and was good to set you up for a day's sightseeing. Eggs were cooked fresh any way you like by two wonderful ladies who were always so pleasant & calm despite sometimes a queue! The dinner buffet also is varied with a good choice and so very reasonably priced. Occasionally if we went a little later for breakfast or dinner some items had gone but mostly the staff replaced or offered an alternative.
All the staff here are fantastic, managers are visible & willing to interact with guests, restaurant and bar staff are very efficient & always have a ready smile and cleaners are friendly and thorough. The front desk staff are extremely professional but also warm, personable and so helpful. They are willing to go the extra mile to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We had a wonderful first impression of Istria and hope to return one day. Hvala Valamar Riviera!

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the old town if you would like a quieter room, some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guests, firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and thank you for sharing your impressions during your stay. It is a great pleasure reading your wonderful words towards our crew and service. It makes us really proud knowing that you enjoyed very much our rooms, breakfast and courtesy of our crew. Thanks once again and we hope to welcome you at our hotel again
Best regards Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    95
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
27
198
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have recently returned from this hotel and had a great stay. The rooms are very nice and spacious, beds are huge! It was very clean and the buffet breakfast was fantastic. It is in a great location on the seafront. We had a car and we chose to have it parked outside of the town which the staff took care of and it didn't cost us a penny, just had to give them about 15 minutes notice, The staff in this hotel are probably the best I have met, they are helpful and friendly. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guests, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and thank you for sharing your impressions during your stay. It is a great pleasure reading your comments that you enyojed our breakfast, that you find our rooms very comfortable and our staff frendly and corteus. Thank you once again and we hope to see you at Valamar Riviera again,
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here in September. We could not fault the hotel or the staff. It is not your typical holiday hotel and there seem to be lots of persons staying for a few nights and also business groups. This made it a different experience. The food was lovely with just enough choice.We preferred to take our food outside rather than to eat in the dining room. It was far more relaxed and quiet and you could watch the world go by. I am not sure that this option was made clear to guests. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and looked over a courtyard at the back of the hotel. We usually opt for seaviews but did not have the choice on this booking. However, we loved what we had as it was quiet, pretty and made you feel bit more like a local ! We could sit on the bed and look out at the church steeple and hear the bells.
We used the boat service to the Island and that was an added bonus. The beach was good but we regretted forgetting to take our coral shoes as everywhere is rocky. Food and drink prices on the Island are high compared to the caffe bars and shops. Sun beds were same price as mainland. We were glad we were at the Riviera. The grounds around the Island hotel were in poor upkeep and parts derelict and a bit spooky!
We found all the food and drink in Porec very reasonable compared to a holiday in Europe at the moment. Our favourite watering hole had lovely local wine for £1 a glass!
We would consider returning to this hotel and resort.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guests,
Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and thank you for sharing your impressions with us and the rest of the travellers. Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services. We really feel happy and proud to know that you enyojed your stay because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment. Thank you once again and we hope to see you in Valamar Riviera hotel soon.
Best regards
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were not staying at the hotel but every evening would stop at the wine bar before dinner.

The outdoor seating was perft for enjoying a drink while people and boat watching and (I think) Idi was one of the best informed and most entertaining sommelier we have had the pleasure to be served by.

Go for a glass or two of the best wine istria has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your nice comments towards our staff and service at Wine Bar Parentino. We hope to welcome you at our beautiful terrace again soon.
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera hotel & Wine Bar Parentino Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafz, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

There is nothing more to say outside of what others have already said. Please is clean, friendly attentive staff, great breakfast and dinner buffet (we quickly realized that the tourist geared food in Porec is not what you want to eat each night). Rooms are modern, clean, great AC. As others said, stay away from the rooms facing the sea unless you are there in off-season.
Hotel has a private beach which is super well maintained with chairs and cabanas. We were there beginning of August and it was hot. We would arrive on the beach after breakfast around 8am and leave around 12 as the hottest sun and all those seeking some skin cancer arrived.
Beach bar sucks in a major way. Serious review of the menu and prices need to occur. Small bar right on the beach should also increase its size and offer more variety of drinks and beers.

Overall Porec is great alternative to Split or Dubrovnik. Locals suggest I come in September as it is not as crowded and hot although the water is still very warm.

The hotel is higher priced than most others but worth it. If you shop around the various portals you can get a good price.

WIth a little kindness, some tips you will make good friends of the staff who will be happy to make suggestions as to where to eat and go see.

Room Tip: Room facing the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your nice review and thank you for being our dear guest . Your comments are important to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services. We are pleased that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast, our beaches and our rooms. We feel sorry that we didn’t completely meet your expectations regarding our beach bar offer. We considered your suggestions very seriosly and will try to improve our service in the future.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you at our property soon
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here one night on our way in from Venice via Ferry. Wish I could have stayed longer. The staff: Marina, Nada, etc were the BEST you could possibly ask for. They were helpful beyond the call of duty and made our stay perfect. We actually left some clothing in the closet when we checked out and they took every step possible to ensure that we got our clothes mailed to us quickly and efficiently. The hotel rooms are a little tight, but VERY modern and VERY clean. A nice respite during our crazy 2 week stroll through eastern europe. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your impressions during your stay and thank you very much for your really nice words towards our crew and service. It makes us really proud and happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Valamar Riviera Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just got back from a week in Porec and am so very impressed with the hotel and the service that I felt a review was needed ASAP.

The staff are LOVELY! Friendly and hardworking they made our stay that bit more special. The room was kept immaculately (hvala lucija!) and all the staff we met were friendly and welcoming.

The location is perfect to see Porec and nip across to Sv Nikola island for some sun bathing and basking in the blue Adriatic.

We WILL return.

Hvala Svako

Thanks for the lovely holiday

James

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denis2808, General Manager at Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Mr James, thank you very much for this great review. We are very happy to know that you enyojed your stay very much at our hotel and especially pleased that you were satisfied with the cleanlliness of the room, kindness of our staff and our beach on the island. We have comunicated to all our crew your nice words which are a great motivation for the future.
Thanks once again and we hope to see you soon
Best regards from Porec
Valamar Riviera team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence

Address: Obala Marsala Tita 15, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered one of the most stylish hotels in Croatia the Valamar Riviera Hotel is located on the Porec promenade, only a few steps from the historic old town, providing panoramic views of Sveti Nikola island and the port. Added touches such as valet service, a gourmet restaurant, a 5 minute boat ride to a private beach, executive packages, as well as premium meeting and event facilities complement the personalised experience this hotel is renowned for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Riviera Hotel And Residence
Neptun Hotel Porec
Hotel Neptun Porec

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.