We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too much unfinished business in overpriced resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novi Spa Hotel & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Novi Spa Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Novi Spa Hotel & Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Zagori b.b., Novi Vinodolski 51250, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Novi Vinodolski
Munich, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“too much unfinished business in overpriced resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

When i came in the resort,my first impresions were actually really good and if you asked me i would have given them 5 stars at first look. The whole resort looks really modern and the infrastructure is really atractive and nice. But after a few days spent in resort i find a lot of problems and really stuff that shouldnt be seen in a 5 star resort-hotel. The biggest problems were:
- very bad looking and overpriced garage,for almoust 300€ a night you would expect to get a free parking lot or if you are already paying it,you would expect it to look like a deacent garage,not a junkyard
- the golfcart sistem is generaly really cool and i totaly liked it,but the problems start when it starts to rain and you have to walk 10mins from your "deluxe apartment" to restaurant and reception because nobody wants or has time to pick you up
- generaly the whole resort is one big construction site,all around you things are either under construction or closed because of rebuilding and similar stuff(one example is the spa center,half of the the deck is closed in the middle of high season and it all looks like one big construction site)
- at the end maybe the weakest and most anoying thing is also the best thing of that resort - spa center. when i say the most anoying thing i really mean it,to many problems and really not a good mainterance of some parts of the center start to get on you nerves after few days. lets start with one of the worst exchange rooms i have ever seen,no soap under showers, 3 of 5 days there was no paper for hand drying,you must practicly beg for slippers,mantle and towels that are very old and used up but still they charge you a penalty of 50-100€ if you damage any of them..and at the end maybe the worst thing of all the relay zone,water driping from roof almoust every day,you cant find anything there(remember you are paying 300€ per night and you dont even get water,tea or somekind of fruit to fresh up in relax zone)

there would be a lot more things to say about this resort that got on my nerves during my time spent there,but i dont want to make it sound so bad,because the resort also has some good things. definitely one of the best thing was our accomodation in our apartmants that really look great and have more additional equipment than you really need(only real minus is having some old type of tv instead of modern plasma they say you will get).also i must say that breakfast was really great in hotel restaurant,one of the best i've been to(dinners and lunches were also good,but a bit overpriced,something like 100€ per meal with desert and drinks).staff was mostly friendly and nice,depending from person to person.waiters,reception and parking staff were really nice,but people working on pools and spa center were a bit unprofesional and not prepared for 5star hotel(in my opinion then tend to bother guest to much with uncesesary stuff that you sometimes get a feeling like they dont understand that their job is to please the guest and not to make him obey all of their restrictions that they made to make their jobs easier)

all in all i would probably come back,but definitely not for the price of 1500€ for 5 nights in half-finished resort that should defintely give a lot more back to its guest to compensate for all stuff that are not working like they should. one day it will definitely be a luxury place to come and it will be worth its price and all aditional costs,but until that day they should really think about cutting the prices or atleast not taking aditional 1500€ in 5 days for water,fruit,parking,lunch-dinner,etc.,because for a lot less than 500-600€ per day you can get all inclusive vacations on a lot more attractive places and in better hotels

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    32
    32
    23
    11
See reviews for
49
47
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The property is really nice and has a great view from every side.Apartments are also very good, but it all looks like it hasn't been finished yet. The stuff at the restaurant is friendly and polite, but you can't find juice in the morning, there are some mixtures of juices and some Biotta juice if you find it by any luck...Also, if you want to buy water, you don't have a place to do it, which is crazy! There is a market outside the property, but we went to Novi Vinodolski, by car to buy it....In my opinion, the service is overall average and the price is too high.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senica, Trnava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I just want to sum up current situation:

- 3 star services for the price of 5 star - I say correct
- already deteriorating - correct
- unfinished - correct mainly the spa and beach area
- spa - looks not well maintained, water in the indoor pool was cold 24 degrees of Celzius

Additional things to consider:
- we had to pay for 4 year old son extra 35 euro per day / price of the apartment in the neighborhood for 4 people per day
- no baby cot was provided for 2 years old son even at extra charge (we had our own portable baby cot)

The most important minus:
You can not drive with your car to the villa where is your apartment.You have to leave your car at the reception (700 hundred meters in our case and 34 stairs). If you have full car loaded with stuff for kids this is your nightmare!!! They will actually send someone with golf car but it is annoying.

Not worth of the full price !!! - look at the various discount portals and you can find good deals (5 nights for 500 euro, including breakfast). Definitely not worth to pay more (the full price is around 1000 euro per 5 nights)

Room Tip: You have no chance to pick a room because each of the houses has several rooms in various standard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Very nice place to relax, modren style, nicely decorated sorrounding with flowers and trees, clean, offering a lot of activities.

Room Tip: It might be a bit noisy in apartments near swimming pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stylish and airy ambience, nice and comfortable apartments, friendly staff, great SPA. I liked it!

Room Tip: We stayed in apartmants, not hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have spent 4 days during first week of May. Nature is beautifull, views and sceenery are very nice.
But if you have ever been to any respectable 4 star hotel or 5 star you will feel that you are beening a shearing sheep from morning till down. In the beggining it takes a day or two to stop rationalising and finding excuses why nothing is as it should be.
240 Euro per night and the food quality and asortment is not more than 3 star, cook is unskilled improviser, dinner is the same, they use leftovers from brekfats as a cold starters for dinner, desserts are grocery store prepacked dough and cakes, meet and fish are third class quality all frozen prior to cooking. They are running out of coffie, fruits, dinner dishes all the time during the meals and replacing it slowly, waitting time can be 10-15min (number of guests was not more than 20% occupacy) It takes another 10-15 min to get your table ready if there were peple sitting before you. It happend 2 times the waitter forgot and did not show up at all. We were eating dinner withouth cloth and napkins.
Waitters are not organised, they are not trained, not friendly and they show you that one additional request (e.g. please can we, not him, close the terrace door during the breakfast, it is very windy) is one rquest too much. From this point on he ignored us.
Not to mention that breakfast coffee is additionaly charged, parking space is additionaly charged (do not forget that hotel is way out from city center with huge empty parking space all around it).
If I write all the details it would be several pages long, so I will stick just to those things that cames first to my mind to give you an impression why you will feel robbed and sad and you will defenetly want to forget this experience and price as soon as possible.
Rooms are very small, balcony even smaller. Our upper neighbours were smoking and all the ashes was all over our chairs and clothes, the balcony floor has two open lines along the entire length so all your neighbours do is folling directly onto your head.
The balcony view was very limited huge trees are blocking it. Room is decent 4 stars. And mini bar is ok.
All over the room and hotel as such there are traces of poor or no maintenance. Cracks in the bathroom tilse, wall, dirty wall, paint and construction marks not cleaned at all, not to mention ants everywhere.
Spa and pools are story for itselfe ... dressing room has no toilet, showers are dirty all the time, water is cold, pool is dirty, not maintained, cracks and staine marks, fungus and algae everywhere.
Pool bar staff is even worse than hotel staff. At 5 p.m. you can not get even a sandwich because it is when their shift end and they go home, just one waitter stays and he will serve you only drinks.
Not to mention that is only place to get the food between the meals.
As mentioned I could go on and on ... to make it short ...if you want to have a nice vacaton or/and decent value for money please do stay away from this place.
I have read trip advisor reviews too late (after allready made a payment) majority are very good reflection of a reality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Having travelled extensively in Croatia, this was one of the most soulless hotels we have been to. There was no problem with the accommodation just the feel of the place.....cold and antiseptic. As a perfect example, at dinner we opted for the Chef's choice 5 course dinner, they managed to serve the entire thing in 45 mins! Some kind of record! We did feel as if we were on a conveyor belt. I think this hotel was built for the Russian market ... very designery not a lot of class.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novi Spa Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novi Spa Hotel & Resort

Address: Zagori b.b., Novi Vinodolski 51250, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Primorje-Gorski Kotar County > Novi Vinodolski
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Novi Vinodolski
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Novi Spa Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NOVI SPA HOTELS & RESORT is a unique luxury car-free beach resort in Croatia where the beauties of crystal-clear Adriatic Sea and unspoiled forested mountains blend with the array of world-class amenities. Whether you are on a family holiday, spa and wellness retreat, romantic getaway, business trip or active sports’ vacation NOVI SPA HOTELS & RESORT will try to create an unforgettable experience for you. Stretching along one kilometre of coastline, on the slightly sloped terrain, almost all hotel rooms or suites and luxury apartments provide stunning panoramic sea-views from their own balconies, terraces or gardens. Beautifully appointed interiors are thoughtfully designed in empathy with its natural surroundings enriching it with the finest amenities and state-of-the-art equipment of the world’s best resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere so you can book your Novi Spa Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novi Spa Hotel And Resort
Novi Hotel Novi Vinodolski

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novi Spa Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.