We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Maksimilian

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Guesthouse Maksimilian to your Saves list
Guesthouse Maksimilian
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Franjevacka 12, Osijek 31000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Osijek B&B and Inns
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Located in the old fortress its nice and quiet, but still has bars, cafe's and restaurants around it.
The room we had #1 was huge and clean but right next to dinning area.
Breakfast was good and felt like being at home.
Friendly staff
A bit of a walk to the town
Nice places to eat in the fortress anyway.
Very charming place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
20
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent location within the old Fortress/Tvrđa. The service and hospitality of all the staff is always at a high level for all their guests. Breakfast is till 10 am and it is very tasty. Rooms are large and comfortable and very clean and each one is decorated in a special and original way that adds personality to the hotel.
Every time I visit Osijek I gladly stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This beautiful guesthouse is up there with the best accomodation I have ever stayed in. Of course there is no bar or swimming pool or any other unnecessary amenitiy that goes with so called "luxury" accommodation which one always pays for but never uses. There is though character, charm and history galore. The guesthouse itself is magnificent and the rooms are beautiful with everything one would expect in a top quality guesthouse. What you don't expect is the warmth and gratuitous hospitality of the people who own and run this gorgeous place in fascinating and beautiful Osijek. Truly a place to be experienced for yourself if you are lucky enough to be in this part of the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bamako, Mali
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were here with a small tour group, and the two of us stayed on the top floor in a spacious room with sloped walls (sort of a remodeled attic space). The house was built in the 1800s and retains many period details, including a beautiful curving staircase and gorgeous chandeliers. The breakfast was good--the usual selection of cold cuts, yogurt, breads, jams, boiled eggs, juice, cereal, coffee, etc. The owner is a gregarious, energetic woman who made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The location is great--just a few minutes from restaurants, bars, and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here as part of a tour and had a lovely stay. Our room was quite big and the bathroom looks recently updated. There is a 24 hour bakery on the corner and it is a 3 min walk to the Square of the old town and about 20-30 min to the main city square, it's a nice meander along the river. The hosts are very helpful and there is a large breakfast offered in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. The rooms are nice, but small and the furniture has sharp corners, leading to a few bruises. Other than that they were comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and gave a flavor of the region. The owner is usually around, friendly and very gracious. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

On the basis of the good reviews I had read, I stayed here for two nights and was not disappointed. The historic location, friendly staff and excellent facilities made the visit very special and I can recommend staying there. Lots of good restaurants and bars within walking distance, and the local tram is only a few minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Maksimilian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Maksimilian

Address: Franjevacka 12, Osijek 31000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Slavonia > Osijek-Baranja County > Osijek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Osijek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guesthouse Maksimilian 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Maksimilian is situated in the very centre of the old, baroque part of Osijek (,,Tvrda"- The Fortress). A distincive Austo- Hungarian touch of the Art Nouveau style, individual approach and modern facilities at reasonable prices, make us ideal accommodation for short business trips, family visits, weekend breaks... As the present owners, we are giving our best in restoring the house respecting the uniqueness and the tradition of the object itself. We are proud to anounce that our guesthouse is TripAdvisor "TravelersChoice winner" for 2015. Maksimilian is a relaxed, romantic and hopefully inspiring place to stay, miles away from the big hotels with lots of stars. Luckily, our guests are our stars! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Guesthouse Maksimilian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Maksimilian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.