We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with modern rooms located in heart of old town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Nora Hvar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Nora Hvar to your Saves list
Villa Nora Hvar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Petra Hektorovica, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Hvar
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel with modern rooms located in heart of old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at Villa Nora and were very pleased. At Euro 150 per night we felt that our very large (King size bed, sofa, maybe 10m x 10m room) with seperate large bathroom and storage area was excellent value vs the hotels in the Suncari chain on the Island.

Despite our rate being advertised as room only an good and large breakfast was provided free of charge. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We loved being on a busy street in heart of the old town (note pedestrians only - the steet is about 1m wide!) and noise wasn't a problem due to thick walls and excellent air con.

Can thoroughly recomment the wine bar down the street (great croatian wine by glass and very charasmatic owner!) and also ate well next door at Luna on the roof terrace. Whilst in town don't miss out on a trip to Hula Bar on the beach about 15 mins walk from the centre!

Will definitely return here when we come back to Hvar!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    39
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
70
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

My wife and I spent a recent night at the Villa Nora hotel in Hvar, Croatia. We stayed in Room #2, a very large room with a balcony overlooking the courtyard restaurant. The room was very nice (with great air conditioning) and the balcony was pleasant too. Cute assortment of tomatos and bedding plants in the pots on the balcony. The room really didn't have much of a view other than the restaurant below because the hotel is the narrow historic streets of the old town district. The crowd below was well behaved and things died down soon after 11:00pm or so. Food smelled wonderful, but we ate at another local restaurant, which I suspect was a mistake on our part. If you are a light sleeper and go to bed early, then you might ask for a room away from the hotel's restaurant. Thankfully, we got into the Adriatic lifestyle with ease. Bed was very firm, which seems to be the norm in Croatia and Italy. Cute receptionist from Norway with perfect English and a willingness to help. She had some great shopping advice, including a local jewelry store that makes its own designs. Breakfast was great; rather than a buffet, the staff cooked us an omlette to order, and brought fruit, cheese, meat, yogurt, coffee, bread, juice, etc. until we had to beg them the quit. Obviously we skipped lunch that day. Wow !!! Happy to report no bed bugs contrary to an earlier review. Frankly, the only down side was finding the hotel, which is only one street off the main plaza on Petra Hektorovica which runs parallel to the plaza for a single block. We parked in the public parking lot near the bus stop (10 kuna/hour) under a shade tree, but later learned that the hotel has an unpaved lot across the street on the uphill side from the public lot. Friendly hotel staff helped transport the bags to and from the car (at an Adriatic pace) . Google Maps is worthless for Hvar's old town district (and the hotel map is marginally better), so I uploaded a map that should help. My suggestion is to walk the short distance to the hotel from the parking lot (maybe 4 blocks), and then get help with bags if necessary. The restaurant courtyard faces Petra Hektorovica, but the hotel entrance actually faces both a side alley and the next street away from the plaza, so a little scouting helps.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

You dont get a pool, or fitness room or any other add ons, but you dont always need that. You do get great personal service, a fantastic location in the old town centre of Hvar, a tasty fresh breakfast and a clean room with good facilities. We came from a poor 5* in Split and were very pleased to have arrived at Villa Nora and restored our faith in Croatian hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Villa Nora for two nights on 31st May and 1st June. The hotel is well located and very pleasant, and offered excellent value when compared to other hotels in Hvar.

HOWEVER, whilst I was in the hotel I was bitten approximately 50 times by bed bugs which were living in the bed I was sleeping in. They clearly have a serious issue, but when I brought this to their attention and sent them an email about it, they responded by suggesting that I was trying to con them into giving me a free stay in the hotel!!!!! This is an unbeliveable response, not only because I have no interest in staying there again and getting bitten, but that I also living in England so am not exacty going to fly out to Croatia to go back there! Their denial and attitude to the problem makes me believe that they will not sort this problem out any time soon, and that this attitude is probably taken towards everything else in the hotel (such as food and hygiene!).

It's a shame, as Hvar is beautiful and the hotel could be so much more, but I feel the need to warn people away from Villa Nora.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

Rarely (for my taste) an excellent accomodation. A spacious room. Air conditioning working as cooling/heating as you wish. Big and comfortable bed. Shower cabine with massage. Rustical ambience (original stone walls characteristic for these area etc.) Quiet location inside a quarter (there was a building under renovation next to it, but they did not make any noise). Breakfast a la carte, but they brought everything I asked for (fruit salad, cheese, bread, omelette, freshly squeezed orange juice, black tea). Location is excellent (close to the main square of Hvar town). Staff was attentive and friendly. It had a computer with free internet. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

I traveled to Croatia with one of my girlfriends and had an absolutely wonderful time at Villa Nora. Our room was unbelievable... incredibly spacious for just the 2 of us, probably 3x the size of my apartment. The staff was charming and helped us get acclimated to the town. It was great that the hotel was centrally located and easy to get around this super fun town.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

In the middle of old town, great staff, excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Nora Hvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nora Hvar

Address: Petra Hektorovica, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nora Hvar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Nora Hvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nora Hvar Hotel Hvar
Hotel Nora Hvar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Nora Hvar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.