We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obala Fabrika 28, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Adriana)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
-10% HOT 10 in Adriana
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Hvar
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Get a sea view!!! Imagine falling asleep every night with the window open and the sound water....heaven...of course we were there in the low season so I assume it might be quite loud in high season. The room itself was nice, shower was spacious, and the products were good quality. The front desk staff were....nice....said hello.....overall, ok. The buffet breakfast was vast and delicious! I know it's the Isle of lavender but they go a little overboard with the color in the rooms. Check out this restaurant, Zlatna Skoljika....you will not be dissapointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    126
    63
    31
    19
See reviews for
41
214
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London (England)
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had originally been booked into the Hotel Riva Yacht but that was closed after all and I was re-booked into a sister hotel.

The hotel is about 500m from where the Catamaran from Split docks. It is on the harbourfront opposite the central square, so it has the best views of Hvar town. My room was at the front of the hotel and so had that view. There are rooms at the side (which seemed a little larger than mine) which do not have quite that view. I thought the view was quite special. The central square and harbour front are almost closed to motor traffic.

Efficient reception, always ready with a cheery greeting when one passed. Free use of an internet computer in the business centre.

The room was fairly small, not much floor space left after allowing for the big double bed, a desk and a chair. But pleasant, modern, good lighting. Blackout curtains. Effective shower (though see below for temperature), good toiletries. Clean.

Breakfast was a wide buffet selection of high quality materials - at least on the days when the hotel was busy. On very quiet days little was laid out and the staff offered to bring you what you wanted - so the same choice just not laid out. The ground floor dining room was light and airy, with a view of Hvar town. One could sit outside, if sunny.

My attempts to eat in the restaurant were foiled: either it was busy with a tour group, or closed. Lunch and supper were available in the top (4th) floor cafe/bar. I had a light lunch there, pleasant, good views.

Downsides? The water in the room did not run warm until about 08.00. I mentioned this at the desk and was told that it was due to the swimming pool. So I do not know whether cold/tepid showers for an early start is a permanent feature.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Adriana in late October. Incredible location right on the harbour. We had a seaview room - an exceptional view! Slept with the wondows open every night - wonderful to fall asleep to the sound of waves lapping the boats.The room is compact with good storage, the bed is really comfortable and the shower is amazing. Breakfast buffet is included and is a grand exeperience. The hotel location is perfect - short walking distance to excellent restaurants (check out Zlatna Skoljika), bars, beaches and for arriving/departing by catamaran. Hotel indoor pool is ok - you also have access to the large outdoor pool at sister hotel Amorfa. Didn't use the spa so can't comment. The rooftop bar has a nice view but there are better options for drinks in town. Overall we really enjoyed our stay in Hvar at the Hotel Adriana.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Recently returned from two week holiday in Hotel Adriana, Hvar, very pleasant hotel well situated in the town of Hvar. Very nice, and helpful staff, the food was OK and prices reasonable. The bedrooms were very basic with one chair and two covered boxes to sit on. The open plan bathroom and glass fronted shower were disgusting with no bath and very little room.

Room Tip: Sorry unable to do that
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Perfect location! Just a short walk from the ferry around the harbor. Our room was just right, clean, modern, cozy & comfortable. We enjoyed the morning breakfast buffet as we sat on the terrace overlooking the harbor. Great way to start the day! The reception was very helpful and friendly in advising us of things to do & see.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Rey, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very nice hotel for a stay in Hvar! Excellent servce, a GREAT pool, and a terrific lounge in the form of the Top Bar. The Top Bar has good food and drinks (try the Mojito) and a panoramic view. We just wish we could have stayed longer. The location cannot be beaten. The hotel is right on the waterfront, where everything is happening. We went kayaking from here, but rental boats and jet skis are also available. It is also easy to get a day trip to a local beach for some relaxation and privacy. We saw two ladies from our kayaks enjoying a small private beach au natuaral.
The hotel pool is salt water, and a little cool. It has the interesting feature of two sets of cold water jets you can use for a hydro massage.
All in all, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I spent two nights in Hvar with a friend earlier this month. Hvar itself is a very beautiful island and we had a lovely time on the whole. However, our experience in this hotel slightly soured our stay. When I booked this hotel I phoned up to make sure that we would have a twin room. On arrival I again checked that we would have a twin room and I was assured that we would. When we got upstairs we discovered that the room was a double, that there was a door to an adjoining room which was unlocked and the bathroom was completely exposed. There was no door to the bathroom at all, just a large opening. I tried to phone down to reception to complain. I phoned twice and got no answer so I walked downstairs to speak to them. It took me a long time to convince them that the room was a double and that the door to the adjoining room was unlocked. Eventually they agreed to come and lock the door and to separate the beds. However, as this is a four star hotel I would have expected them to have got this right in the first place and once they had made these mistakes to have fixed them immediately without argument. Unfortunately they said there was nothing that they could do about the bathroom as all their rooms are like this. I found this slightly strange and suggested that they might want to make it clear on their website that this is a hotel only for couples. They assured me that they had had friends staying at their hotel many times and no one had complained.. I was unconvinced. Anyway, the owners of this hotel own six other hotels in Hvar so I asked whether we could move to one of them. Apparently all their hotel rooms have these open bathrooms apart from some rooms at the Amfora. I can confirm that this is true as we went to check some of the rooms at the Riva and the Amfora. The rooms at the Riva do not provide much privacy either but the staff there are far more pleasant. The Amfora wasn't to our taste as it is more of a family resort type hotel. In the end we stayed at the Adriana. To be fair the bar at the Adriana is absolutely beautiful and the staff there were pleasant. However, the hotel pool is indoors and very strange. It feels like you are in a gloomy basement even though you are on the top floor and there were no towels. No one else was using it. The final disappointment was breakfast. It is a buffet style breakfast and the food is left there from 7am until 11am. The quality of the food was very poor and the juice was in fact squash. Again this is not something I would expect from a four star hotel. On the second morning we were there we skipped breakfast altogether as it had been so disappointing the day before.

This is not a cheap hotel and yet you are not made to feel welcome, the rooms are only appropriate for couples and the breakfast is disgusting. Save your money and stay elsewhere and maybe come here for a drink in the bar.

All the meals we had in Hvar outside this hotel were absolutely lovely, especially lunch at Luna. We also spent a very lovely afternoon and evening at Hula Hula bar.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel

Address: Obala Fabrika 28, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Adriana)
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the promenade and facing the old city center, Adriana Hvarʼs most stylish boutique hotel boasts the most spectacular panoramic views of the town and the marina. Adriana's amenities are as diverse as its view - making it a perfect place for you to relax, renew, and rejoice. Adriana offers 50 deluxe guest rooms, 9 suites and spa specific suites, a year-round rooftop seawater swimming pool, Butchery&Wine restaurant, spectacular Top bar, lounge and multi-level garden terraces with stunning views over the sea and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriana Marina Hotel
Adriana Marina Hvar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.