We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals we have had.....get the mussels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Aba

Konoba Aba
M Vlacica 2, Porec 52440, Croatia
+385 (0)52 438 669
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 96 Restaurants in Porec
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Venice
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we have had.....get the mussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Family run business and the preparation of the food is perfection. We decided to choose some of the local favorites. We got the mussels, truffle pasta, and the home made meatloaf. The mussels were amazing and the broth was to die for. The bread that was served was perfect for dipping into the mussel broth. The truffle pasta was perfectly cooked and was a great local flavor. The meatloaf was like none i have had and it was stuffed with some cheese, maybe she eps or goat. The whole experience was great. The restaurant has 6 tables inside with a fireplace. It appears to have another building during the busier tourist months during the warmer months. The owners are also the cooks and they were more than hospitable to our family. We look forward to returning again. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    145
    20
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Most, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“nice, quiet and very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

cozy konoba, food was very good and wine also. everybody looked satisfied with the ordered food, servise was very pleasant. certainly not tourist trap, it looked like family run restaurant.
And certainly they take care about their food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We were surprised to stumble upon this quaint restaurant, and we were glad we did. We ordered the seafood grill for two and it was A LOT of food! Everything was cooked to perfection and the wine was delicious as well. I think if you have a smaller appetite you could definitely get away with just ordering the seafood platter for one and sharing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Pretty good mid-range restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pretty basic restaurant with decent quality food and good service. I ordered the pasta with scampi and truffle sauce - which actually turned out to be with small prawns, but it still tasted nice.
We sat outside and you are right next to another restaurant and it annoyed me that I can hear competing music coming from Konoba Aba and the restaurant next door. Also the decor on the walls leaves a little to be desired in places (see picture).

Not the greatest restaurant, but as food is tasty, service friendly and then they offer you complimentary drinks at the end...it's difficult to score it too harshly ;-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous - truly a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we knew to book Konoba Aba rather than just turn up, which was just as well as we saw numerous people turned away disappointed as there were no available tables.

The restaurant as others have stated is set in a small cobbled alleyway. Its a small family restaurant where we think the quality and service shows - well done to them.

We ate here 3 times during our stay - without a doubt it was a favourite with us. You are given a round Focascia style bread on arrival. We had carafes of the house red and white wine which was rather nice. Twice I had the risotto with scampi and truffles - yum yum, and once I had a fillet steak. We had a plate of olives on one occasion - enough to feed the entire restaurant I think!! ha ha. We had side salads and roast mixed vegetables as sides on different occasions. The ambiance is lovely and you feel as though you are in Croatia rather than in a hotel restaurant where you could be anywhere in Europe.

The waiters are family and a credit to the owner who was on the premises each of the occasions we were there.

We were given a complimentary liqueur at the end of the meal which we felt was a nice touch.

When we return to Porec, without a doubt we will return the Konoba Aba.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Aba also viewed

 

Been to Konoba Aba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Aba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.