We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zaton Holiday Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Zaton Holiday Resort to your Saves list
Zaton Holiday Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Draznikova 76 T, Nin HR-23232, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nin
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice family resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Pros: Great for families with kids. Great sandy beach and large pool area. The resort has a “on-water” play ground at the beach for bigge kids and in the Lots and lots of play grounds. The resort holds its own restaurant/shopping street with around 6 restaurants and shops which gives a nice atmosphere. Close by (3 km) the little town NIN is found which holds more restaurants ands shops, however still small.
Cons: Sun beds, unbrellas, Fitness, sports etc. is extra cost, e.i. bring your own stuff or buy things in e.g. “InterSpar”.
Tip: Do you shopping of morning bread just outside the intrance of the resort. Do your general shopping in Zadar at “Plodine” or “InterSpar”. Coffee, bread, pizza’s and fish is excellent quality and very cheap. Rather then driving down to Zaton, consider flying into Zadar airport, which is used by e.g. Ryanair.

Room Tip: The resort allows you to camp, rent a mobile home, or appartments of either 3 og 4 stars. The 3star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    136
    34
    19
    14
See reviews for
226
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esbjerg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in a very new 4* apartment, including AC and internet. The apartment was very nice. It was well furnished, clean and had a good size. The only thing that did not work well was the internet. The check-in and information desk for the apartments was quick and freindly. The camp has many offers for children and also for teenagers. The shop and restaurant area was a bit crowded (high season). Also the pool was crowded, so we used only the beach/sea.
The guests were a mix of many different nationalities, and not too many from one country. We will return :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Székesfehérvár, Fejer, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed in the 4 stars apartment. That was very nice, comfortable, 2 bathrooms, big dining room with kitchenette, very nice balcony. In the self-service restaurant was very good. The beach was beautiful and our children could play a lot in the playground. We had a great time there.

Room Tip: The bigger room is better because you should have more space for children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narvik, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have chosen the half-board, because of the kids, but don't expect too high quality food.
Beside the food, it was a really nice experience, would come back also next year.
The pool is little bit outdated and too small for this amount of people.
As this is a resort for guests only I would recommend some kind of cashless payment system for the future, don't like to have money with we on the beach.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe apartments, those have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed in their new villa complex which is in a nice shady woodland part of the resort. The apartment was great with new appliances and a nice balcony. Wouldn't recommend self-catering in it though due to the small kitchenette and limited space for preparing and eating.
We went half-board which was an excellent choice as the food and drink at the resort restaurant was varied and tasty. Nice not having to worry about shopping and cooking on a holiday.

The pool is definitely family friendly i.e. don’t expect to do much swimming in it. The beaches are sandy which in Croatia is very rare. The sea is shallow and good for young children.

Really can’t think of anything negative about this resort except for perhaps the long queues at reception. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are Americans and stayed at Zaton for a week in July 2013. We had a great time. This is not the precious Europe of cobblestone streets and fine cuisine. Its a HUGE budget resort with folks from all around Europe, tons of activities and options, and generally cheap and decent food. The fact that they charge you for almost everything gets a little annoying, but bottom line is that our kids (ages 4 and 8) had a great time (a stark contrast to trying to drag them around old historic ciities and museums etc). We stayed for a week with half board at a pretty reasonable cost via a family package. It would be very strange to come here without kids though - its really set up for famlies. Two irritants: really really bad internet connection and painfully early checkout time. But all in all it was great.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the apartments, which are small but servicable. Suggest that you ask for one on...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This resort had all the amenities needed to enjoy a great time in Croatia! The check-in process was not streamlined by any means. Plan on waiting in line a minimum of 30 minutes, and make sure you bring your booking confirmation or voucher with you (we did, but others did not and it caused an issue). Once you get to the counter they will take and hold your passport for a couple of days. You can pick them up after a couple days and leave another form of ID there until you check-out. They give you a map and pool tickets. The pool tickets are paper, so you may have to get replacements during your trip (plan on waiting in line for those). While you are checking in get your wifi log-in and password, it will save you time later. They should really work to have more people working the reception counter during check-in, it is a bit of a mad house.

Everything on the resort is paid by Croatia Kuna or credit card. There are ATMs (Banc Automat) available on the resort so getting cash is not an issue. I have stayed at resorts in Italy very similar to this and they issued us an electronic bracelet that you could load with money from your credit card. You wore this bracelet and it acted as your access to the pool, excursions, resort, etc. Whenever you made a purchase (food, drink, gifts, rented bikes, etc) the bracelet would be scanned and charged to the card. This was great since you did not have to carry money on you. I would definitely recommend that Zaton look into this process.

We stayed in the mobile homes (MH) for a week and they were as advertised. A couple things that were negative were: 1) Wifi connectivity was not possible where our MH was located, 2) NO outdoor barbecue grills were allowed (which is a big deal to me) and 3) Ants in the MH were very bad on our 3rd day (and we are very clean people). I purchased a can of ant spray and sprayed the entire MH which got rid of the issue. Also, if you are in a MH there is parking for 1-2 cars at the MH, which is a plus.

The kids (4/7/16) loved the pool and it had an area for swimmers/non-swimmers alike. The beach was quite rocky in some areas some a cheap pair of water shoes is required for adults and children to really enjoy their time.

The restaurants were adequately priced for the meal you received. Of course, they were priced higher than that of restaurants off the resort, but nothing to excessive. If you are going to buy sunscreen, children floats, etc I would recommend purchasing off the resort if you are cost conscious.

The wifi connectivity was mentioned at the MH area, but was really an issue most anywhere at the park. Apparently you receive two hours free a day (which sounds fine to check e-mail and social networking sites), but actually logging on and gaining access is VERY difficult. We were told that the connectivity at the reception area (front office) was much better, and we still had issues with connecting. We are a tech savy family and accessed using multiple macbook pro's and iPads (continual problem). It did not by any means ruin the vacation, but I believe something that people should know before arriving. By the way, in addition to the two free hours a day you can purchase internet for about 20 EUR per day (not cheap).

All in all, this was a great location with plenty to offer and the price was very competitively priced. I will definitely recommend this resort to friends, but make sure they know the few issues we encountered. Croatia is a beautiful country would much to offer with their beaches, national parks and tourist/non-tourist areas. Oh, and if you pass a sign with a pig on a stick (also called pig on a spit) stop and try it. It is the most wonderful meat and they are located all throughout Croatia.

Room Tip: If you can choose your MH, select one closer to the reception/beach area. It will definitely save a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zaton Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaton Holiday Resort

Address: Draznikova 76 T, Nin HR-23232, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Nin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zaton Holiday Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 590
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaton Holiday Resort is the ideal place for a memorable family getaway. This paradise is within easy reach and boasts a great location in the heart of the beautiful Adriatic. A blend of calm spots in the shadow of pine trees, the seductive delights of a long sandy beach, and an endless list of fun-filled activities are the keys to Zaton's charm. Set into the Mediterranean landscape, the apartments are built in a traditional Dalmatian architectural style. -4-star air-conditioned apartments -3-star apartments. Zaton camp stretches along the beautiful bay in the shadow of natural pine forest. Many prestigious awards confirm the excellent service offered to our guests and put it among the very top of European camps. -1300 pitches, 90-100 m2, equipped with electricity/water hook-ups and sewage -200 free camping spots with electrical hook-ups modern sanitary facilities (specially adapted for the handicapped) -250 air-conditioned mobile homes with microwave oven and SAT TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Zaton Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaton Holiday Hotel Nin
Zaton Holiday Village Nin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zaton Holiday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.