We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately bad value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novi Spa Hotel & Resort

Save Saved
You added Novi Spa Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novi Spa Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zagori b.b., Novi Vinodolski 51250, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Novi Vinodolski
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unfortunately bad value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is simply stunning on the first look. The design is fabulous, well styled, gardens look great, the view is breathtaking. BUT… there are so many details that aren’t right and simply should not occur in a 5* hotel:
- the hotel is more or less new, but there are so many things that are already broken / far from perfect (e.g. wallpapers hanging down from the walls - not just a bit, really hanging down)
- breakfast area is way to loud (the breakfast room is huge and very bare, meaning that the noise level is crazy, no way you could enjoy a relaxing holidays breakfast)
- the service is simply not good enough – in any 2* hotel they do more for your comfort and welcome you more
- you need to pay for the garage 10€ per day (seriously… the hotel is in the middle of nowhere; I am totally ok with paying for the garage in cities but there it is only their extension of ripping off… )
Ok, but of course there are also some very positive sides:
- I found the spa area super, I loved it
- the views are great, I love this on holidays, I had a feeling that I am 100% more relaxed because of peace & tranquillity there
- the food in the restaurants that were open at the time of our visit was good, we enjoyed it very much

I realize that I am extremely critical: this hotel has all the ingredients to be great (location, design…) but fails on very simple, but important difference: in some places you feel ripped off and in some you gladly pay for the luxury. Here I felt ripped off, unfortunately…

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    26
    18
    10
See reviews for
38
37
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sarajevo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Apartments are nice and comfortable for families with older kids - I hate to spend time in tiny rooms while you are trying to relax :-). SPA area is nice - agree with comments that pool water is cold 27C is quite low for me.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. The weather during our stay was terrible, so it was very important to have their proper assistance.

Room Tip: for families with older children - definitely premium apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just returned from our trip to Croatia and had stayed 3 nights in the Novi Spa. The facility is located at an awesome place and it would be a fanatsic resort with the right management and another staff. Our first impresssion had been very positive, the lounge of the hotel is beautiful and the style very modern. But as more we have stayed we had faced tremendous negative impressions: The whole hotel is after 5 years in use ran down and it seems nobody take care about maintenance. The Spa is nice but needs maintenance, some places are dirty and broken. The beach is terrible with concret walls which look like it never had been really finished. The Service is lousy and the personal seem to be educated in the Ex -Soviet Union. No smile and they love the word "No, not possible". But beside of this we had been tried to ripped of by the personal: The lady at the check out desk tried to give us a bill which had been twice (!) of the accomodation fee as on the internet displayed. After we have refused to pay she called somebody and changed the invoice as we had showed her on the internet. No explanation, no excuse. She even was not competent enough to explain us why the reception is always busy when you try to call them. Prices are way to high for a ressort in the mddle of nowhere (almost 6 EUR for a small Espresso!) and every extra gets charged. Try to avoid this Ressort until the whole management including staff gets exchanged!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I had spacious, comfortable accommodation with gorgeous views from the balcony.
…. Beautiful garden with authentic Mediterranean species of plants, the smell of rosemary and great views from almost every corner of the hotel.
Friendly staff.
stylish equipped rooms for rest and relaxation with many terraces with open views on the small, mysterious and stylish hotel beach.
Peaceful and harmonious space is why I liked to be here and I am going to be back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Overall: the price-value ratio is way too high!!!

The resort in bullet-points:
• The entire resort is quite stylish but not really well-maintained, except the garden which is beautiful.
• The apartment was spacious, comfortable and tidy.
• Water in all the pools and even in the SPA area were too cold and salty for relaxing.
• Most of the equipments were out of order in the Gym.
• Check-in time is 4pm causing, check-out time is 10am.

During our stay:
• We were only a few km from a huge fire reaching the nearest village, but no information was provided on it.
• For a half a day, there was no electricity in our apartment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

The apartments are big but that is the only positive thing I can say about them. Our apartment was not very clean, there was no light in the outdoor hall of the building, so at night you come in a strange place in total darkness. we are a family of 4 but only 1 of us was able to take a hot shower, the rest of us had ice cold water in the shower. When I asked the doorman "can I ask you something", his only reply was "I'm on a break", I first thought it was a joke, but it wasn't. By checking out early in the morning, I was told to call for a buggy, because it was a long walk to the garage. But nowhere in the apartment was any phone number of the reception desk or any other service (except of their restaurants). When I complaint by the reception I just got a kind of movement of the receptionists shoulders, and that was it.... I will never go back or recommend this place to anyone. The only positive thing was the size of their spa, it looked great from a distance, but even there where the best days long gone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Beatiful, stylish, in a premium location with stunning shoreline and numerous pool areas topped by an ambitious spa area - Novi Spa Hotel and Resort is a very attractive destination. However, with a high price tag, conscious travellers will want to expect a high level of service and comfort. This is not really there - yet?

It seems the facilities were created for stylish hotel travellers but a majority of guests are families with children - living in the self service apartments. As a result, the family oriented pool areas become truly crowded (all sunloungers busy) and do not at all bring the kind of experience the price tag would indicate. This being said, there is everything you'd ask for - nice pool bar, water sports, jacuzzis etc.

Like mentioned in previous reviews, this resort is truly too big for it's own maintenance - and areas are quickly becoming dated - unless heavy maintenance will be undertaken.

Also beware - you are not allowed to bring your car into the resort area, which results in quite long walks especially for those living in the self service apartments considering the area lacking a grocery store. The golf cart system is, which has been indicated by other reviewers, not working well. We figured out it just does not work to wait for a scheduled golf bus (they are intended to leave every 20-30 minutes!) - but if you ask the staff's help to book you often get a golf cart quite quickly.

Via the shoreline almost anyone can enter the resort, and use the beach sunloungers etc. There seems to be issues with security because of this. We did not experience it - but we did have a lot of confusion on which types of guests are allowed to use what areas of the resort. You might want to ask at reception upon arrival (they do not suggest this information to you).

Novi offers free internet, which is not really true. The upload speed is blocked at 5kB/s which makes most work impossible to perform, and the in-room Wifi is based on cheap ADSL routers on the internal telephone network and just does not deliver professional wireless access. Many ports outside of http are blocked so many services in your mobile will not work.

This said, management seems eager to learn and improve - why our recommendation is to be a challenging guest, and it might help Novi become the kind of resort it's stylish picture gallery and price of accomodation suggests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novi Spa Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novi Spa Hotel & Resort

Address: Zagori b.b., Novi Vinodolski 51250, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Novi Vinodolski
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Novi Vinodolski
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novi Spa Hotel & Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOVI SPA HOTELS & RESORT is a unique luxury car-free beach resort in Croatia where the beauties of crystal-clear Adriatic Sea and unspoiled forested mountains blend with the array of world-class amenities. Whether you are on a family holiday, spa and wellness retreat, romantic getaway, business trip or active sports’ vacation NOVI SPA HOTELS & RESORT will try to create an unforgettable experience for you. Stretching along one kilometre of coastline, on the slightly sloped terrain, almost all hotel rooms or suites and luxury apartments provide stunning panoramic sea-views from their own balconies, terraces or gardens. Beautifully appointed interiors are thoughtfully designed in empathy with its natural surroundings enriching it with the finest amenities and state-of-the-art equipment of the world’s best resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Splendia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Novi Spa Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novi Hotel Novi Vinodolski
Novi Spa Hotel And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novi Spa Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.