We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Croatian pearl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Biokovo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Biokovo to your Saves list
Hotel Biokovo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala Kralja Tomislava b.b, Makarska 21300, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Makarska
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Croatian pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My favourite hotel/restaurant in entire southern Croatian coast; located in Makarska, directly across the water from Hvar and Brac, two of the most popular islands in Croatia. Service here is outstanding, hotel is very classy and neat, in the very center of the town. Also it is , so far, the only place in this area that offers free/open wifi, and serves filter coffee !!!!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbiokovo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Biokovo, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you again sometime in the future,
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    31
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We recommend this restaurant!!! Very nice food and very good service!!! We didnt stay at the hotel but we visited the restaurant twice and it was very good both times. The restaurant is on the main street but more calm then the restaurants near the "beach" and nice view on all the boats in the harbour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbiokovo, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Biokovo, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the food at our restaurant and hope to accommodate you in our facilities someday. kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha Qatar
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location but terrible terrible hotel. We have a baby and the reception didn't bother helping us with luggage, no elevator so we had to carry them three floors. Parking is so far away in an abandoned half finished building. Breakfast is very bad, we asked for a highchair and they brought us one with ketchup stains all over it ( waiter didn't bother to clean it). Staff are very rude and unfriendly. Won't reccomend it.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Great location exactly on the promenade, view on the Riva. Ask for room with sea view. Elegant restaurant with huge terrace. No elevator, though only 2 floors. Parking is only possible in a construction area 200 metres from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

No bellboy, pool or lift...close to everything but not noisy, good breakfast, aircon in rooms, lots of shops, good options for restaurants, nice jogging area

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pl
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here two night on our trip to Croatia. It was pleasent. The hotel was in a perfect loction right in the city. With a view looking over the sea. This hotel has no balcony.
Lots of bars and cafes down stairs so be warned it can be noisey.
Its just a short walk to the beach. Which was crazy busy.
The hotel its self was lovely. The room was very spacious. Shower was great, Everything in the room worked apart from the Wifi. I had to take my laptop to the reception to get a signal. But it seem this whole country had issues with Wifi.
The reception staff up on checking in where ok. A little blunt about having to wait in till 12pm to check in.
We parked our car in the hotel garage which is about 150m away from the hotel. And not easy to find. It looks like your going in to a paid car parking area but in fact you have to go through that car park to get to a disused building which is gated with a padlock to store your car.
Up on checking out we were dealt with the same reception staff it seemed they had no manners :/
Breakfast was great. Lots to choose from, Hot and cold food. Although im not to sure what they do to the eggs here they sure dont taste like eggs. :)
One more thing. The housekeeping staff were super nice, Her English was great. Id of liked of been serviced in reception by her rather than the rude man.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

There's no lack of accomondation in Makarska and it should be easy to find one that pleases your needs. Earlier I've been staying mainly in private apartments, but as I just needed a room for the night I decided to try Biokovo that I'd passed so many times before. The hotel is on the main street running along the harbour shore and where most of the restaurants are situated. The building itself is old but nicely renovated. The rooms are on three floors and there's no lift, but they offer helf in carrying up the luggage. My room was on the top floor and wasn't that big, but clean, modern and had all what was needed. It also had a "closed balcony" with one chair and from there you could look out of a small window. You could admire the harbour and the sea. From the hotel it's just a three minute walk and you're at the fantastic beach, in fact everything is nearby; harbour, beach, mountain, old town, restaurants.... Even the ferry going to Brac island is just across the street. The breakfast was more then I expected and there wasn't anything missing. They even had a big piece of meat at display from where they cut the famous Adriatic prsut. In the evening I also tried out the restaurant of the hotel, which is one of the best along the Riva. They had everything from pizza to local dishes and sea food. Parking is a problem in Makarska, but the hotel could provide a parking place in a garage 3 minutes from the hotel and the price was less then 10 € a day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Biokovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Biokovo

Address: Obala Kralja Tomislava b.b, Makarska 21300, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Makarska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Makarska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Biokovo 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Biokovo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biokovo Hotel Makarska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Biokovo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.