We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place into the wild!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ethno House Plitvice

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ethno House Plitvice to your Saves list
Ethno House Plitvice
Jezerce 21, Plitvice Lakes National Park 53231, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place into the wild!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Nice place to stay into the wild, close to a secondary entrance to the park, is a very suggestive location. You can also eat something for dinner at ten euro (pasta or meat) but please mind that you will pay extra for any drink. In the end a very pleasant experience

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    37
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
18
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Overall we had a reasonably comfortable stay here. The room was ok, basic but sufficient, the only minus there was that the showercabin leaked. The staff said they had tried to fix it but could not, so would not.The staff was the biggest let down of the place. It seemed to be run by a family of daughters, whereof one of the girls was the one constantly present. We dont know what the problem was exactly, but she could improve her communication skills. She came accros annoyed all the time, arrogant and uninterested. We felt bothered to ask for something. For instance:Sitting at a table outside that was empty, for dinner that we had reserved, she would come up and just state: you cannot sit there, you have to move, now. Without any further explanation. btw: this is not due to a language thing, we sproke croatian with her.

The place also is rather noisy, there is a motorway right next to it and with the window open, sleeping is disrupted. The fact that the rooms windows are right above the terrace also made our room, in which we had left the window open, full of the smell of smoke because of the smokers outside. Outside there is a nice place to enjoy the sun, they have a tiny pool (suitable for children) next to which they have sunbeds, and places to sit, read and you can order a drink. Location for Plitvice is outstanding.

All in all: reasonable, but would not come again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed for one night after visiting Plitvice Lakes. Ethno House was a quaint place, built in traditional style with lots of wood decor. We stayed in a room on the top floor where the roof sloped in (like an A shape), so would not be great for really tall people. We were in a family room with a double and two singles, which made the room feel smaller. Bathroom was small, but adequate for one night stay.
We ate at the guest house, as the receptionist informed us there were no restaurants in the immediate area. Dinner was nice simple fare and quite generous portions (2 pieces of whole fish per person). Breakfast was basic, but once again adequate.
Free wifi was good to have. Overall, nice place to base yourself for the lakes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great location close to Plitvice lakes.
Owner was very helpful, giving advice on where to eat.
We ate dinner at the house on the first night and it was delicious. Loads of meat and potatoes, and soup and grappa.
The room was clean and, though the shower ceiling in the bathroom was quite low, spacious.
The breakfast was plenty filling enough before a day walking through the national park.
They are building a swimming pool at the moment so there will be reason to stay for longer in the future, but right now, one day walking in the park would be plenty enough.
Great location, 1.5k from the entrance to the park.

Room Tip: We had the room on the top floor. Ask for one on the lower floors and you will have less stairs, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at Etno House with another couple. We both had very nice new rooms. Even though it is in a rural area, it was a bit noisy until 10:30 pm because our room was over the kitchen. The staff is friendly and quite helpful. Breakfast was good. But this is not the place to stay if you do not have a car. We came by bus from Zagreb. It's a half kilometer walk from the bus stop -- not bad -- but about 2.5 to the park. The family/staff drove us to the entrance but said they could not pick us up because they were serving dinner. We ended up walking the busy, dangerous road in the dark close to 2 miles. I give this hotel my highest recommendation but warn against staying there if you do not drive.

Room Tip: Try not to be over the kitchen and dining room because of clean up after meals and set up for breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here for our last night in Croatia as part of our honeymoon. Intending to visit the Plitvice Lakes NP, we arrived, quickly changed and prepared to go out again.
The owners were friendly and just lovely. Despite our lack of Croatian and their slightly hesitant English (the husband is more fluent and language wasn't an issue) we had a nice chat and told them our plans for the day. The weather had turned drizzly and overcast and the owners were falling over themselves trying to loan us rain jackets and umbrellas when they heard our intentions. The distance to the NP is approximately 1.5km. Close enough to walk if you dont' wish to pay for parking.

We dined inhouse that night, the owner insisting in a very nice way on toasting to our newly married status. The food was great and good value for money. It was nice to relax over a glass or two of wine after an afternoon of walking and know that one of us didn't have to worry about driving.

The room we had was nice and warm. It seemed to be heated through one of the walls. The bathroom we had a couple of problems with. The shower either lets water out through the glass door or the base didn't drain properly. We ended up with a sodden floor. The bathroom is of a good size and modern in design, just don't leave your belongings on the tiles in case!

Breakfast the next morning was simple and plentiful to get us going for the day. The free internet meant that we could check our emails and checkin for our flights later that day.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. The bathroom was the only downside but we could laugh about that and it didn't ruin our time here. The owners were friendly, the premises were spotlessly clean and the accommodation was convenient to the national park.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverwijk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

On our Balkan trip we had to go to the Plitvice Lakes. And it was well worth the trip into the Croatian Inlands.

We drove to the Lakes at dawn and we did not have a reservation. We just walked in and there was one room left (just one...).

The staff (or better, the family) where very busy butt helpful.

The room was not worth the price (€80), but because it was so convenient located (just a few miles from the entrance of the Lakes) is was ok for one night. Also it was clean. Butt if you do have more time for preparation, do find something else. You can sleep near the lakes with locals for like €20. And 20 kilometres further you can sleep in a hotel for like €40. But again, this ís damn close to the entrance!

The breakfast was o.k., although the starting time was quite late: 8 a.m. The Lakes open at 7 a.m. and you really want to do a big part of your sightseeing before the crowd comes in (at noon).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ethno House Plitvice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethno House Plitvice

Address: Jezerce 21, Plitvice Lakes National Park 53231, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Central Croatia > Plitvice Lakes National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Plitvice Lakes National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ethno House Plitvice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ethno House Plitvice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.