We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a resort than camping, but great location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Lanterna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Camping Lanterna to your Saves list
Camping Lanterna
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Lanterna 1, Porec 52440, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Porec
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“More of a resort than camping, but great location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were looking forward to several days of sun and beach when we selected Camping Lanterna in Istria, Croatia. Our hopes were raised when we first saw the beautiful blue waters of the Adriatic and the beautiful countryside of The Istrian Peninsula. Miles of olive groves and grape orchards. Camping Lanterna, however, was far from rustic. It's more like a small town located in a beautiful bay. We tent camped, but the place is full of caravans, trailers, and RV's of all kinds. The actual beach is rather small, unless you want to swim off rocky shore land. The campground had ample and clean shroom facilities, kiosks for fresh bread, soft drinks, and newspapers. There are a couple of pretty good restaurants- good seafood and cevapacznici! There is also a supermarket and a shopping area. Traffic could be very heavy before and after the weekends and that was annoying! Employees were polite and professional. The water was lovely and there was plenty of opportunities for water sports. If you're of a certain age, don't camp near the Teen Club- the pulsing club music goes on too late!
If you're looking for a quiet, rustic camping experience, this isn't the place, but for those who want full facilities and don't mind spending a lot of money, this is the place. While you're there, don't forget to visit Porec, a beautiful, historic village down the road. Also check out Groznia (sp?) up on a mountain top in the country- ancient and artistic and worth the ride.

Room Tip: Camp/trailer sites are priced by location: the closer to the water, the more you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    16
    12
    7
See reviews for
76
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for 11 nights in a Eurocamp caravan.

The site was OK - clean and child friendly. There are a couple of supermarkets, one is far more stocked than the other and has a full butchers and bakers. There are a couple of bars by the pools and a large one by the entrance, which is right at one end of a very large site.

There were a number of places to get hot food - the bakery huts sold excelled bread and pastries, but the pizza restaurant was pretty low quality tourist food. The restaurant overlooking the sea was better, but still fairly average.

The kids pool is about 1 metre deep and a decent size and there is a second pool about 30cm deep with slides and stuff to sit on. Both were clean, sometimes crowded and other times OK. They were a bit on the cold side and a bit too chilly on the days that weren't really hot. The main pool is salt water, which neither us or the kids enjoyed as it stung their eyes and was also a bit too cold.

There are several kids playgrounds and we had a good game of mini golf, though inexplicably I only came second.

The Eurocamp caravan was OK, though 11 days with children and no TV ended up being a bit hard going. Despite it being cramped we managed OK - there is lots of storage space, big fridge, decent cooker and plenty of pans and utensils. You can park next to the caravan and there was plenty of space in front to play ball games. It came with a good BBQ and a decking balcony and 2 sun loungers too, so you could entertain yourselves there.

All in all, a reasonable place to stay, but with little in walking distance from the site, we found it would be better for a few days rather than a couple of weeks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampingLanterna, Manager at Camping Lanterna, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of Camping Lanterna we would like to thank you very much for staying in our camping . We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services and they provide us with objectives and directions towards continual improvements.
We hope that you'll have the chance to come to visit us again.
Until then, we are sending you lots of greetings

Camping Lanterna Managament
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed in a mobile home with Eurocamp - situated in a quiet area near the childrens pool. The campsite is huge, but we walked it ok with a 5 year old, a 3 year old, Daddy's shoulders and a stroller between us! Most places were a 15 min walk so not too bad - but it was on a hill so harder going back up in 35 degrees :)

The reception area has all of the more tacky stuff and due to being a Wi-Fi area, is always busy - we arrived at night and were put off by this, but it is actually fine elsewhere. The site caters amazingly well for the number of people - there are little bakeries scattered around, 3 restaurants, a couple of take away fast food places and 3 supermarkets. It really was well thought out.

The kids pool is fresh water and away from the sea, with a slide and several shallow pools and one deeper one - has a bar/fast food area and a nice grassy area with a small park. It was very pleasant and had everything you needed, including lovely fair value ice creams (on a cone with many flavours to choose), but was crowded and the deeper pool was over run with teens playing ball. But, it was august so nearly full, and still, it was ok. Near this area, was a nice enough play park.

The larger pool down by the sea front was sea water but nice, with a bar/fast food outlet and walls ice creams/lollies at twice the price! It also had a small kids pool and was again, fun to spend time there - certainly less riotous than other one!

The beach was ok - we were disappointed in the sea clearness on the actual beach as it kicked up mud/sand and being in the "pointed" end, it was not as idealic as other places. Our favourite beach was where you get the trip to Novigrad - by the sports centre and apartments lantern - here, the sea was very clear and it was just much nicer. All stones/pebbles so crocs a must.

The boat trip to Novigrad was worthwhile, as would be the one to Porec, but we stayed in Porec so didn't actually do it - but town definitely worth a visit - Novigrad is a VERY small version of it.

We also caught the land train which goes in a loop and it was interesting to do - certainly fun for kids, and an easy way to get to the further places.

Overall, the campsite was very well equipped and run, especially considering how large it is - the main pointer would be position - look into where you'd be staying as it really makes a difference. You could be on a "main" road through the site, or next to the loud entertainment, looking at the sea, or in a woody part - it really varies so much within the camp.

We actually booked through Eurocamp and don't have any complaints - the mobile homes are a little tired, but bound to be the same with whatever company - they do have some "new" Istrian homes (Olivia?) which are booked directly with campsite - Valamar, and they did look lovely. Else Roan looked very nice.

If you were bringing your own tent, the ground is very hard sand/mud and a bit stony - certainly not grassy so be prepared! Again, pitch size and position varied dramatically - do your homework.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampingLanterna, Manager at Camping Lanterna, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear guest,
On behalf of Camping Lanterna, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our camping.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our camping.
Thank you for your valuable review, with detailed information about your experience with us.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.

We are looking forward to see you again and untill then, we are sending you lots of greetings from Camping Lanterna!

Camping Lanterna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Camping Lanterna is an absolute gem in Croatia waiting to be found. A fantastic camp site with all the facilities you need, everything was super clean and tidy, a wide varity of food available including fresh bread and crossaints every morning (amazing). The price of food and drinks are expensive though not to bad considering what they offer. There are supermarkets where you can buy fresh meat for BBQing, fresh salad so eating out is not necessary. Two big pool area's, one specifically for children, which is quite a walk from the beach.
Our caravan pitch was about 20 strides from the sea, an excellent pitch which we have booked again in 4 weeks and again for next year.
The pitches are a little difficult to get onto, especially if you dont have a motor mover, but when we came and when we left we had offers of help from people walking by, which was great.
We were also in main season so the site was very busy though this was no problem for us, We had our pitch on the A side, which is quieter but a good walk from the main area and kids pool though it was a nice walk. The kids activities/club were a little poor (our kids 4 and 10) though there is one for older kids, maybe that one is better.

every morning people are running and cycling around the camp site, which is safe and relatively flat, Porec center not to far away either.

Our only gripe was that WiFi was a bit naff, its good in certain places but for us we needed to walk quite a distance to get it.

It was our first real caravan holiday apart from weekend trips and we loved it.
We would recommend it all day long...Superb!

Room Tip: A pitches w think are the best though you need to walk everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampingLanterna, General Manager at Camping Lanterna, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our camping.
Thank you for your valuable review, with detailed information about your experience with us.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.

We are looking forward to see you again and untill then, we are sending you lots of greetings from Camping Lanterna!
Camping Lanterna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brum
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were on a mini one week break and decide to spend time in Italy and realise Croatia is not that far...so we booked with Eurocamp and stay at Camp Lanterna and is one of the most biggest camp park I have ever seen.
The beach is nearby and had swimming poool, Restaurant, Bank Post office, own bakery,
information centre that happy to help with route and maps
Internet and many shops around even cafe and supermarket bikes hire and many sport equipment hire.
Everythings is on site.
More importantly the shower and toilet is extremely clean and lots of sink to do your washing up and it is very clean. The shower was power shower. Even had hairdryer provided.
Excellent campsite....Really very good and recommend it. We arrived nearly 11pm but they were there to let us in when they should have been closed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Eurocamp ready made tent on site with everythings we need inside....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampingLanterna, General Manager at Camping Lanterna, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We can only say THANK YOU for this fabulous review.
We are glad that you intrusted us with your mini one week break and it makes us proud to read that you enjoyed yourself in our camping, that you liked the food offer and other amenities. We try really hard to provide as much as possible to our guests, because when our guests are happy, we are happy.

We hope that you'll have the chance to come to visit us again.
Until then, we are sending you lots of greetings
Camping Lanterna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed a weeks holiday staying with company Roan in one of their new caravans. Our rep Daniel was extremely helpful and very professional. The site is massive and would suggest finding out where you have been sited as some areas need a car just to get to the entrance. Very clean park with excellent shower / toilet facilities for campers. Restaurant staff are very friendly and speak excellent English offering good food, restaurant at the entrance being the cheapest :) Not many English people at this park mainly German and Scandinavian people. Hired a car and visited porec and rovinj which were both beautiful. Also visited a place called Glavani park which was a great affordable day out for the kids. It was hour and half from lanterna but if you or your kids like ariel climbing and zip wires it's the place to go. Overall lovely week in Croatia and the weather was great too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampingLanterna, General Manager at Camping Lanterna, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Nichola F.

Thank you for taking time and for sharing such nice impressions about our camping site. We are glad that we meet your expectations and that you had a nice time here, enjoying our various gastronomic offer and surroundings.
It make us proud to read that you enjoyed yourself, and that you had a „lovely week in Croatia“
We hope that you'll have the chance to come to visit us again.

Until then, we are sending you lots of greetings
Camping Lanterna Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Fantastic, drove all the way down and back, staying with Eurocamp, I’m not one for camping but what a place super clean, very helpful team of staff, we will be booking for next year.

My only warning, this camp site is huge spread over miles, we visited early in the season and the site was not busy, if you visit in the height of the season this site holds upwards of 12000 people. But from what I have seen the site and staff would manage.

Room Tip: make sure you look at the site map before booking, some sites better than others due to the size of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Lanterna

Address: Lanterna 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Porec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Camping Lanterna 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camping Lanterna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Lanterna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.