We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful two week stay at Villa Makarana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Makarana Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Makarana Apartments to your Saves list
Villa Makarana Apartments
Slikara Gojaka 27, Makarska 21300, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Makarska B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful two week stay at Villa Makarana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

My wife, our three small children and I stayed at villa Makarana last October for two weeks. We were greeted by the very friendly hosts, the villa we stayed in had three bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen lounge and huge balcony. It was very well appointed (only the bathrooms could do with some modernising) and clean. We found it very convenient to local shops and restaurants, but not noisy so the kids (aged, 1,3 and 6) slept very well. Any questions we had were answered by our hosts who were really great. We would definitely stay at Villa Makarana again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Veghel, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in this appartment. Bedroom is very spacious. Bathroom is clean and fitted out with shower, toilet and bidet. In the kitchenette there is a fridge and small cooker. Wireless internet is free of charge and has good reception in the room. All you need for a couple of days.
Owners are very friendly and thoughtful. After I booked via a bookingsite I received an e-mail with their phonenumbers to call when I arrived in Makarska, as the city is full of one-way streets they didn't want me to get lost. So when I arrived I called and within 10 minutes they were there to show me the way to the appartment! Owner made me fresh lemonade upon arrival as it was very hot that day (+35°C).
It is a 5-10 minute walk to the harbour/beach, however as there is a steep incline on the road leading from the harbour to the appartment it is not recommended for disabled persons or people with pushchairs, for me however this wasn't a problem. A lot of the Sobe's and appartments in Makarska have the same problem. You can really only avoid this by staying in one of the big hotels on the beach.
All in all a good place to stay when visiting Makarska and/or the surrounding area (Biokovo mountain is very nice)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Makarana for three nights after touring Croatia, this was by far our favourite accommodation of the whole holiday. We were greeted by the friendly owner with a glass of home made lemonade which was welcomed after a long car journey in the heat and a bottle of home made cherry liquor, another nice touch. We were provided with a map and recommendations were made on where were best to eat. The owners father met us at a local petrol station and we followed him to the accommodation, which was very helpful ensuring we didn't get lost.

The apartment was lovely with modern decoration and it was clean and comfortable; there was a private balcony and space to dry your washing. The kitchen was well equipped so we were able to prepare a meal. The bed was comfortable and we slept well due to the crisp white bed linen and the air conditioning. There was free wi-fi which was useful. The only slight downside was the apartment is at the top of a very steep hill, however the car parking was free; the car parking in the resort was hard to come by and very expensive. The beach was a short walk away along with bars, restaurants, ATM's, shops, cafes and supermarkets; the mountains were the backdrop to the apartment. We would recommend this to anyone, we had a fantastic time! Markarska is a lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

It was great, clean, comfortable. We spend really fantastic holiday. Thank You .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Makarana Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Makarana Apartments

Address: Slikara Gojaka 27, Makarska 21300, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Makarska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Makarska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Makarana is a fam-ily run apart-ment house located in heart of Makarska at about 300m (5 min. Walk) from the city cen-ter. Villa con-sists of sev-eral well equipped and recently ren-o-vated apart-ments of dif-fer-ent sizes. Start-ing with 2 bed apart-ments for cou-ples, 3 bed apart-ments for cou-ples with a child (our guest's favorite), than 5 bed apart-ments and most recently opened 6 persons apart-ment for big-ger fam-i-lies or group of friend and finally the biggest 8-10 apart-ments that occu-pies whole floor. Our villa suits all our guest's needs. All apart-ments are air con-di-tioned, SAT/TV equipped and have free access to wire-less inter-net. There is also an inter-net room with no charges either. All our guests dis-pose of a park-ing place and there is a pos-si-bil-ity to use the bar-be-cue on the back-yard of the house. For the laun-dry we pro-vide access to laun-dry machines to all our guests as well as iron-ing equip-ment for free. All guests coming by bus can count that we pick them up at the bus station (no charges). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Makarana Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Makarana Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.