We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserving of Number One” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Mate

Konoba Mate
| Pupnat Village, Korcula Island, Croatia
+385-(0)20-717-109
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dubrovnik, Croatia
1 review
“Deserving of Number One”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We caught the local bus up to the little village of Pupnat after reading about this restaurant on Trip Advisor. It was definitely worth our while. We left it to our waiter to recommend his own favorites and he did not let us down. The fresh platter of produce direct from farm to plate was exceptional; home made/home grown ham, cheese, olives, pates and the best cherry tomatos we have ever tasted. We followed this with the almond pesto and the pasticada which we have been enjoying all over Croatia. And again we were in heaven. We finished with the chocolate cake and a home made marmalade. Even with the 150,000 k taxi to get back to the korcula town the meal was exceptional value. We have been eating out every night on our six week tour through France, Italy and Croatia and we rate this in our top three eating experiences. Oh and the wine. We had a house white. It was sensational too!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    20
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great lunch, perfect for our afternoon break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stopped here for a late lunch on a very hot day and we had a great lunch. We started with a cucumber soup with frozen tomato (amazing for the heat), then moved to pastas. They were both fantastic. The view onto the vinyards was also beautiful.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice ambient, average to exceptional cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Being a very popular place during the high season, we had to make a reservation a few days in advance, so if you wish just to drop by, you should do so after 22 in the evening (the place is open until 23).
Grilled lamb with vegetables was great, but pasticada (local Dalmatian dish - a large chunk of meat cooked with vegetables) was barely eatable - it seems the cook was more concerned with the presentation (round with a carrot in the middle), than with the texture and taste.
A nice touch was the local brandy served at the beginning and left on the table during the entire meal, but no apéritif has been offered to us, regardless of being announced by the waiter at the beginning. Nevertheless, with extremely tasty home-made cakes we did not miss them much.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Extremely special - fantastic restaurant and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Have to say top notch organic food restaurant in korcula the ham here is the best I have ever tasted in the world .. Highly recommended the monkfish pasta and chocolate truffles. ... Can't fault this restaurant in any way ... Only wish it was in the uk..Keep it just the way it is .....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“After 10 years still very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

About 10 years ago I worked for some time on Korcula and was introduced to this small family restaurant. At that time it was my favorite and the good news was that last week I was back for a few days and had dinner at Mate. It has gotten better. The food is still excellent and special and their choice of wines has improved. Most important is the feeling to really be a guest of the family. If you are a few days on the Island it is a must. I would also like to check out the new funky bar of their sun Mate in Punpnatska Luka. The best secret/hidden bay of the island. Next time!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Mate also viewed

Zrnovo, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
Korcula Town, Korcula Island
 

Been to Konoba Mate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Mate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.