We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dalmatian Jewel - Diamond in the Rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Podstine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Podstine to your Saves list
Hotel Podstine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Put Podstina, 11, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Hvar
Bridport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dalmatian Jewel - Diamond in the Rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Podstine is a 4 star hotel accessed through a tunnel as it is built along the cliffs of Hvar. It resides in a beautiful location about 1km outside Hvar town centre. There are spectacular views of the beautiful Pakleni islands and coast line. The terrace is the perfect spot were you can watch the sun set, whilst either dinning on the outside balcony or supping a beer on the terrace.

You need to be reasonably fit (Not really for the elderly) as there are alot of steps in and around the hotel itself, and there are numerous routes into Hvar town itself. One route follows a coastal path past the Amfora Hotel and takes about 25mins, the other is a little more hilly and not as picturesque which takes about 15 mins. Of course there's always the hotel minibus. Just ask at reception were you will find the staff are helpful and friendly and have all the information you might need on where to go and what to see on Hvar.

Rooms are simplistic yet comfortable and well equipped, especially if you upgrade to a superior with sea views. As mentioned earlier, there are several attractive terraces with bars both inside the main hotel and outside. Bars mixed with dining areas in a secluded canopy of pines and palms. On the bottom most terrace is a scuba school and the sea , complete with sun chairs,diving platform and rocks in which to explore the local marine life in beautiful crystal clear waters of the Adriatic. The hotel also has a small swimming pool and a spa facility offering massages, sauna and a range of beauty treatments.

The food is good if a little lack lustre as is the breakfast, which is self service. The main restaurants could do with a more varied menu particularly Croatian/Dalmatian Dishes and it is a little pricey but overall very good with helpful friendly staff. If you fancy a walk in the evening you can always try the numerous restaurants in Hvar town.


A word of wisdom - Alert the hotel as to what fast Cat you are on and they will arrange to pick you up from the quayside. You might have to walk a little way,as the centre of Hvar town is primarily a pedestrianised area. They also drop you off when it's time to leave. We went in August as a couple....and weather was fantastic. This is really a Hotel for grownups. Not really for kids......Sorry!.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    101
    52
    9
    3
See reviews for
24
169
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lennik
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunatily, our experiences with hotel Podstine was a mix of many shortcomes and some positive items:

Positives:

- nice reception area with comfortable lounge
- free upgrade to a superior room with executive sea view
- location is just great!
- e-mail contacts in advance
- fruit plate in room

Negatives:

- outdated areas (whirpool area, the hall to reach your room)
- the water kettle that we requested in December 2012 by e-mail and which was confirmed was not in our room when we checked in, was placed the next day around late morning/noon in our room and that same afternoon the reception called us to inform us that this was a mistake and the water kettle had to be handed over to another cliënt. We had the guarantee that the water kettle would be ready the next morning but we only receive it back in the afternoon of the 3rd day stay. Only one water kettle available in a 4 star hotel for all clients? Come on!
- we reserved in advance a pick up from the Hvar ferry port by the hotel. As soon as we arrived, we looked for the driver but we did not see him. We later on understood from a taxi driver that the driver with car was there but that he stayed at his car and that we might have missed him because other cars were parked in front. I cannot understand how passive you can be in this case. You know that if you are expexting clients that it might be that they are visiting the island for the first time and that they would appreciated that their driver is waiting for them at the ferry. We travel 2-3 times a year and this is the first time that this happens...which franckly said already enough about the hotel standards as first impressions are always important in this business
- the restaurant is too pricey for the quality it delivers, there are better options in town available with much friendlier and better service as well as better food
- some staff are a bit cold and it is very difficult to see a smile on their face: the hotel manager and the blonde lady at the reception in particular
- don't try the hydro massage in the shower as twice hot water only worked for 5 minutes maximum and not 10-15 minutes as the hotel states
- lights were not working properly at the whirpool area
- the orange towels to be used for the Spa/Wellness were taken but never replaced
- bed matrasses too hard for us

Honestly, we do think that this hotel has a lot of potential and with some refurbishments and more pro-active staff and management that think "out of the box" this hotel would be a real winner.
A real shame that all went this bad for us but what a luck that we did not stay more then about 3 full days at this hotel.
Not to be recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podstine, Manager at Hotel Podstine, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Tommy D

Thank you for staying at Podstine and taking time in detailed review both at reception and on tripadvisor. I must excuse Podstine for mistake with kettle. From next year we will feature kettles in each room, but it is something that we do not had. Honestly rarely we have request for this, but I understand that it can be handy. We had to "borrow" kettle from your room because we had a young couple with infant, and parents needed to heat food during night. As you needed kettle only in the morning, we offered to you to deliver hot water in your room from restaurant without room service charge. So in part we had solved this problem.
Our car was in front of catamaran, and sorry you missed it, but again we feel that if we inform you about the car and to look for it, it is not completely our mistake.
Hotel Restaurant is generally praised, so no further comments I can make. De gustibus non est disputandum...
Towels are in offer at reception, so you just need to ask for them. I am sorry that you perceived all this negatively, as most of guest feel differently. But we will do our best to improve. Most of your issues will be solved this winter with major makeover of room and common are redesign. So stay tuned for news :)
Lastly Iva (the blond lady) and I (hotel manager) will make sure to be happier next time you visit us :))

All the best from Hvar

Hotel Podstine
Sime Fio, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights in June and enjoyed it immensely. The setup of the hotel is absolutely superb, the highlight being the bar and terrace area that gives you your own private access to the sea, be sure to try and snare one of their giant bean bags for proper sunbathing. The water is crystal clear and is great for snorkelling, just watch out for the sea urchins on the rocks!

A word of warning, when you arrive off the catamaran don't make the same mistake as us by jumping in the first cab you see - predictably you will get ripped off. Instead, email the hotel in advance and I'm sure they would come and pick you up in the hotel shuttle for free, and they will drop you back at the port when it's time to leave.

If staying at the Podstine, be ready for plenty of walking. There's 2 routes into Hvar Town, a flat coastal route that takes 20 mins and a shorter steeper route that takes 15. However the coastal walk is really pleasant.

I felt that the hotel offered reasonable value compared to some of the other options, particularly the decking/sea area which really is absolutely stunning. The only minor gripes I had were (1) you need to be careful when having a shower, the water can get ridiculously hot, and (2) the Wi-Fi access in the room didn't work and was patchy at best on the balcony.

We had a lovely time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Podstine is a well equipped modern hotel built into a steep slope under a cliff face, in an idyllic location about 1km outside Hvar town (the name means "under the rock"). There are spectacular views out over the Hvar channel to the beautiful Pakleni islands, over which you can watch the sun going down as you sit on the hotel terrace sipping your G&T. It takes 20-25 mins to walk into Hvar town along a delightful seafront walkway, a pleasure in itself and well worth the effort, but there are quite a few steps to get down to it. If you don't fancy the steps there is a more direct route along a road, but you will miss out on the scenery. Of course there's always the hotel minibus. The reception staff are helpful and friendly and have all the information you need on where to go and what to do in Hvar, and will if you ask make ferry bookings and transfer arrangements (email before you arrive and you will be picked up from the harbour).

The rooms are comfortable and well equipped (it's definitely worth the extra for the ones at the front with balconies and sea views) and there are several attractive terraces with bars and dining areas leading down through shady trees to a waterside quay, where you can relax on a sun lounger and swim in the clear turquoise water of the Adriatic. The hotel also has a small swimming pool and a spa offering a range of beauty treatments, and if you fancy scuba diving there's a diving school right next to the hotel.

Sadly, the food is a little disappointing and the reason why this hotel didn't merit an excellent rating. Breakfast is an uninspiring self service buffet with lukewarm tea and coffee, just about adequate but you expect better in a hotel of this standard. The restaurant offers a fairly pricey but predictably standard a la carte menu with little of interest in terms of local Dalmation cuisine. There is much better choice, ambience and value to be found in the many excellent restaurants in Hvar town.

Overall, this hotel is an excellent base for a holiday in Hvar and we would have no hesitation in staying again. The location and facilities are top class and easily outweigh any negatives, as long as you're prepared to eat out. And who wouldn't want to spend the evening in buzzing Hvar town anyway?!

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for a room with a balcony and a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Podstine and overall it was a pleasant stay. In hindsight we would have chosen a hotel closer to town as it is a good 20 minutes walk up and down a pleasant sea route to the town. However the views over the offshore islands and quietness of the hotel are in its favour and the terraces down to the sea bathing area incorporating the evening dining area and bar are great features. The gym was a bonus although not all of the equipment was working and early in the morning before the spa was opened I needed to get reception staff to open it up. Staff were pleasant throughout our stay.
Like most Croatia hotels by the sea there is no beach but instead a concrete platform with sun loungers where you can enter the sea by ladder.
Overall we felt the room we were allocated at the side with no real view except bushes was a disappointment in terms of dull décor and appeal compared with the lounges and dining area. The room was of a good size, clean and had adequate storage. While there was a safe this was placed at such a high level in the cupboard that we had to stand on a chair to reach it! Wi-Fi was available but the signal was really only obtained in the lounges.
Breakfasts were standard fare although the hot dishes were not very appealing or fresh.
We had two excellent dinners with well presented and tasty dishes served in a very professional and efficient manner and in a lovely outdoor setting. A piano player came to the hotel on some evenings and we had a rather strange wine tasting one evening which was more a staff member with no knowledge of wine giving us a few free glasses!
In summary a hotel in a quiet but slightly out of the way location with some good facilities but a dull bedroom.

Room Tip: Well worth while paying extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yankee in Cambridgeshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Hotel Podstine is a lovely smaller hotel on Hvar. There aren't too many people staying here and the beach is a nice private cove without anyone else poking their heads in. The other beaches closer to town all have public beach areas because of the great walking path, but Podstine is just far enough away that it is inaccessible or at least difficult to get into for anyone else, which translates to being very quiet and peaceful.

The water is super clear and there are a bunch of rocks to swim around and if you get your goggle out you'll have a great view of lovely little fish in the area.

Food is delicious and fresh with some interesting varieties.

We stayed in a standard room with a view of a tree, but we were more interested in being on the deck chairs anyways. September is a good time for quieter crowds and warm but not scorching weather

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

When we arrived we had been upgraded to a Superior King room which was on the 2nd floor (3rd from bottom) which gave us views over the trees and out to the sea. It was stunning. The room was clean and pleasant and the beds were comfortable.

The staff we very friendly on arrival and gave us a quick rundown on the what to do. They run a shuttle to the town and its worth remembering as they will pick you up when you arrive on the ferry too which can save a taxi fare. The walk into town is about 15 minutes if you use the small roads or about 20-25 if you follow the coast. So a nice distance but you are away from the noisy town.

They have their own sunbathing area and the swimming area allows you to dive in and get out easily. Denis in the beach bar was very friendly and all round the service was very good.

My only slight reservation was that the breakfast was the same each day. It is continental so this was mainly bread, hams and cheeses with a few other bits. Not bad just would have been nice to find some variation after 6 days. I guess this is also a personal observation.

We didn't use the pool which is set a little away from the sea but the gym had most things you would want.

Overall I would highly recommend the hotel for a visit to Hvar but try and get as good as possible as the lower two floors do not have a sea view and it was stunning to see the sunsets and wake up to the sea each morning.

Room Tip: Get up as high as you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Podstine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Podstine

Address: Put Podstina, 11, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Podstine 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While small enough to make its guests feel at home, Hotel Podstine is also big enough to offer luxurious and personalized service to all its guests. Hotel Podstine location is remote enough to provide its guest with perfect blend of peace and quiet, while within walking distance from frenetic center of Hvar town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Podstine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podstine Hotel Hvar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Podstine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.