We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plitvice Lakes

Plitvice Lakes
Plitvicka jezera bb | Bahnhofstrasse 59, Plitvice Lakes National Park 53231 Plitvicka jezera, Croatia
053751015
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Plitvice Lakes like an insider
Private Tour
$136*
and up
Private Tour: Plitvice Lakes Day Trip from Zagreb
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is one of the true natural wonders of Europe, and is right up there with any natural attraction I have ever visited. It is a series of lakes, waterfalls, streams, and other water features. The lakes are the bluest of blue, due to mineral composition. There are animals, but the main attraction is the water. We visited in June. The walking is very easy, and there are well-constructed paths everywhere. You don't go off the path, or you will get very wet.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,817
    414
    81
    22
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Stunning lakes, national park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Take your time and really stroll around the lakes. My tour company did not include it so I had to rush through with a guide and only wished I had planned a few days there. Ask to see the absolutely charming milltown right outside the park, where grain is still being ground with a water wheel. One of the cutest places I have ever seen. It was right out of Walk Disney's ride where you are swallowed by a whale and end up in a charming miniature village. The lakes are always on every list of most beautiful lakes on earth.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Marvellous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I visited this lovely park in the first week of October. We drove down from Zagreb and were here for approximately 5 hours and managed to cover most of it. We had no issues parking our car.

Beautiful series of lakes at different levels, waterfalls and what lovely colors !! Lush vegetation, well marked trails. Walking on the boardwalks admiring this wonder of nature, listening to the waterfalls was an awesome feeling. Did the short boat ride since it was included in the ticket. A serene beautiful experience.

There is a restaurant just near the boat ride area, most of the items got sold out by the time we reached there -1pm.

This park is a MUST VISIT.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stunning pristine blue water, and loads of cascades. We walked into a nice little cave too. The main waterfall is the most beautiful one I have ever seen. It is just so tranquil to walk around I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“JUST AMAZING- PLITVICE AND GORGEOUS VILLAGE OF RASTOKE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

What an amazing place, one of the best places I have visited. It was so inviting and the water was drinkable it was so gorgeous and clean. We visited in August 2013 and whilst there are people it is by no means unbearable. There are more crowds in a shopping mall on a Saturday in US or Australia. Some people on here amaze me with their whinging. If we wanted to pass someone we just sped up along side them and it was no major issue. As for people who complain about price and organisation - you have got to be kidding - it is excellent and this was my second time here and I was here in August which is the busiest period. $20 for a UNESCO heritage site where you can walk around all day is cheap thus don't know where these whingers come from . A theme park IN US and Australia cost a lot more than this and the park is well mapped and transportation good. They don't have food and drink outlets and seating everywhere but restricted to designated areas as this would ruin the parks natural habitat as people would start having picnics everywhere and start leaving their rubbish everywhere.

The lake can be best seen in 6-8 hours where you can take your time and enjoy everything it has to offer. Staying at the gorgeous village of Rastoke just half hour up the road is a must . It is a small village built on waterfall. Stay the night here and then venture into the park. Check out my amazing pictures below.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plitvice Lakes also viewed

Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
 
Plitvice Lakes National Park, Central Croatia
Nova Krslja, Plitvice Lakes National Park
 

Been to Plitvice Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plitvice Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.