We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat and clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Odisej Mljet

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Odisej Mljet to your Saves list
Hotel Odisej Mljet
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pomena bb | Island of Mljet, Mljet National Park 20 266, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Neat and clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A basic 3 star hotel with staff who work hard to make your stay enjoyable.

The abilities are limited and the rooms are probably due for a refurb, but the staff keep the place clean and tidy and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The hotel advised on ferry bookings and provided transport to and from the ferry port. They also advised on cycle hire and other amenities. We had to leave very early on the day of departure (05:15am) but they had still taken the trouble to prepare a packed lunch type breakfast for our onwards journey.

Mljet is very small and very quiet - a 3 or 4 day stay is sufficient in order to visit the National Park, the lakes, the monastery, and see the rest of the island. Activities like cycling and kayaking are recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a balcony overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marijo J, General Manager at Hotel Odisej Mljet, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear JonnersP,

thank You for visiting Hotel Odisej on the beautiful Island of Mljet.
Our staff is our most valuable asset, and we are very happy that our team made your stay enjoyable.
Our rooms have been partly renovated over the last years, and we are constantly improving rooms and public areas of our hotel, in order to meet and exceed today's guests' requirements.

With my very best regards from Mljet,

Marijo Japarić
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    74
    51
    30
    18
See reviews for
37
122
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The long journey to the island is well worth the effort though the 3 hour journey from Dubrovnik, including an hours ferry crossing, is tiring. The island is pristine and entry to the National Park is included in the hotel price. The hotel is well equipt, though our lovely double bedroom with big balcony smelled a little damp, but it was early in the season. The staff are very helpful and multi lingual. Not many English guests, lots of jolly Slovenes and healthy Germans.
Food is well prepared and presented and exceeds the three star rating.
The resort of Pomena is on the Dalmatian coast sailing map and is a haven for yachts that moor for the night. Lots of docking activity to watch in the harbour
Go prepared with insect repellant and antihistamine cream in case you get bitten on a woodland walk. The nearest pharmacy is 20k away

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marijo J, General Manager at Hotel Odisej Mljet, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear 30Jen,

thank you very much for the nice review.
We are constantly working hard on offering the best service to our guests - and we are very happy that You liked our breakfast and dinner offer at the Restaurant.
We hope to welcome You again next year.

Best regards from Pomena,
Marijo Japaric
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eddieCambridge
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is no clone hotel. It was probably built during the Tito era for Party apparatchiks and still has a slightly East Berlin feel, with mirrored ceilings, beige fittings and seventies furnishings. You can imagine the rooms still have bugging devices. But it is comfortable, the WiFi works most of the time, the breakfasts are good and the staff are helpful. Plus it is set in paradise, with wonderful views across the harbour, a range of good restaurants and a couple of mini markets nearby. The salt lakes are a ten minute walk away and you can hire bikes, kayaks, scuba gear etc. I would come back.

,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marijo J, General Manager at Hotel Odisej Mljet, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Eddie,

thank you very much for the time taken to write a review.
We are very happy that You enjoyed your stay at Hotel Odisej, and hope to welcome you again on the beautiful Island of Mljet.

Best regards,
Marijo Japaric
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at a double room with balcony. The view from the balcony was relaxing and fantastic. The staff was friendly, giving us some advices, helping with the bicycles rent and keeping our luggage after the check-out.
Although room could receive a refitment, it was OK for our stay and it hadn't any bad smell.
It isn't a modern and new hotel. However, the island should be the main atraction from this place and not the hotel. So the room is an enough place to take a rest.

Room Tip: There are many bad reviews from this hotel. I hadn't any problem with the double room with balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

After a torturous journey we arrived very late at 1am at the hotel, we had not been expecting any food but the receptionist went out of her way to provide us with a meal which had been put aside for us .
We were allocated our rooms which turned out to be standard size ones , we did not notice this till next morning, on the way to breakfast we pointed out we had requested a sea view room and a upgrade size for the other, as soon as we had finished breakfast we were re-allocated the correct rooms with a sincere apology. The sea view was by far the best we had ever had on our many travels, room size adequate for two, fridge in room, bathroom looked liked it was recently refurbished.
The other upgraded room also has a partial sea view, but was alot bigger having the benefit of a sofa which suited our teenagers perfectly..
both rooms also had a balcony, if your room is at the front of the hotel you were able to pick up wifi from the balcony...
Food was half board and we found the variety and quality of food excellent, waitresses went out of their way to be helpful but not pushy.
maid service discrete and effective .
The staff were very helpful with organising tours for us and advise on local attractions, bearing in mind it is an island and has limited excursions ! The staff were even happy to open bottles of wine for us we had brought in the local store !! we did take it back to our room though.
We made the most of the National park, hiring bikes and canoes, taking picnics with us, the trip to the island and monestary is worth while.
The hotel was very quiet at night as regards entertainment, this may not suit some, no discos, bars closed at 11.00 ish. Some evenings there was a bit of noise from the recently moored cruisers and yachts but this always came to an abrupt end at midnight.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view, there was a lift in hotel but it was staggered, so if mobility is a problem m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were booked into this hotel by our tour as a feature hotel. When we arrived we were told they had overbooked the hotel and we would have to stay in the annex, a long torturous route out the back, up stairs with no lift, into a room with burn holes in the bedspread, cracks in the basin, mould in the ice tray and a broken safety handle in the bath! And no views of the iconic bay out front.

We complained and were finally moved to the front but it took some effort. The front rooms were pleasent with a balcony on ours. Restaurant was nice with good views.

The area of Miljet is great and we enjoyed the activities on the island.

Room Tip: Insist on a front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mljet National Park hotels

Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hotel is in a good location overlooking the sea and has a concrete sun bathing area overlooking the sea. There’s a roped off area for swimming with steps down to the water.
Beach towels are not provided so bring your own unless you want to spend 90 kuna (about £10) on a towel with a huge map of Croatia on it! Also bring sea shoes as there are apparently lots of sea urchins. One of the kiosks on the harbour was selling sea shoes for 40 kuna per pair.

The hotel's sun bathing area seemed to be available to anyone, not just to hotel guests, so at times it was impossible to find a sunbed, even in mid September.

Our room was very plain and dated. The tiny bathroom was smelly (drains?) . We didn't actually report it because they must have known about it and the cleaning staff would certainly have detected it!

We had a large balcony shared with the room next door.

The room had air conditioning and a fridge.

The hotel is in a very nice little village with a good choice of restaurants overlooking the harbour. We recommend the restaurant ‘Nine’. Mussels were lifted from the harbour to order and the fish were caught by the restaurant staff that morning. There are also a couple of small grocery stores less than 100metres away.

Close by are the two crystal clear sea water lakes and some easy but lovely walking routes. The climb to the highest point on the island needs a bit of stamina but isn’t technically difficult. It’s well worth it for the view.

It’s a shame that while we were at Pomena several small island cruise boats moored up and played very loud music which seemed quite wrong for this peaceful spot and also disturbed our sleep even though we had our room windows closed.

Despite the fact that the hotel could do with some serious re-furbishment, our stay on Mljet was one of our favourite stops on our holiday on account of the local restaurants and the lovely walking routes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Odisej Mljet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Odisej Mljet

Address: Pomena bb | Island of Mljet, Mljet National Park 20 266, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Mljet National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mljet National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Odisej Mljet 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Odisej is located in the Mljet National Park on the Island of Mljet and is the perfect destination of nature lovers and recreation enthusiasts. A short boat ride from Dubrovnik, Mljet has a few settlements and one hotel, Odisej. A full three-stars, Odisej offers breathtaking views from its terraces, a range of fitness and spa activities, and excellent dining options. Guests enjoy hiking, walking, swimming, sunbathing, kayaking and snorkeling on the mostly undeveloped coastline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Odisej Mljet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Odisej Hotel Mljet National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Odisej Mljet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.