We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks arnt everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dalmacija

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dalmacija to your Saves list
Hotel Dalmacija
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Put Cvitacke bb | Kralja Petra Kresimira IV br. 41, Makarska 21300, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Makarska
Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Looks arnt everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last summer, 1st 2 weeks in Sept and were really pleased. From the outside its not the prettiest hotel but no other hotel has such fantastic 360degree views (that because there are no other high rised buildings around! oops!) But dont let it put you off because its spotlessly clean and your room is cleaned every day. The cleaners are lovely but other staff come across as quite arrogant but we found most Croatians to be rude and unhelpful but again dont be put off because its the most gorgeous country!
Makarask is a great resort, this hotel is just off centre but still on the main strip so perfect positioning. Breakfast was fantastic quality, it was a treat just to see how much people actually get on their plate, amazed me every day!
The resort is very clean with a long pebbley beach but its busy so having a pool is handy. There is very good facilities and activities for kids and teenages esp in the evenings. We dont have kids so enjoyed walking along the cliffs both to the left and right of the hotel, we hired a bike too but kept away from the road. We used the near by bus station to do day trips (staff very rude! but much cheaper than pre paid excursions) We went to Dubrovnik, Hvar and Brac on a fishing picnic, and even went to Bosnia which was beautiful (but last bus home was 11pm!) Take your passport when going to Dubrovnik as you pass a bourder control.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    68
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
38
74
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

I have been to Croatia a few times over the last couple of years and have loved my time there and decided between myself and my family that it would be lovely to all take a relaxing trip together. After deciding to travel to Makarska we chose the Hotel Dalmacija. Upon arrival we were shown to our well appointed rooms. The rooms included comfortable beds (with good quality pillows) a TV (with standard Croatian channels and the usual BBC News etc) a bathroom (with good lighting) the option of air conditioning, generous wardrobe space and of course the generous balcony - the views were incredible: Mountain, sea and pool side! The hotel itself contains: reception area (with money exchange facility) a quiet bar, main bar (some evening entertainment supplied) the main restaurant, serving breakfast and evening meals, an outdoor unheated pool (with pool bar) and of course the wonderful views. The hotel was kept immaculate with regular housekeeping. The food served in the main restaurant as follows: Breakfast - continental breakfast (including rolls, meats and jams) juices, coffee, tea and cereals. Evening meals - meats (chicken, pork, beef) fish, vegetables, salads and a variety of daily dishes too (mussels which were particularly lovely) the area surrounding the hotel is beautiful and just a short stroll from the hotel grounds you can find many local restaurants serving beautiful, typical croatian meals for fantastic prices. A little further past the restaurants you can find the main shopping area and harbour with many wonderful winding streets and sights waiting to be discovered. I plan to return to the hotel within the next few months. Book the Dalmacija and you will not be disapointed!

Take a trip into Split. The city was magnificent! We spent a day there and visited the harbour, the Diocletions Palace (stunning) and took some time to shop.

Room Tip: Request a side facing room near the pool. You will have views of the pool, mountains and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We booked the holiday before checking the reviews and were very scared we would be turning up to a hell hole. I don't know what these critics are expecting. It is emaculately clean, the staff are really helpful and it is ideally located.

The rooms are basic, but you get what you pay for and they were cleaned every day.

There are two pools - an adult one with water features, and a small children's one. I can imagine it gets very busy in the peak season (we went the first week of September) but there is the beach right there as a back up!)

There is entertainment offered every night, including activities for children. If that's not your thing you are literally a minute from the promenande, where there are dozens of bars and restaurants to suit all tastes. We ate some amazing food whilst there and the beer is tasty and quitye cheap!

The beach is a minute's walk down the steps. It is shingles, as is all of the beaches in Croatia. Just buy a pair of beach shoes (about £5 from the local shops) and you're fine. It's advised you wear these when swimming in the sea anyway as there are urchins.

Overall Makarska Riviera is bustling with different activities and there are so many amazing trips you should go on (boat trips, a trip to Dubrovnik and the Krska National Park to name but a few) and this hotel is ideally situated to be in the heart of the action.

We will definitely be going back and I've recommended it to my friends!

Room Tip: The views from the hotel are amazing if you get a sea or mountain view - definitely worth asking for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

after i had booked this hotel i read the reviews and was most upset as they were so bad. however they were all misleading, the hotel is lovely, staff helpful, rooms spotless and sheets changed every day, yes the room was smaller than the ones in a five star hotel , but this was a three star.. the position of the hotel was right on the beach front, with the own private entrance to the beach, swimming pool very big, mostly german guests, who still get up early to book the sunbeds Food was amazing choice especially breakfast.. does trip advisor actually check out what people are saying, i guess its other hotels trying to get the guests to stay with them.

Room Tip: first floor, as there are only 2 lifts and 10 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

After struggling to get reasonably priced flights for our trip to Croatia we booked this hotel as part of a package with Thomas Cook. The hotel is clean, tidy and well located but nothing to rave about and possibly a little bit dated in places. You were 2 minutes from the beach, 15 minutes from the bus station (where you could get local buses to Split, Dubrovnik, Trogir to name a few) and had plenty of bars and restaurants on hand. Our package was booked on a bed and breakfast basis. The room was a reasonable size with a balcony that overlooked the mountain/bay and down to the hotel pool. The breakfast was a buffet style with a good selection of hot and cold food including fresh fruit, meats and the usual hot fayre! The pool was a reasonable size although you had to get in early if you wanted a bed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantsala, Finland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The hotel was located right by the sea, the beach was full of people, because it was narrow. Swimming pool area was pleasant, but we went there only once in the evening for a swim, so day times congestion is not more detailed information.

The hotel has evening entertainment. Sunday and Tuesday there appeared singer with keyboardist. Especially Tuesday advertised like dance evening, and yes there was some kind of dance. In essence, Makarska was not any kind of dance halls but in this hotel. Some beach bars, such as the Buba and the Sunset played latin music, but there is no one dancing.

The hotel lobby was beautiful and comfortable. The rooms was shabby, but the view of the sea and the mountains was quite impressive. Sink does not correctly drawn, but the hot water was always. Air-conditioning was wonderful, and the fact that the hotel was welcomed with sparkling wine. Rooms cleaned every day, sheets changed twice a week.

We didn´t spent too much time at the hotel, it went very well for our needs. Although the rooms were carpeted floors, they didn´t felt musty, because they were not a "plush" version.

Sometimes we were angry, because we was stood at the servide point some time, the later domers was served before us. The service after that played well.

The bed was quite funny. Our room had a double bed, which was a luxury for us, but it made noice just awful. The first night went to learning :)

The hotel has park places in the yard, but it was spilling over with cars. I do not know how people got out of their cars, maybe they had a parking spot supervisor, who has either the car keys or pushed cars without hand brakes and gears off the road ....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We had a great time in Makarska, great place, great weather, great water, great people, great food and drinks.

But the hotel was not up to standard.
I have never had worse service.

No one filled up the minibar until the day we left. We could not have the hotel room a few extra hours on depature day(even though we wanted to pay). If you asked 2 different people at the reception, you would get two different answers. The lift was from the stone age, even if there was 2 lifts, it would take for ever, small, and if you waited somewhere else then in the reception, the lift could go past you a few times without stopping.

We never ate dinner at the hotel resturant, only buffet and open 1,5 hour or something like that. The other resturant is only 10-500 meters away, the food is better, cheaper and better location. The breakfast was ok, but not more then that.

The hotel should have had a make over, at least at the bathroom. They should throw away some of the chairs and tables outside by the pool. 200 chairs for people to sit at, when they have a beer or something(but there is no food service by the pool, all though you can by take away at one of the resturants at the board walk and eat it by the pool), but they only had a few sun beds. Every morning at 8, ALL the sun beds was occupied by towels(maybe some from the night before and some from the morning before people went to breakfast). You had to BUY or bring your own towel to the pool, no pool towels at the hotel. But the man who was at the bar, was a nice man, and he was the only one who should work with people at that hotel.

They had aircondition in the room, it was not to good, but okey. Nice view from the balcony, tv and a minibar(that they only stacked up again the day we left).

And the hotel is located just at the end of the board walk, so that´s very nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dalmacija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dalmacija

Address: Put Cvitacke bb | Kralja Petra Kresimira IV br. 41, Makarska 21300, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Makarska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Makarska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dalmacija 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Dalmacija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmacija Hotel Makarska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dalmacija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.