We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel! About as good as it gets.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Palazzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Palazzo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Palazzo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala Marsala Tita 24, Porec 52 440, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Porec
Eastbourne, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel! About as good as it gets.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We travelled along the coast from Trieste on spec, looking for somewhere nice to stay and talk about coming up trumps!!!

This hotel is fantastic, it has just been renovated, is very, very smart in a classical modern way that works well. The staff were all extremely friendly,its location is about a good as it gets,

The restaurant gave full silver service with great tasting food and was relatively inexpensive. (The live music was an added bonus.). We had the steak, wrapped in bacon and cooked in salt. It came to the table on a separate trolley still on fire which in itself was a little show

We got a larger room with a balcony at hardly any extra cost.(After some negotiations-LOL)

A week ago, We had hardly heard of Porec and we only stayed there 2 nights this time at the end of our travelling holiday. Next year, we will book a full week there.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room and hold out until the receptionist makes his call to his manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    49
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
14
87
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Really nice hotel with very friendly staff fabulous location close to town, restaurants and boat taxis /tours.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel stands proud at the end of the marina with views both across the waterfront with its posh yachts and out to sea. The impression in the foyer is all marble and chandelier but the hotel is welcoming and friendly and not nearly as pricey as its appearance suggests. Everything in the rooms is modern and comfortable and everything works as it should. Excellent terrace to eat breakfast on and to relax with drinks as you watch the catamaran to Venice tying up. Staff are friendly and helpful. Excellent restaurants just a few metres away and the lovely old town right there on your doorstep. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a marina/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feckenham
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel Pallazo is a sleek and stylish palace in the swankiest position in town. It's where the biggest yachts tie up... and yet it's welcoming and modestly priced. Super clean and super designed. The rooms are large. Not many of them have balconies but lots have large windows and sea views. Whisper quiet aircon made hot nights pleasant. Great buffet breakfast and a lovely terrace to eat and (later) to drink on. The best thing is the position right at the tip of the town. You can wander amongst Porec's old streets, walk or cycle in either direction along the lovely coastline (avoiding the obscenely enormous package hotels) and, in the evening easily escape from whatever mayhem is happening in town to a haven of peace. Nice helpful staff too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bærum
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

Perfekt!
This must have been ours best holiday! We have allready booked 10 days this summer!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

Stayed there two nights in the absolute low season, I would have thought they would give me a very nice room, but had to ask for a change to a room with balcony and harbour view if possible they managed but hidden in a corner, bathrooms and rooms adequate but looking at the beauty of the architecture I found the renovation done without taste, felt like an upmarket motel instead. Breakfast however was very nice large selection buffet style. Free wifi in the rooms and fast it was indeed. The town itself isles absolutely gorgeous, so clean, so historic, if you visit this region a must to see with your own eyes.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed for one week in August and loved the hotel. The hotel occupies the prime location and appears on postcards of Porec. In the evening it's the best place to have dinner and watch the sunset. Our room had a sea view and was quiet. The food was superb and we thoroughly enjoyed the steak. As I have anaphlaxic shock to prawns the waiter/resses happily changed an amusee bouche or starter if it had prawn in it. The staff were fantastic, friendly yet professional, we thought that they were a real asset and helped us learn a few more words of Croatian too! There is a small pool and an outside bar was under construction the week we stayed. A couple of evenings hosted live music which was delightful. There is a steam room and jacuzzi which is part of a 'Wellness centre', here you could collect pool towels or have a treatment if you wished. The Palazzo is an elegant place to stay in the perfect location, a stone's throw from old Porec where you can soak up the atmosphere and bustle, then return to the sanctuary of the hotel - a top spot!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Palazzo

Address: Obala Marsala Tita 24, Porec 52 440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Palazzo 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Palazzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.