We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgetable holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Podstine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Podstine to your Saves list
Hotel Podstine
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Put Podstina, 11, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Hvar
Europa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unforgetable holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We had arranged through the hotel for transportation with taxi from Split airport to the harbour. The taxidriver didn`t show up... We called the Hotel and they arranged to pick us up in Stari Grad for free transportation to the Hotel. The hotel has a lovely location, and make sure that you reserve a superiour room from 2.nd floor and up to get sea view, which is fantastic. The breakfast is good with a good variety of different kind of bread, fruits, egg, and real good coffee! The staff is extremely calm and serviceminded, and always with a smile. We had dinner in the restaurant almost every night, and the food is good, but we miss some more spice in it, such as garlic etc... The winelist was OK. but it`s difficult to find wine since most of them are Croatian. There should be an option to buy glasses of wine.
The location of the hotel is in a quiet bay, but every night at 2.am untill 5 am. there was disturbing music from The Hula hula bar not far away. Every morning before 7 o`clock we woke up by the staff sweepeng the outside floors....
The hotel is provided with a Spa, and we both had pedicure which was not as expected. It was estimated to last 50 minutes, but ended after 30 min.
The fitness room was OK, but it was too hot, and the aircondition wasn`t efficient.
The cleaning was excellent all over!!
The room was fine, but matress was too thin.
The hotel provide beachtowels and charged for every change. This could have been for free. The internet access was only available at the tip of the balcony, not in the room....
Going home on the ferry to Split we received a phonecall from the reseption telling us that our laptop was left behind in the room. They arranged sending it on the next ferry, and transported by taxi to our hotel in Trogir. This was excellent and very helpful !!

We had a lovely stay at Podstine, and really recommend this hotel to other couples!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Podstine, Manager at Hotel Podstine, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear TravellersEuropa

First of all thank you again for staying at Podstine, and for reviewing your stay both on questionnaire in Hotel Podstine as well as on Tripadvisor. Even tough you gave us great votes on Tripadvisor, I see that you have a great number of issues, so I will try to give response to them.
Spicy food is something that our chef, and most chefs that I encounter like to leave to the guests to adjust. It is rule of thumb that food needs to come out of the kitchen in the way so all of the guests could enjoy it. This rule is not valid for specialties that are spicy for themselves, and those food waiters take care of informing guests that food is spicy. Again, we appreciate that you did enjoy food in our restaurant.
Wine list, this is another issue that we varied throughout years. We did have one year a great number of foreign as well as local wines. It is then that we discovered that great majority of our guests are not interested in having non local wines, which they can have at home for better price. That is the reason why we feature 99% of domestic wines. Dalmatia is famous for its great red wines, and white wines alike. Hvar Island alone has couple wineries that won international prices. Wines like Mali Plavac Barrique of Tomic winery, or Zlatan Plavac Gran Cru of Plenkovic winery are just some of amazing wines you can taste. Among white wines from Dalmatia we have Vugava from Vis, Posip from Peljesac and Korcula, as well as Istrian wines such as Malvazija and some northern Croatia excellent whites like Grasevina. If you want check following sites to know more:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Po%C5%A1ip
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Plavac_Mali
http://limun.hr/en/main.aspx?id=191214
We do serve bottled wine in glasses, so I am not sure where you got this information that we do not.
Hula – Hula bar ends working at 22:00, so the music you hear it is not from Hula Hula, but Stipanska. Stipanska is located some 3 km from us, and music is on the opposite side of island. When we have south wind then noise can be heard. They do have party’s couple times per week, and we complained to police regarding noise. This happens unfortunately only in July and August, as they do not have parties outside these months. So unfortunately situation is beyond our control. However, all our rooms feature soundproof balcony doors, therefore if you close balcony door, no sound can be heard.
As you noticed, hotel is very clean, in order to have clean hotel, we do need to sweep it, and as the only time of the day that we can do cleaning without disturbing guests is morning, that is the time when we perform sweeping. We apologize for this, but again, if you informed us that this is disturbance to you in the morning, we would not perform it at 7am, but at some later hour. Again, with closed doors this noise would be nonexistent.
Pedicure lasts maximum 50 minutes. This max time is necessary for ladies only as spa therapist need to apply nail varnish, while for men this is not necessary - therefore whole process last less. This you would be informed if you asked during process.
Fitness room has air conditioning that can be regulated both in temperature as well as in quantity of air entered. After you left, another guest asked if this temperature can be lowered and increased speed, and we did so. Again, important is to ask on the spot, so we can act.
Mattresses have boosters, so we could also apply addition to mattress in order for you to have softer bed. Unfortunately, again you mention this after left, so we can only add this next time you arrive.
We do live on island, and up to recent time, we did have shortages of water. Washing beach towels takes great deal of energy and water. This is the main reason for us that we provide our guests with one free set of beach towels, and we inform our guests that if you use beach shower, you just need to dry towels on the balcony. We regret that from you these efforts in saving water were not recognized.
Again, it was great pleasure having you at Podstine, and we look forward to our next meeting – hopefully that time you can address possible issues before departure.
Warmest regards from Podstine Hotel

Mr. Sime Fio, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    101
    52
    9
    3
See reviews for
24
169
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

A friend recommended Podstine as the best hotel he stayed at in Croatia. Now I have to say the same thing! The room itself was not particularly special, but the restaurant, beach area, and service were all incredible. I would highly recommend it for a relaxing vacation destination.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

If you are looking for an oasis of peace, crystal clear water, beautiful view (we had a room with view over looking the sea), and at the same time only 15 minutes walking from the town of Hvar, - then you should choose Podstine. For safe return to hotel in the evening, me and my sister used the hotel pick up service, very cheap and reliable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a great place to completely relax. The location is perfectly located in its own littlle cove at the end of a 2 km (25 min) stroll from the centre of Hvar town. Sand there ain't but it doesn't matter; swimming from and between the rocks in that clear water is magnificent.
The rooms are comfortable, the staff couldn't be more pleasant and helpful and the food is very good. The hotel has made the most of its rocky location with separate terraces for dining, the bars and sunbathing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Really helpful staff. Good location. We rented a boat one day and a car another both organised by the hotel. 15 min walk to Hvar but on the whole along the coast and a lovely walk. My husband and son took the padi open water diving course with the Viking Dive Center attached to the hotel, they thought it was really excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Hotel podstine on hvar is a hidden gem. It is beautifully maintained and spotlessly clean. The breakfast is generous and it is so lovely to sit on the terrace in the morning sun enjoying a leisurely meal before starting your day. The rooms are luxurious and the only slight negative would be that the showers arent very powerful. The second terrace area in amongst the trees is made up of a variety of tasteful outdoor sofas etc and you can sit and enjoy an evening drink here before heading out into Hvar for dinner/ drinks etc. The hotel restaurant in the evening is also just beautiful and picturesque.
The best bit about this hotel is the sunbathing area by the sea (although there is tiny pool if you prefer). It is on the sort of dock side and the sunbeds are huge and the most amazingly comfy beds i have ever ever found!! With the view of the glittering sea infront of you and the yachts sailing in and out of the hvar harbour you just feel like you have found the most perfect place on earth. There is also a little pontoon where you can walk out and dangle your feet in the bobbing sea which is so pretty. There are steps into the sea so you can cool off and refresh and if you like you can even swim out to amongst the rocks to snorkle or across to a little beach cove which is maybe a 15 minute swim. The only thing i would say is this hotel is not really for families and when we were there the couples with children were having a hard time trying to keep them amused when they cant just jump in and out of the pool or build sandcastles etc. Plus bored children arent ideal for the rest of us who are enjoying the sun and relaxation and tranquility.
The walk into hvar is short and it is such a fab resort. I would wholeheartedly recommend this trip to anyone (excpet those with children) who likes the finer things in life and peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We visited Hotel Podstine for my boyfriends 30th birthday at the end of June this year. I wanted to ensure it was a special trip so prior to booking I was emailing the hotel staff asking lots of questions and they were extremely helpful and patient. We were originally put in the building opposite the hotel but they had a cancellation and managed to put us in a room in the main building with a seasview and WOW what a fantastic room! Stunning location with a small roof terrace looking out at the cluster of islands opposite, we were over the moon to have such a beautiful room.

The hotel itself has so much character, unlike the large soul-less hotels such as the Amfora in Hvar town. We were so happy to be staying the 15 minutes outside of the town as it is so peaceful and the walk into town along the headland is lovely. The hotel is set in different levels with private snug areas and a stunning private cove to swim and relax. Paradise. The hotel staff helped organise a boat hire for the day which we took over to the islands opposite. Well worth it for the equivalent of £35. I would also recommend paying the little bit extra and going half board, as they serve 5-6 courses each evening.

We will be back soon to this hidden little gem of a hotel and hope it remains as unique and special as it was during our stay. Thank you Hotel Podstine for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Go for a room with a seas view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Podstine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Podstine

Address: Put Podstina, 11, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Podstine 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While small enough to make its guests feel at home, Hotel Podstine is also big enough to offer luxurious and personalized service to all its guests. Hotel Podstine location is remote enough to provide its guest with perfect blend of peace and quiet, while within walking distance from frenetic center of Hvar town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Podstine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podstine Hotel Hvar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Podstine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.