We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Palazzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala Marsala Tita 24, Porec 52 440, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Porec
cheshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Am coming to the end of a wonderful holiday in the beautiful town of Porec, Croatia. The Palazzo is probably the best hotel in the area and is situated in the best possible location at the head of the harbour. The staff are all helpful. The room has been well looked after and we have had a wonderful view of the island and the harbour. The breakfasts have been good, although maybe a little chaotic at times. However, the evening meals are wonderful and very good value. We did not book half board but ate in the hotel restaurant 3 times during our stay. Lovely food and very, very reasonable. Porec is a lovely place with plenty of restaurants and bars. We were hardly ever disappointed with our food and the prices are very reasonab le. It feels like Italy but without the Italian prices. Everything in our hotel was good apart from one or two little things at the beginning of our stay but these were put right immediately. The only real criticism is that the air conditioning could have been better.
If you come and stay please visit the Cafe Epoca directly behind the hotel. Great position and lovely snacks, the best in Porec. I never return to a place but I will definitely be coming back to The Palazzo in Porec. I also had a massage with Maria, the very best ever.

Room Tip: Our romm was 118, a great room with a brilliant view and good sized terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    48
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
87
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lovely hotel ideally situated in the centre of Porec, on the waterfront. Hotel is modern and spotlessly clean. Staff are pleasant & efficient. Beds were comfortable and the rooms quiet. Only draw back is the small pool and the plumbing. We often struggled to get a shower due to low water pressure at peak times and also water kept changing from boiling hot to freezing cold. Despite this minor irritation I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms were the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Simple and easy to walk anywhere from this hotel. Staff seems pleasant and professional.

Rooms modern and reasonable size.

Breakfast buffet ok but nothing above average.

Pool most welcome but a little on the small side and quite friendly as a result with the beds need to be quite close to each other.

Pretty quiet given its location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at Hotel Palazzo. Having paid for a standard room, requesting a sea view if possible, on arrival we found we had been given a spectacular sea/harbour view room with balcony. The room and bathroom facilities were first class, very clean and spacious with a large flat screen tv and fast, free wi-fi. All staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay, in particular the bar staff were very attentive and we enjoyed some nice conversations with them. As mentioned in other reviews, the buffet breakfast is outstanding. The selection and freshness made it almost impossible to choose each morning and the view from the terrace was beautiful. A real plus point was the availability of fresh fruit for guests, this could be found in a constantly replenished basket at the poolside spa throughout the day. We enjoyed two evening meals in the main restaurant, I believe the chef trained in a 3 Michelin starred restaurant in Italy before joining Hotel Palazzo. The food once again was faultless and excellent value considering the quality of dishes on offer. The sommelier was very helpful when selecting wines for the dishes ordered and it was apparent he had good links with many of the local Istrian wine producers. The only negative would be that the pool area is a little on the small side with a 'cosy' arrangement of sunloungers! Also, because of the hotels position on the peninsula there was a constant trickle of people walking past the perimeter of the hotel pool area, again making privacy for sunbathing difficult. Porec itself is a wonderful town, full of charm and character with something for everyone. We thoroughly recommend visiting the Istrian region of Croatia. Having seen the other hotels in Porec and experienced Hotel Palazzo, we feel it most certainly is the best hotel in Porec.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from a very enjoyable visit to Porec staying at the the Hotel Palazzo. We contacted the hotel and booked independently, all of our wishes were taken into consideration. As we were travelling with our 15 year old daughter they offered us an adjoining single room to our double, we were very pleasantly surprised at the size and aspect of both rooms as we had a wonderful double aspect for enjoying the fab sunsets. Breakfast served on the terras was varied and the staff very nice. wouldn't bother with the half board as you can eat much better and cheaper elsewhere. Only minus was the obsession of guests reserving loungers from 7 am in the morning (why?) didn't bother us as there are far better places to explore with your snorkel. If you reserve a parking place outside the hotel be aware that if you return late you will need to drive very slowly and carefully through the pedestrians.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel lies majestically at the very end of the peninsula of the Poreç-town.
It's really like a beautifully restored palace, also at the inside with Venetian-style furniture.
Staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a room upgrade from standard to superior, and I can tell you we had a great room! Nice sea view with a little island, very picturesque.
Breakfast with an extensive buffet and seaside table, lovely!
Only downside: the coffee machine was broken so no espresso, capuch,...

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We travelled along the coast from Trieste on spec, looking for somewhere nice to stay and talk about coming up trumps!!!

This hotel is fantastic, it has just been renovated, is very, very smart in a classical modern way that works well. The staff were all extremely friendly,its location is about a good as it gets,

The restaurant gave full silver service with great tasting food and was relatively inexpensive. (The live music was an added bonus.). We had the steak, wrapped in bacon and cooked in salt. It came to the table on a separate trolley still on fire which in itself was a little show

We got a larger room with a balcony at hardly any extra cost.(After some negotiations-LOL)

A week ago, We had hardly heard of Porec and we only stayed there 2 nights this time at the end of our travelling holiday. Next year, we will book a full week there.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room and hold out until the receptionist makes his call to his manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Obala Marsala Tita 24, Porec 52 440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Palazzo 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.