We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Golfo

Il Golfo
Kralja Petra Kresimira | 13, Makarska, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 53 Restaurants in Makarska
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
bled slovenija
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

I am coming to Makarska very often i had never ate at this place before
I ate beefsteak that was good and on a second visit i had a pizza that was much better than in most of croatian pizzerias

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    25
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“We will return.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We didn't discover this restaurant until our last night. Our meal was delicious. The best seafood lasagna on the Makarska coast. We look forward to eating here again next year.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Idilliac place but not cheap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The place is very beautiful. Some tables are almost in the sea. Very romantic.
The food is not the best one. In particular I don't recommend to eat octopus salad because the octopus is playing to hide and seek (there is only tomatoes and onions).
The tuna fish was not cooked sufficiently and fried sepia was not good.
We were not satisfied.

Posto romantico, molto bello ma caro e soprattutto non si trova la qualitá che ci si aspetta.
Nell'insalata di polpo, il polpo non c'era. Il tonno era poco cotto, gli anelletti di seppia fritti molto blandi... insomma non siamo rimasti soddisfatti.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, had a table on edge of harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We ate here twice on our holiday not the cheapest but worth it, most of the tables are on the waters edge, food was delish and the waiters jolly

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Delightful for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Quite by accident we decided to drop in for lunch. A lovely setting without traffic or people passing by and right on the beach. We enjoyed fresh salads, accompanied by wonderful homemade bread at a very reasonable price. We were so impressed that we visited again for lunch a couple more times. We also spent our last evening here for dinner. Beautiful seabass, attentive service, live music and and the sun setting over the sea. What more could you ask?!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Golfo also viewed

Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
 
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
Makarska, Split-Dalmatia County
 

Been to Il Golfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Golfo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.